Future-Oriented Statement of Operations

Unaudited

For the year ending March 31
(in dollars)

Estimated
Results

2013-14

Planned
Results

2014-15

Expenses

  • Compliance with access to information obligations
  • Internal Services
  • 10,998,652
  • 3,915,762
  • 10,107,550
  • 3,019,138
Net cost of operations 14,914,414 13,126,688

The accompanying notes form an integral part of these financial statements.

Notes to the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations

1.  Methodology and Significant Assumptions

The future-oriented statement of operations is consistent with the information contained in the 2014-2015 Report on Plans and Priorities.

The information in the estimated results for fiscal 2013-14 is based on actual results as at December 31, 2013 and on forecasts for the remainder of the fiscal year. Forecasts have been made for planned results for 2014-15.

The main assumptions are as follows:

  1. In 2013-14, the OIC will be moving its operations from Ottawa to Gatineau. The cost of the move is currently estimated at $2.6M for 2013-14. This one-time funding received in the form of loan arrangement will be for the office setup and equipment. This amount is reflected under the Internal Services program and will be reimbursed over a period of 15 years.
  2. With the exception of the move, the OIC's activities will remain substantially the same as for the previous year.
  3. Budget 2012 Implementation – as a result of the initiative and saving measures announced in Budget 2012, OIC will see budget reductions of $100,000 in 2012-2013, $300,000 in 2013-2014, and with a final ongoing reduction of $500,000 beginning in 2014-15.
  4. Expenses, including the determination of amounts internal and external to the government, are based on historical costs, trend analysis and other analytical methodologies.
  5. Estimated year end information for 2013-14 is used as the opening position for the 2014-15 planned results.

These assumptions are adopted as at December 31, 2013.

2. Variations and Changes to the Forecast Financial Information

While every attempt has been made to accurately forecast final results for the remainder of 2013-14 and for 2014-15, actual results achieved for both years are likely to vary from the forecast information presented, and this variation could be material.

In preparing this future-oriented statement of operations the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada has made estimates and assumptions concerning the future. These estimates and assumptions may differ from the subsequent actual results. Estimates and assumptions are continually evaluated and are based on historical experience and other factors, including expectations of future events that are believed to be reasonable under the circumstances.

Factors that could lead to material differences between the future-oriented statement of operations and the historical statement of operations include:

  1. The timing and amounts of acquisitions and disposals of property, plant and equipment may affect gains/losses and amortization expense.
  2. The operating budget may be modified through additional initiatives or technical adjustments later in the year.
  3. The forecasted costs of the relocation of the Office planned for 2013-14, including the related planned net acquisitions of tangible capital assets, may vary from the estimated amounts.

Once the 2014-2015 Report on Plans and Priorities is presented, the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada will not be updating the forecasts for any changes to appropriations or forecast financial information made in ensuing supplementary estimates. Variances will be explained in the Departmental Performance Report.

3. Summary of Significant Accounting Policies

The future-oriented statement of operations has been prepared in accordance with the Treasury Board accounting policies in effect for the 2013-14 fiscal year. These accounting policies are based on Canadian public sector accounting standards. The presentation and results using the stated accounting policies do not result in any significant differences from Canadian generally accepted accounting principles.

Significant accounting policies are as follows:

(a) Expenses

Expenses are recorded on an accrual basis. Expenses for the OIC operations are recorded when goods are received or services are rendered including services provided without charges for accommodation, employee contributions to health and dental insurance plans, legal services and worker’s compensation which are recorded as expenses at their estimated cost.  Vacation pay and compensatory leave as well as severance benefits are accrued and expenses are recorded as the benefits are earned by employees under their respective terms of employment.

Expenses also include provisions to reflect changes in the value of assets, including contingent liabilities to the extent the future eve/1nt is likely to occur and a reasonable estimate can be made.

Expenses also include amortization of tangible capital assets which are capitalized at their acquisition cost.  Amortization of tangible capital assets is done on a straight-line basis over the estimated useful life of the asset. 

4. Parliamentary Authorities

The Office is financed by the Government of Canada through parliamentary authorities. Financial reporting of authorities provided to the OIC do not parallel financial reporting according to generally accepted accounting principles since authorities are primarily based on cash flow requirements. Items recognized in the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations in one year may be funded through parliamentary authorities in prior, current, or future years. Accordingly, the Office has different net cost of operations for the year on a government funding basis than on an accrual accounting basis. The differences are reconciled in the following tables:

(a) Reconciliation of net cost of operations to requested authorities

The accompanying notes form an integral part of these future-oriented financial statements.

Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada
Unaudited


(in dollars)
Estimated
2013-14
Planned
2014-15
Net cost of operation 14,914,414 13,126,688
Adjustments for items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities:    
Amortization of tangible capital assets (320,401) (357,932)
Services provided without charge by other government departments (1,884,380) (1,622,686)
Increase in vacation pay and compensatory leave (9,856) (5,240)
Decrease in employee severance benefits 349,353 60,130
Total items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities (1,865,284) (1,925,728)
Adjustments for items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities:    
Acquisitions of tangible capital assets 2,008,620 0
Total items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities 2,008,620 0
Requested authorities 15,057,750 11,200,960

(b) Authorities requested


(in dollars)
Estimated
2013-14
Planned
2014-15
Authorities requested     
Vote 40 - Program expenditures 13,686,195 9,897,674
Statutory amounts: Contributions to employee benefit plans 1,371,555 1,303,286
Requested authorities 15,057,750 11,200,960
Date modified:

État des résultats prospectifs

Non vérifié

Pour l’exercice terminéle 31 mars
(en dollars)

Résultats estimatifs

2013-14

Résultats prévus

2014-15

Charges

  • Conformité avec les obligations prévues à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information
  • Services internes
  • 10 998 652
  • 3 915 762
  • 10 107 550
  • 3 019 138
Coût de fonctionnement net 14 914 414 13 126 688

Les notes complémentaires font partie intégrante des états financiers.

Notes complémentaires à l’état des résultats prospectifs

1. Méthodes et hypothèses importantes

L’état prospectif des résultats a été établi suivant l’information contenue dans le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités pour 2014-2015.

Les renseignements présentés dans les résultats estimatifs de l’exercice 2013-14 sont fondés sur les résultats réels en date du 31 décembre 2013 et sur les prévisions pour le reste de l’exercice. Des prévisions des résultats prévus ont été faites pour l’exercice 2014-15.

Les principales hypothèses utilisées sont :

  1. En 2013-14, le CI déménagera ses bureaux d’Ottawa à Gatineau.  Le coût du déménagement est présentement estimé à 2,6 millions de dollars pour 2013-14.  Ce financement ponctuel  sera utilisé pour la configuration des espaces de travail et le matériel.  Ce montant figure dans le programme Services internes et sera remboursé sur une période de 15 ans.
  2. À l’exception du déménagement, les activités du Commissariat resteront, pour l’essentiel, pareilles à celles de l’an dernier.
  3. La mise en œuvre du budget de 2012 : Par suite de l’initiative et des mesures d’économie annoncées dans le budget de 2012, le Commissariat subira une réduction budgétaire de 100 000 $ en 2012-13, de 300 000 $ en 2013-14 et, enfin, une réduction permanente de 500 000 $ à compter de l’exercice 2014-15. 
  4. Les charges, y compris la détermination des montants de sources internes et externes au gouvernement sont basées sur les coûts d’origine, une analyse des tendances et d’autres méthodes d’analyse.
  5. L’information estimative de fin d’exercice pour 2013-14 représente la situation financière d’ouverture pour établir les prévisions de 2014-15.

Ces hypothèses sont adoptées en date du 31 décembre 2013.

2. Variation et évolution des prévisions financières

Même si tous les efforts ont été déployés pour prévoir avec exactitude les résultats définitifs pour le reste de l’exercice 2013-14 et pour 2014-15, les résultats réels des deux exercices risquent de varier par rapport aux prévisions financières présentées, et cet écart pourrait être important.

Lors de la préparation de ces états financiers, le Commissariat à l’information du Canada a établi des estimations et des hypothèses à l’égard d’événements futurs. Ces estimations et hypothèses pourraient différer des résultats réels subséquents. Les estimations et les hypothèses sont évaluées de façon continue et sont fondées sur l’expérience acquise et d’autres facteurs, notamment les prévisions relativement aux événements futurs qui sont considérées comme raisonnables compte tenu des circonstances.

Parmi les facteurs qui pourraient donner lieu à des écarts importants entre les états financiers prospectifs et les états financiers historiques, mentionnons les suivants :

  1. Le moment et le montant des acquisitions et des aliénations de biens immobiliers, d’installations de production et d’équipements pourraient influer sur les gains/pertes et les charges d’amortissement.
  2. Le budget de fonctionnement pourrait être modifié pour tenir compte de nouvelles initiatives ou ajustements techniques mis en œuvre plus tard au courant de l’exercice.
  3. Le coût prévu du déménagement du Commissariat, qui doit avoir lieu en 2013-14, y compris le montant prévu des acquisitions nettes d’immobilisations corporelles, pourrait différer du montant estimé.

Une fois que le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités pour 2014-2015 est présenté, le Commissariat à l’information du Canada ne mettra pas à jour les prévisions, quelles que soient les modifications apportées aux crédits ou aux prévisions financières dans les budgets supplémentaires. Les écarts seront expliqués dans le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement.

3. Sommaire des principales conventions comptables

Les états financiers prospectifs ont été préparés conformément aux conventions comptables du Conseil du Trésor en vigueur dans le cadre de l’exercice 2013-14. Ces conventions comptables, énoncées ci-après, correspondent aux principes comptables généralement reconnus au Canada pour le secteur public. La présentation et les résultats qui découlent de l’utilisation des conventions comptables énoncées ne donnent lieu à aucun écart important par rapport aux principes comptables généralement reconnus au Canada.

Les principales conventions comptables sont les suivantes:

(a) Charges

Les charges sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de comptabilité d’exercice. Les charges de fonctionnement du Commissariat sont constatées lorsque les biens sont reçus ou que les services sont rendus, y compris les services fournis gratuitement pour les locaux, les cotisations de l’employeur aux régimes de soins de santé et de soins dentaires, les services juridiques et les indemnités d’accident du travail, qui sont comptabilisés à titre de charges de fonctionnement à leur coût estimatif. Les indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires ainsi que les indemnités de cessation d’emploi sont passées en charges au fur et à mesure que les employés en acquièrent le droit en vertu de leurs conditions d’emploi.

Les charges incluent des provisions qui tiennent compte de changements dans la valeur d’actifs, incluant les passifs éventuels dans la mesure où l’événement futur est susceptible de se produire et où une estimation raisonnable des répercussions peut être établie.

Les charges incluent également l’amortissement des immobilisations corporelles, qui sont capitalisées à leur coût d’acquisition. Les immobilisations corporelles sont amorties selon la méthode de l’amortissement linéaire sur la durée de vie utile estimative de l’actif.

4. Autorisations parlementaires

Le Commissariat est financé par le gouvernement du Canada au moyen d’autorisations parlementaires. La formule de comptabilisation des autorisations consenties au Commissariat ne correspond pas à celle des  rapports financiers établis selon les principes comptables généralement reconnus, étant donné que les autorisations sont fondées, dans une large mesure, sur les besoins de trésorerie. Les postes comptabilisés dans l’état des résultats prospectifs d’un exercice donné peuvent être financés au moyen de crédits parlementaires approuvés au cours d’un exercice précédent, de l’exercice en cours ou d’exercices futurs. Par conséquent, les résultats de fonctionnement nets du Commissariat diffèrent suivant qu’ils sont calculés selon les principes du financement public ou selon la méthode de comptabilité d’exercice. Les différences sont rapprochées dans les tableaux suivants :

(a) Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement net et des autorisations demandées


(en dollars)
Estimatif
2013-14
Prévu
2014-15
Coût de fonctionnement net 14 914 414 13 126 688
Rajustements pour les postes ayant une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais aucune incidence sur les autorisations :    
Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles (320 401) (357 932)
Services fournis gratuitement par d’autres ministères (1 884 380) (1 622 686)
Augmentation des indemnités de vacances et congés compensatoires (9 856) (5 240)
Diminution des avantages sociaux futurs 349 353 60 130
Total des postes qui ont une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais aucune incidence sur les autorisations (1 865 284) (1 925 728)
Rajustement pour les postes qui n’ont pas d’incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui ont une incidence sur les autorisations :    
Acquisition d’immobilisations corporelles 2 008 620 0
Total des postes qui n’ont pas d’incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui ont une  incidence sur les autorisations 2 008 620 0
Autorisations demandées 15 057 750 11 200 960

(b) Autorisations demandées


(en dollars)
Estimatif
2013-14
Prévu
2014-15
Autorisations demandées     
Crédit 40 – Dépenses de Programme 13 686 195 9 897 674
Montants législatifs : Cotisations aux régimes d’avantages sociaux 1 371 555 1 303 286
Autorisations demandées  15 057 750 11 200 960