Fees for electronic records as per Information Commissioner of Canada v. Attorney General of Canada, 2015 FC 405

Advisory Notice

This notice explains the Office of the Information Commissioner’s (OIC) interpretation of the Federal Court’s decision in Information Commissioner of Canada v. Attorney General of Canada, 2015 FC 405 (the Fees Reference).

Background

On February 27, 2013, the Information Commissioner brought a reference question to the Federal Court pursuant to section 18.3(1) of the Federal Courts Act. The reference was framed as follows:

Are electronic records non-computerized records for the purpose of the search and preparation fees authorized by subsection 11(2) of the Access to Information Act (the Act) and subsection 7(2) of the Access to Information Regulations (the Regulations)?

The Regulations state that institutions can only charge search and preparation fees for “non-computerized” records. At issue in this case was whether electronic records such as emails or Word documents are considered “non-computerized.”

In the reference proceedings, the Commissioner’s position was that the answer to the reference question was “no.” In her view, “non-computerized records” means records which are not stored in or on a computer or in electronic format. In other words, electronically stored records are indeed computerized and therefore not subject to search and preparation fees.

The position of other parties to the proceedings was that the answer was “yes.” The Attorney General argued that a contextual analysis should be applied, which would take into account that most records are now in electronic form and that Word documents or emails “can be produced without the need to program a computer to create the record,” and therefore they are subject to search and preparation fees. Interveners in the proceedings also noted that fees can serve as a deterrent to requesters and can be used to help the financial situation within institutions that may be under budgetary and other constraints when responding to requests.

On March 31, 2015, the Federal Court rendered its decision and agreed with the Commissioner’s interpretation. The Court accepted the ordinary meaning of “non-computerized records” to find that emails, Word documents and other records in electronic format are computerized records and therefore not subject to search and preparation fees under the Regulations.

Impact of the decision

The Federal Court’s decision means that institutions must not charge fees to search for, and prepare, electronic records. Search and preparation fees may only be charged for records which are not stored in or on a computer or in electronic format.

Examples of electronic records include:

  • emails;
  • Word documents;
  • Excel documents;
  • PDF documents;
  • any other record that is stored on a computer’s internal hard drive, external hard drive, DVD or CD, floppy disk, punch card or that is otherwise machine readable; or
  • any other record in electronic format.

Fees charged for searching and preparing electronic records are not permitted under the Act and will result in a well-founded complaint.

During OIC investigations of complaints concerning search and preparation fees, institutions must demonstrate that the records were non-computerized at the time the request was made.

For the purpose of our investigation, the OIC will require documentation regarding the format of the records, where they are stored and the volume of records.

It is the position of the OIC that institutions cannot charge fees for the review and/or preparation of records using redaction software. Fees can, however, be assessed for any manual preparation of records.

Subsection 7(3) of the Regulations

Subsection 7(3) of the Regulations may only be used to charge fees for specific costs related to producing and programming a record from a machine readable record.

Subsection 7(3) cannot be used to justify charging fees for what are, for all intents and purposes, fees for searching and preparing electronic records. Fees cannot be charged to deter requesters or for cost recovery. Such use of subsection 7(3) – or any other provision – is not permitted under the Act and will result in a well-founded complaint.

During OIC investigations of complaints concerning subsection 7(3), institutions must be able to demonstrate that programming was required to produce the record.

Reminder: Fees can be waived or reimbursed

Subsection 11(6) of the Act allows for fees to be waived or reimbursed by the head of an institution (or delegated authority). This provision gives the head of an institution (or properly delegated authority) broad discretion to waive or reimburse fees in any circumstances considered appropriate.

Droits pour les documents électroniques conformément à
Commissaire à l’information du Canada c. Procureur général du Canada,
2015 CF 405

Note d’information

La présente note explique l’interprétation du Commissariat à l’information (Commissariat) de la décision de la Cour fédérale dans l’affaire Commissaire à l’information du Canada c. Procureur général du Canada, 2015 CF 405 (renvoi concernant les droits exigés).

Contexte

Le 27 février 2013, la commissaire à l’information a présenté une question de référence à la Cour fédérale conformément au paragraphe 18.3(1) de la Loi sur les Cours fédérales. La référence a été présentée comme suit :

Les documents électroniques sont-ils des documents qui ne sont pas informatisés en vue de l’application des droits de recherche et de préparation qu’autorisent le paragraphe 11(2) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (la Loi) et le paragraphe 7(2) du Règlement sur l’accès à l’information (le Règlement)?

Le Règlement prévoit que les institutions peuvent exiger des droits de recherche et de préparation uniquement si le document demandé « n’est pas informatisé ». Dans cette affaire, il s’agissait de savoir si les documents électroniques comme les courriels ou les documents Word sont considérés comme des documents qui « ne sont pas informatisés ».

Dans le cadre du renvoi, la position de la commissaire était que la réponse à la question de référence était « non ». À son avis, les « documents qui ne sont pas informatisés » désignent les documents qui ne sont pas stockés dans un ordinateur ou produits sous forme électronique. En d’autres mots, les documents sous forme électronique sont effectivement informatisés et, par conséquent, ne sont pas visés par l’application des droits de recherche et de préparation.

La position des autres parties au sujet des procédures était que la réponse était « oui ». Le procureur général a fait valoir qu’il faudrait effectuer une analyse contextuelle qui tiendrait compte du fait que la plupart des documents sont maintenant sous forme électronique et que les documents Word et les courriels sont des documents « qu’il est possible de produire sans devoir programmer un ordinateur pour les créer », et, par conséquent, sont visés par l’application des droits de recherche et de préparation. Les intervenants dans cette procédure ont aussi souligné que les droits peuvent servir de mesure dissuasive pour les demandeurs et peuvent aider à alléger la situation financière des institutions, dont certaines sont soumises à des contraintes budgétaires ou autres et n’ont pas les moyens nécessaires pour répondre aux demandes d’accès.

Le 31 mars 2015, la Cour fédérale a rendu sa décision et a accepté l’interprétation de la commissaire. Elle a reconnu que le sens courant des termes « documents non informatisés » signifiait que les courriels, les documents Word et les autres documents produits sous forme électronique sont des documents informatisés, et, par conséquent, ne sont pas visés par l’application des droits de recherche et de préparation en vertu du Règlement.

Impact de la décision

Il ressort de la décision de la Cour fédérale que les institutions ne peuvent pas exiger des droits pour la recherche et la préparation de documents électroniques. Des droits de recherche et de préparation ne peuvent être exigés que pour des documents qui ne sont pas stockés dans un ordinateur ou produits sous forme électronique.

Exemples de documents électroniques :

  • courriels;
  • Documents Word;
  • Documents Excel;
  • Documents PDF;
  • Tout autre document stocké sur le disque dur interne d’un ordinateur, un disque dur externe, un DVD ou CD, une disquette, une carte à perforer ou en format lisible à la machine;
  • Tout autre document sous forme électronique.

Les droits exigés pour la recherche et la préparation de documents électroniques ne sont pas permis en vertu de la Loi, entraînant le dépôt d’une plainte fondée.

Dans le cadre des enquêtes sur les plaintes portant sur les droits de recherche et de préparation menées par le Commissariat, les institutions doivent faire la preuve que les documents n’étaient pas informatisés au moment où la demande a été présentée.

Aux fins de notre enquête, le Commissariat aura besoin de la documentation concernant le format et le volume des documents, ainsi que l’endroit où ils sont stockés.

Le Commissariat est d’avis que les institutions ne peuvent charger des droits pour la recherche ou la préparation de documents à l’aide d’un logiciel de rédaction. Des droits peuvent toutefois être imposés pour la préparation manuelle des documents.

Paragraphe 7(3) du Règlement

Le paragraphe 7(3) du Règlement ne peut être utilisé que pour exiger des droits pour des coûts particuliers liés à la production et à la programmation d’un document à partir d’un document informatisé.

Le paragraphe 7(3) ne peut être utilisé pour justifier l’exigence de droits qui sont, tout compte fait, des droits de recherche et de préparation de documents électroniques. Des droits ne peuvent être exigés pour dissuader les demandeurs ou à des fins de recouvrement de coûts. Un tel recours au paragraphe 7(3) – ou à tout autre article – est interdit en vertu de la Loi et entraînera le dépôt d’une plainte fondée.

Dans le cadre des enquêtes sur les plaintes en rapport avec le paragraphe 7(3) menées par le Commissariat, les institutions doivent être capables de faire la preuve que la programmation était requise pour produire les documents. 

Rappel : les droits peuvent être supprimés ou remboursés

Le paragraphe 11(6) de la Loi prévoit que les droits peuvent être supprimés ou remboursés par le responsable d’une institution (ou la personne à laquelle le pouvoir est délégué). Cette disposition confère au responsable d’une institution (ou à la personne à laquelle le pouvoir est dûment délégué) un large pouvoir discrétionnaire en matière de suppression ou de remboursement des droits en toute circonstance jugée appropriée.