Advisory Notice
Exemptions: Exercise of discretion

February 28, 2018

This notice provides guidance to government institutions subject to the Access to Information Act (the Act) of the Office of the Information Commissioner’s (OIC) interpretation and assessment of the exercise of discretion.

The notice is intended to assist officials in institutions in providing representations on this issue to the OIC in the course of complaint investigations. It is also intended to assist requesters in understanding the exercise of discretion that must be undertaken by institutions.

Application of discretionary exemptions

Discretionary exemptions allow institutions to disclose a record, despite the existence of grounds for applying the exemption. Discretionary exemptions are introduced by the words: “(A) head may refuse to disclose…”

When making decisions regarding the use of discretionary exemptions in responding to an access request, institutions must first determine whether or not the exemption can apply.

Once it has been determined that a discretionary exemption could apply, decision-makers must then go on to ask whether, having regard to all relevant interests, including the public interest in disclosure, disclosure should be made. This means that the decision-maker must actually consider and weigh all relevant factors for and against disclosure, and must not consider improper or irrelevant factors.

Relevant factors may include:

  • the general purpose of the Act;
  • the purpose of the exemption and the extent to which applying the exemption would advance that purpose;
  • the facts and circumstances of the specific case;
  • the nature of the record and whether the record is particularly sensitive or significant;
  • the importance of the record to the requester and whether there is a sympathetic or compelling reason to release the record;
  • the passage of time and/or the historical nature of the record;
  • whether disclosure of the information would increase public confidence in the operations of the institution; and
  • the prior public disclosure of the information.

Decision-makers cannot rely on irrelevant considerations such as an expectation of harm arising from disclosure that is based on mere speculation, or the prospect of embarrassment arising from disclosure of the information.

Assessment of the Exercise of Discretion

When a complaint involving a discretionary exemption is investigated by the OIC, the institution bears the onus in terms of establishing that the information fits within the scope of the exemption and, if so, that it reasonably exercised its discretion to rely on the exemption to withhold information.

In its assessment of the exercise of discretion, the OIC will determine:

  • who made the decision to apply the discretionary exemption(s) – the decision-maker must be the head of the institution or the head’s authorized delegate;
  • whether the decision-maker was aware of the discretion to release exempted information and actually exercised that discretion; and
  • whether the decision-maker exercised that discretion reasonably.

An assessment of reasonableness will take into account:

  • the purposes of the Act, including the public interest in disclosure;
  • whether the reasons supporting the exercise of discretion are sufficient;
  • whether those reasons are supported by facts; and
  • whether the decision in its entirety is understandable and justifiable.Footnote 1

It is important that institutions properly document their decisions in order to be in a position to respond to the OIC’s investigation. Decision-makers cannot simply state that they have taken all the relevant factors into consideration; our office will expect them to demonstrate that they have carefully considered the factors in favour of disclosure in a complete and transparent fashion, while taking into account the objectives of the Act.

If the exercise of discretion is found to be unreasonable

If the OIC is not satisfied that discretion was exercised reasonably when the institution responded to the request, our office can ask that the exercise of discretion be revisited during the course of the investigation.

If we continue to be of the opinion that discretion was not reasonably exercised, the Commissioner can make formal recommendations to the head of the institution pursuant to s. 37(1) of the Act. These recommendations can include:

  • that discretion be exercised anew which could result in either disclosure of the information or reasons provided to the Commissioner for exercising discretion in favour of maintaining the application of the exemptions; or
  • that records be disclosed in light of the absence of evidence that the discretion was exercised reasonably.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Information Commissioner and Daphné Cameron v. Minister of Transport of Canada, 2016 FC 448.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Date modified:

Avis d’information
Exceptions : Exercice du pouvoir discrétionnaire

le 28 février 2018

La présente note d’information contient des directives à l’intention des institutions fédérales assujetties à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (la Loi) sur l’interprétation et l’évaluation de l’exercice du pouvoir discrétionnaire par le Commissariat à l’information (le Commissariat).

L’avis a pour objet d’aider les fonctionnaires des diverses institutions fédérales à présenter des observations sur cet enjeu au Commissariat dans le cadre des enquêtes sur des plaintes de refus. Il vise également à aider les demandeurs à comprendre l’exercice du pouvoir discrétionnaire qui doit être mené par toutes les institutions.

Application des exceptions discrétionnaires

Les exceptions discrétionnaires permettent aux institutions fédérales de communiquer un document, malgré l’existence de motifs pour appliquer l’exception. Les exceptions discrétionnaires sont introduites par les mots « (A) le responsable peut refuser la communication… ».

Lorsqu’elles prennent des décisions concernant l’utilisation d’exceptions discrétionnaires pour répondre à une demande d’accès à l’information, les institutions fédérales doivent d’abord déterminer si l’exception peut s’appliquer.

Une fois qu’il a été établi qu’une exception discrétionnaire peut s’appliquer, les décideurs doivent alors se demander, en tenant compte de tous les facteurs pertinents, y compris l’intérêt public, s’il devrait y avoir communication. Cela signifie que le décideur doit examiner et soupeser tous les facteurs pertinents en faveur et à l’encontre de la communication, et ne doit pas tenir compte des facteurs inappropriés ou non pertinents.

Voici quelques exemples de facteurs pertinents :

  • L’objet général de la Loi;
  • L’objectif de l’exception et la mesure dans laquelle l’application de l’exception permettrait de favoriser l’atteinte de cet objectif;
  • Les faits et les circonstances du cas particulier;
  • La nature du document et s’il est de nature particulièrement sensible ou importante;
  • L’importance du document pour le demandeur et s’il existe un motif de sympathie ou convainquant de communiquer le document;
  • Le passage du temps et/ou la nature historique du document;
  • La communication de l’information permettrait ou non d’accroître la confiance du public à l’égard des activités de l’institution;
  • La communication publique antérieure de l’information.

Les décideurs ne peuvent pas invoquer des motifs non pertinents, comme le risque de préjudice qui se fondent sur de simples suppositions ou la possibilité d’embarras découlant de la communication de l’information.

Évaluation de l’exercice du pouvoir discrétionnaire

Lorsque le Commissariat fait enquête sur une plainte portant sur une exception discrétionnaire, il revient à l’institution fédérale d’établir que ces renseignements sont visés par l’exception et, dans l’affirmative, qu’elle a exercé son pouvoir discrétionnaire de manière raisonnable dans sa décision de retenir de l’information.

Dans son évaluation de l’exercice du pouvoir discrétionnaire, le Commissariat déterminera :

  • qui a pris la décision d’appliquer la ou les exemptions discrétionnaires – le décideur doit être le responsable de l’institution ou son délégué autorisé;
  • si le décideur était conscient du pouvoir discrétionnaire de communiquer des renseignements soustraits de communication et si l’exerçait réellement;
  • si le décideur exerçait ce pouvoir discrétionnaire de manière raisonnable.

Une évaluation du caractère raisonnable tiendra compte des éléments suivants :

  • L’objet de la Loi, y compris l’intérêt que le public a dans la communication des renseignements;
  • Si les raisons justifiant l’exercice du pouvoir discrétionnaire sont suffisantes;
  • Si ces raisons s’appuient sur des faits;
  • Si la décision, dans tous ces éléments, est compréhensible et justifiableNote de bas de page 1.

Il est important que les institutions documentent adéquatement leurs décisions afin de donner suite à l’enquête du Commissariat. Les décideurs ne peuvent pas simplement indiquer qu’ils ont considéré tous les facteurs pertinents. Le Commissariat s’attend à ce qu’ils démontrent de manière complète et transparente qu’ils ont soigneusement examiné les facteurs en faveur de la communication, tout en tenant compte des objectifs de la Loi.

Si l’exercice du pouvoir discrétionnaire est jugé déraisonnable

Si le Commissariat n’est pas satisfait que le pouvoir discrétionnaire a été exercé de manière raisonnable lorsque l’institution a répondu à la demande, le Commissariat peut demander que l’exercice du pouvoir discrétionnaire soit revu durant l’enquête.

Si nous continuons de croire que le pouvoir discrétionnaire n’a pas été exercé de manière raisonnable, la commissaire peut formuler des recommandations officielles au responsable de l’institution conformément au paragraphe 37(1) de la Loi. Ces recommandations peuvent inclure :

  • Que le pouvoir discrétionnaire soit de nouveau exercé, ce qui pourrait se traduire par la communication de l’information ou des raisons présentées à la commissaire pour l’exercice du pouvoir discrétionnaire en faveur du maintien de l’application des exceptions; ou
  • Que les documents soient communiqués en l’absence d’éléments de preuve que le pouvoir discrétionnaire a été exercé de manière raisonnable.

Notes de bas de page

Notes de bas de page 1

La commissaire à l’information du Canada et Daphné Cameron c. le ministre des Transports du Canada, 2016 CF 448.

Retour vers la note de bas de page de référence 1