Consultations on Early Intervention Process

As part of the Information Commissioner’s commitment to provide exemplary service delivery to Canadians, the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) is implementing a pilot project that seeks to resolve complaints at a preliminary stage in the complaint process.

This process will apply to all refusal complaints registered after April 1, 2014. The OIC investigator will work with complainants and institutions to explore ways in which files can be resolved more efficiently.

The complainant retains the right to a full investigation by the OIC including a report of finding.

This pilot project will begin on June 1, 2014.  

Process

A summary of the complaint will be issued to the institution as per section 32 of the Access to Information Act. The OIC will request both the processing file and the responsive records at the time the summary is sent for all refusal files.

As part of the intake process, the OIC will review the complaint and related records and communicate with the complainant and the institution, in a preliminary manner, to explore possible ways to resolve the complaint.

If the complaint is resolved, and written agreement is received from the complainant and the delegated authority of the institution, the complaint will be recorded as settled.  The OIC will not make a finding as to whether the complaint was well-founded or not well-founded.  See the OIC disposition categories at: http://www.oic-ci.gc.ca/eng/inv-inv_disposition-categories-des-plaintes_all-tous.aspx.

If the scope of the complaint is clarified or narrowed as a result of this process, the OIC will confirm the new scope of the complaint with the complainant, and where necessary, provide an amended summary of complaint to the institution.  The complaint will be assigned to an investigator in accordance with the Advisory Notice on the Triage of complaints:  http://www.oic-ci.gc.ca/eng/inv-inv_pd-dp_triage-complaints-plaintes.aspx.  Delays related to the assignment of a file vary in relation to the complexity of the investigation and the availability of an investigator.

Please address any comments or questions to consultation@ci-oic.gc.ca before May 29, 2014.

Consultations sur le processus d’intervention anticipé

Dans le cadre de l’engagement de la commissaire à l’information d’offrir une prestation de services exemplaire aux Canadiens, le Commissariat à l’information du Canada (CIC) met en œuvre un projet pilote qui tente de résoudre les plaintes à l’étape préliminaire du processus de règlement des plaintes.

Ce processus s’appliquera à toutes les plaintes de refus déposées après le 1er avril 2014. Le Commissariat collaborera avec les plaignants et les institutions pour envisager des façons de régler les dossiers de manière plus efficace.

Le plaignant conserve le droit à une enquête complète par le Commissariat, y compris un rapport de conclusions.

Ce projet pilote commencera le 1er juin 2014.  

Processus

Un sommaire de la plainte sera remis à l’institution conformément à l’article 32 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Dans le cas de tous les dossiers de refus, le Commissariat exigera le dossier de traitement et les documents se rapportant à la demande au moment de l’envoi du sommaire.

Dans le cadre du processus de réception, le Commissariat passera en revue la plainte et les documents connexes et communiquera avec le plaignant et l’institution, de manière préliminaire, pour envisager des façons possibles de résoudre la plainte.

Si la plainte est résolue, et si une entente écrite est reçue du plaignant et du pouvoir délégué de l’institution, la plainte sera inscrite au dossier comme étant résolue. Le Commissariat ne déterminera pas si la plainte est fondée ou non. Consultez les catégories de règlement des plaintes du Commissariat à : http://www.oic-ci.gc.ca/fra/inv-inv_disposition-categories-des-plaintes_all-tous.aspx

Si la portée de la plainte est clarifiée ou restreinte à la suite du présent processus, le Commissariat confirmera auprès du plaignant la nouvelle portée de la plainte et, au besoin, présentera un sommaire de la plainte modifié à l’institution. La plainte sera attribuée à un enquêteur, conformément à la note d’information sur le triage des plaintes : http://www.oic-ci.gc.ca/fra/inv-inv_pd-dp_triage-complaints-plaintes.aspx. Les délais associés à l’attribution d’un dossier varient en fonction de la complexité de l’enquête et de la disponibilité d’un enquêteur.

Veuillez communiquer tout commentaire ou toute question à consultations@ci-oic.gc.ca avant le 29 mai 2014.