Advisory Notice

Time Extensions Pursuant to Paragraph 9(1)(b) of the Access to Information Act

July 22, 2016

This notice provides guidance to government institutions subject to the Access to Information Act (the Act), and to requesters, of the Office of the Information Commissioner’s (OIC) interpretation and application of paragraph 9(1)(b) of the Act. This notice reflects the Federal Court of Appeal’s decision in Information Commissioner of Canada v. Minister of National Defence, 2015 FCA 56.

The notice is intended to assist officials in institutions and at the OIC in preparing and reviewing documentation in support of rationales to substantiate extensions during the course of investigations. Documentation of relevant factors that justify an extension expedites investigations of time extension complaints.

The inappropriate use of time extensions is a leading cause of delays in responding to access to information requests.

In the OIC’s annual report, the use, duration and volume of time extensions for consultations taken under paragraph 9(1)(b), and the delays to respond to access requests that may result because of these extensions, was identified as an area of particular concern (see Annual Report 2014-2015, “Delays stemming from consultations on records related to access requests”).

Time extensions pursuant to paragraph 9(1)(b)Footnote 1

Paragraph 9(1)(b) of the Act provides that an institution may extend the 30-day time limit to respond to a request for information for a reasonable period of time, having regard to the circumstances, if consultations are necessary to comply with the request that cannot reasonably be completed within the original time limit. The OIC has identified several issues concerning consultations, especially with regard to when consultations are necessary to comply with the request and the duration and volume of consultations.

Determining what consultations are necessary to comply with the request

Factors the OIC may consider when investigating whether a consultation was necessary include but are not limited to:

  • Whether the records being consulted on are generated by the consulted institution(s);
  • Whether the consulted institution accepted the consultation request;
  • The nature of the consultation [Example: if the consultation is for Cabinet records].

Determining what is not practically possible

The second criteria under paragraph 9(1)(b) is that it is not reasonable, or practically possible, to expect that the necessary consultations can be completed within the initial thirty days provided under section 7 of the Act.

Among the factors that the OIC may consider when assessing whether it is not reasonable, or practically possible, to expect that the necessary consultations can be completed within the original 30 days, are:

  • The number of pages, including similar pages, and the type of documents that need to be reviewed by the consulted party;
  • The nature of the consultation [Example: if the consultation is for Cabinet records];
  • Existence of previous consultation requests on the same or similar records;
  • Whether the length of the extension has been consensually determined with the consulted institution;
  • Who the consultation is with [Example: if the consultation is with an international government and the consultation is complicated by protocols of formal diplomatic channels of correspondence, language issues or government instability];
  • Whether consent is being sought for disclosure [Example: under sections 13 or 19];

The lists of factors above are by no means exhaustive. They are intended to provide guidance.

A note on internal consultations

The OIC does not accept the use of paragraph 9(1)(b) for internal consultations. The use of paragraph 9(1)(b) should be limited to external consultations with other institutions or affected parties.Footnote 2

Length of the extension must be reasonable having regard to the circumstances

If the institution demonstrates that the pre-conditions described above are met, the institution must further demonstrate that the length of the extension claimed is reasonable having regard to the circumstances.

In determining whether an extension is reasonable, the Federal Court of Appeal stated in Information Commissioner of Canada v. Minister of National Defence that institutions “must make a serious effort to assess the required duration” of an extension taken under paragraph 9(1)(b). The estimated calculation must be “sufficiently rigorous, logic[al] and supportable to pass muster under reasonableness review,” and “an effort must be made to demonstrate the link between the justification advanced and the length of the extension taken.”

Further, as per the Court, a perfunctory estimate of the duration of the extension will not be sufficient to meet the test for reasonableness.

Although the average times for consultations may be a factor which should be considered, it is not the only consideration. Institutions must consider all relevant factors and establish a rational linkage between the requirements of paragraph 9(1)(b) and the length of the extension claimed.

Standard consultation response times

It has come to the OIC’s attention that some institutions have adopted standard consultation response times when consulted by another institution, based on number of pages. Consulting institutions are then basing the length of extensions claimed on these standard response times.

The practice of setting standard response times based on number of pages, and subsequently claiming extensions based on these standard times, is inconsistent with the statutory requirements of the Act. It is also inconsistent with the Federal Court of Appeal in Information Commissioner of Canada v. Minister of National Defence. The OIC does not accept extension lengths based on standard response times.

Multiple consultations

In some instances, an institution must consult with multiple institutions. In order to provide timely access, these consultations should be undertaken concurrently, not consecutively.

Legal validity of the extension

In Information Commissioner of Canada v Minister of National Defence, the Court concluded that “a deemed refusal arises whenever the initial 30-day time limit has expired without access being given, in circumstances where no legally valid extension has been taken.” The Court explained that if conditions described in paragraph 9(1)(b) are “not satisfied, the time is not validly extended, with the result that the 30-day time limit imposed by operation of section 7 remains the applicable limit.”

As a result of this decision, if the OIC finds that an extension is not valid, the request will be considered in deemed refusal pursuant to subsection 10(3) of the Act.

Notice of Right to Complain

Subsection 9(1) requires institutions to notify requesters, as part of the notice of extension, that the person has a right to make a complaint to the Commissioner about the extension. Complaints must be made within sixty days after the day on which the person receives the notice. 

Investigations

When the OIC has received a complaint about an extension, the institution will be notified of the complaint.

In cases where the investigation determined that the institution has responded to the request, the OIC will not pursue the investigation further and the complaint will be considered resolved.

Otherwise, institutions are responsible for demonstrating that all criteria under paragraph 9(1)(b) are met and that time extensions are substantiated. Detailed documentation assists the OIC in determining the validity of extensions during investigations. The factors listed in this notice are by no means exhaustive. They are intended to provide information on how the OIC may approach extension investigations.

Reasonable extension

The OIC will find the extension to be valid if:

  • the institution has notified the requester about the extension within the required 30 days;
  • the institution has satisfied all the criteria enumerated in paragraph 9(1)(b); and
  • the length of the extension is reasonable having regard to the circumstances.

In such cases a report of finding will be issued. The disposition will be not well-founded and the investigation will be closed.

Not a reasonable extension

The OIC will find the extension to be invalid if:

  • the institution has not notified the requester within the required 30 days; or
  • the institution has not satisfied all the criteria enumerated in paragraph 9(1)(b), and/or
  • the length is not reasonable having regard to the circumstances.

In such cases, the OIC will obtain a disclosure date from the institution. The OIC will then assess the reasonableness of this disclosure date, in consultation with the requester.

Reasonable disclosure date provided by an institution:

  • The investigation will be put on hold until the disclosure date is met. Once the disclosure date has been met and the final response has been provided to the requester, a report of finding will be issued. The disposition will be well-founded, resolved and the investigation will be closed.
  • The investigation will be put on hold until the disclosure date is met. If the final response has not been provided to the requester by the disclosure date, a letter under section 37 of the Act will be sent to the head of the institution providing ten (10) days to issue the final response. If the response is sent within ten (10) days, a report of finding will be issued. The disposition will be well-founded, resolved and the investigation will be closed

If the final response is not sent within ten (10) days, a report of finding will be issued, the disposition will be well-founded, not resolved and the investigation will be closed.

Judicial review by the Federal Court may be pursued either by the complainant or the OIC with the complainant’s consent.

No reasonable disclosure date provided by an institution:

  • The OIC will issue a letter to the head of the institution under section 37 of the Act formally recommending a disclosure date. The institution will then have ten (10) days to inform the OIC whether the Commissioner’s recommendation is accepted. If the institution accepts the date, the requester has the same options as described under “Reasonable disclosure date provided by an institution”, above.
  • If a reasonable disclosure date is not accepted by an institution after a formal recommendation from the OIC under section 37 of the Act, a report of finding will be issued, the disposition will be well-founded, not resolved and the investigation will be closed.

Judicial review by the Federal Court may be pursued either by the complainant or the OIC with the complainant’s consent.

Notification of extensions

Pursuant to subsection 9(2) of the Act, where an institution extends the time limit for more than 30 days under subsection 9(1), notice of the extension shall be given to the Information Commissioner at the same time notice is given to the requester.

The notification of extension to the OIC should include the following information:

  • Date of access request;
  • Date completed request is received by the institution;
  • Institution’s file number;
  • Text of the request;
  • Date extension notification sent to requester;
  • Reason under section 9 for extension (specify paragraph);
  • Length of extension; and
  • Notice of the right to complain to the OIC included.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Note that Paragraph 9(1)(b) should not be used to consult third parties when commercial information as described in subsection 20(1) of the Act is involved. Instead, institutions must use paragraph 9(1)(c).

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Note that the OIC is aware that the TBS Access to Information Manual provides that paragraph 9(1)(b) may be used for consultations within a government institution, with the exception of the approval process. While the OIC agrees that paragraph 9(1)(b) should not be used for the approval process, we disagree that paragraph 9(1)(b) is available for consultations within a government institution.

Return to first footnote 2 referrer

Date modified:

Avis d’information

Prorogations de délai en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)b) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

22 juillet 2016

Le présent avis contient des directives à l’intention des institutions fédérales assujetties à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (la Loi) et des demandeurs qui veulent connaître la position du Commissariat à l’information du Canada (le Commissariat) concernant l’interprétation et l’application de l’alinéa 9(1)b) de la Loi. L’avis tient compte de la décision rendue par la Cour d’appel fédérale dans l’arrêt Commissaire à l’information du Canada c. Ministre de la Défense nationale, 2015 CAF 56.

L’avis a pour objet d’aider les fonctionnaires des diverses institutions et ceux du Commissariat à examiner et à rédiger les documents à l’appui des motifs justifiant les prorogations de délai dans le cadre des enquêtes. Des motifs pertinents qui nous serons transmis justifiant l’octroi d’une prorogation de délai permettra d’accélérer les enquêtes concernant les plaintes en la matière.

Le recours indu aux prorogations de délai est l’une des causes principales des retards dans les réponses aux demandes d’accès à l’information.

Dans le rapport annuel du Commissariat, la durée, l’utilisation et le nombre de prorogations de délai invoquées en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)b) pour mener des consultations, ainsi que les retards dans les réponses aux demandes d’accès à l’information qui peuvent découler de ces prorogations (voir le Rapport annuel 2014-2015, « Retards liés aux consultations de dossiers portant sur des demandes d’accès ») ont été identifiés comme un secteur particulièrement préoccupant.

Prorogations de délai en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)b)Note de bas de page 1

Selon l’alinéa 9(1)b) de la Loi, une institution peut proroger le délai de 30 jours pour répondre à une demande d’information d’un nombre raisonnable de jours justifié par les circonstances, si des consultations sont nécessaires pour répondre à la demande, rendant impossible l’observation du délai initial. Le Commissariat a relevé plusieurs problèmes concernant les consultations, particulièrement en ce qui a trait à la question de savoir à quel moment des consultations sont nécessaires pour répondre à la demande, ainsi qu’au niveau de la durée et du nombre de consultations.

Déterminer les consultations nécessaires pour répondre à la demande

Parmi les facteurs dont le Commissariat peut tenir compte afin d’évaluer si une consultation est nécessaire, figure, entre autres :

  • Si les documents faisant l’objet de la consultation sont produits par l’institution ou les institutions consultée(s);
  • Si l’institution (les institutions) consultée(s) a (ont) accepté la demande de consultation;
  • La nature de la consultation [exemple : si la consultation concerne des documents du Cabinet].

Déterminer le sens de l’expression « rendraient pratiquement impossible »

Le deuxième critère aux termes de l’alinéa 9(1)b) est qu’il n’est pas raisonnable, ou pratiquement impossible, de s’attendre à ce que les consultations nécessaires puissent être complétées durant la période initiale de 30 jours prévue à l’article 7 de la Loi.

Parmi les facteurs que le Commissariat peut prendre en considération au moment de déterminer s’il n’est pas raisonnable, ou pratiquement impossible, de s’attendre à ce que les consultations nécessaires puissent être complétées pendant la période initiale de 30 jours, on peut mentionner :

  • Le nombre de pages, incluant les pages de même nature, et le type de documents qui doivent être examinés par la partie consultée;
  • La nature de la consultation [exemple : si la consultation concerne des documents du Cabinet];
  • L’existence de demandes de consultation antérieures concernant les mêmes documents ou des documents de même nature;
  • Le fait que la durée de la prorogation ait ou non été établie d’un commun accord avec l’institution consultée;
  • La partie consultée [exemple : si la consultation concerne un gouvernement étranger et qu’elle est compliquée par des protocoles relativement à l’utilisation de la voie diplomatique officielle pour la correspondance, des problèmes de langue ou l’instabilité d’un gouvernement];
  • Le fait qu’on cherche à obtenir un consentement pour la divulgation [exemple : aux termes des articles 13 ou 19].

Les listes de facteurs précitées ne sont aucunement exhaustives. Leur objectif est de fournir une orientation.

Une note sur les consultations internes

Le Commissariat n’accepte pas le recours à l’alinéa 9(1)b) pour effectuer des consultations internes. Le recours à l’alinéa 9(1)b) est limité aux consultations externes avec d’autres institutions ou parties concernées)Note de bas de page 2.

La durée de la prorogation doit être raisonnable compte tenu des circonstances

Si elle démontre que les conditions préalables ci-haut mentionnées sont remplies, l’institution devra, de plus, démontrer que la durée de la prorogation réclamée est raisonnable compte tenu des circonstances.

Dans l’arrêt Commissaire à l’information du Canada c. Ministre de la Défense nationale, la Cour d’appel fédérale a indiqué qu’au moment de déterminer si une prorogation est raisonnable, les institutions « doivent sérieusement s’employer à évaluer le délai requis » d’une prorogation invoquée en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)b). Le calcul estimatif doit être « suffisamment rigoureux, logique et soutenable pour tenir la route lors d’un examen de son caractère raisonnable », et « [il faudra] s’efforcer de démontrer le lien entre la justification mise de l’avant et la durée de la prorogation [que l’institution] s’accorde ».

Par ailleurs, toujours selon la Cour, une estimation superficielle de la durée de la prorogation sera insuffisante au regard du critère du caractère raisonnable.

Même si la durée de la consultation peut constituer un facteur qui devrait être examiné, elle n’est pas le seul élément que l’on doit prendre en considération. Les institutions doivent examiner tous les facteurs pertinents et établir un lien rationnel entre les exigences de l’alinéa 9(1)b) et la durée de la prorogation réclamée.

Délais de réponse moyens concernant la consultation

Le Commissariat a été informé que certaines institutions ont adopté des délais de réponse moyens calculé en fonction du nombre de page lorsqu’elles sont consultées par une autre institution. Les institutions consultantes font en sorte par la suite que la durée de la prorogation réclamée soit fondée sur ces délais de réponse moyens.

La pratique d’établir des délais de réponse moyens en fonction du nombre de pages, et réclamer ultérieurement des prorogations selon ces délais moyens, est incompatible avec les exigences de la Loi. Elle est également incompatible avec la décision rendue par la Cour d’appel fédérale dans l’arrêt Commissaire à l’information du Canada c. Ministre de la Défense nationale. Le Commissariat n’accepte pas les durées de prorogation fondées sur des délais de réponse moyens.

Consultations multiples

Dans certains cas, une institution doit consulter plusieurs institutions. Dans le but d’assurer l’accès à l’information demandée en temps opportun, ces consultations devraient être entreprises simultanément, et non pas consécutivement.

Validité juridique de la prorogation

Dans l’arrêt Commissaire à l’information du Canada c. Ministre de la Défense nationale, la Cour a conclu « à l’existence d’une présomption de refus chaque fois que le délai de 30 jours initial expire sans qu’il y ait communication, dans les cas où la prorogation n’est pas légalement valide ». La Cour a expliqué que si les conditions décrites à l’alinéa 9(1)b) « ne [sont] pas respectée[s], la prorogation de délai n’est pas valable et le délai de 30 jours imposé en application de l’article 7 demeure donc le délai applicable ».

Compte tenu de cette décision, si le Commissariat estime qu’une prorogation n’est pas valide, il conclura qu’il s’agit d’une situation de présomption de refus aux termes du paragraphe 10(3) de la Loi.

Avis du droit de se plaindre

Aux termes du paragraphe 9(1), l’institution doit envoyer à la personne qui a fait la demande un avis de prorogation de délai, en lui faisant part de son droit de déposer une plainte à ce propos auprès du Commissariat à l’information. La plainte doit être déposée dans les soixante jours suivant la date de réception de l’avis.

Enquêtes

Lorsque le Commissariat reçoit une plainte concernant une prorogation, l’institution en sera notifiée.

Dans les cas où l’enquête a déterminé que l’institution a répondu à la demande, le Commissariat ne poursuivra pas l’enquête et la plainte sera considérée comme réglée.

Autrement, les institutions sont tenues de démontrer que tous les critères prévus à l’alinéa 9(1)b) sont remplis et que les prorogations de délai sont justifiées. Une documentation détaillée aidera le Commissariat à se prononcer sur la validité des prorogations durant les enquêtes. Les listes de facteurs énumérés dans cet avis ne sont nullement exhaustives; elles servent à indiquer comment le Commissariat peut aborder les enquêtes sur les prorogations.

Prorogation raisonnable

Le Commissariat conclura à la validité de la prorogation si :

  1. l’institution a avisé le demandeur de la prorogation dans le délai requis de 30 jours;
  2. l’institution a rencontré tous les critères énoncés à l’alinéa 9(1)b);
  3. la durée de la prorogation est raisonnable compte tenu des circonstances.

Dans ces cas, un rapport de conclusion est émis. La décision sera que la plainte est non fondée, ce qui met fin à l’enquête.

Prorogation non raisonnable

Le Commissariat conclura à la non-validité de la prorogation si :

  1. l’institution n’a pas avisé le demandeur de la prorogation dans le délai requis de 30 jours; ou
  2. l’institution n’a pas rempli tous les critères énoncés à l’alinéa 9(1)b); et/ou
  3. la durée de la prorogation n’est pas raisonnable compte tenu des circonstances.

Dans ces cas, le Commissariat obtiendra de l’institution une date de communication et en évaluera ensuite le caractère raisonnable, en consultation avec le demandeur.

L’institution propose une date raisonnable de communication

  1. L’enquête sera suspendue jusqu’à la date de communication. Si celle-ci est respectée et la réponse finale a été transmise au demandeur, un rapport de conclusion sera émis. La plainte sera classée comme étant fondée et réglée, ce qui met fin à l’enquête.
  2. L’enquête sera suspendue jusqu’à la date de communication. Si la réponse finale n’est pas transmise au demandeur à la date de communication, une lettre en vertu de l’article 37 de la Loi sera envoyée au responsable de l’institution  lui accordant dix (10) jours pour donner la réponse finale. Si la réponse est transmise dans les dix (10) jours, un rapport de conclusion sera émis. La plainte est classée comme étant fondée et réglée, ce qui met fin à l’enquête.

Si la réponse finale n’est pas transmise dans les dix (10) jours, un rapport de conclusion sera émis, et la décision sera que la plainte était fondée mais non réglée, ce qui met fin à l’enquête.

Un recours judiciaire peut être intenté devant la Cour fédérale par le plaignant ou par le Commissariat avec le consentement du plaignant.

L’institution ne propose aucune date raisonnable de communication

  1. Le Commissariat envoie une lettre au responsable de l’institution en vertu de l’article 37 de la Loi recommandant formellement une date de communication des documents. L’institution dispose alors de dix (10) jours pour indiquer au Commissariat si elle accepte la recommandation du Commissaire. Le cas échéant, le demandeur dispose des mêmes options que celles décrites ci-dessus à la section « L’institution propose une date raisonnable de communication ».
  2. Si l’institution n’accepte pas de date de divulgation raisonnable après que le Commissariat le lui a formellement recommandé en vertu de l’article 37 de la Loi, un rapport de conclusion sera émis, la plainte est classée comme fondée mais non réglée et l’enquête sera fermée.

Un recours judiciaire peut être intenté devant la Cour fédérale par le plaignant ou par le Commissariat avec le consentement du plaignant.

Notification des prorogations

En vertu du paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi, lorsque la prorogation de délai visée au paragraphe (1) dépasse 30 jours, le responsable de l’institution fédérale doit en aviser le Commissariat ainsi que le demandeur.

L’avis de prorogation au Commissariat devrait inclure les renseignements suivants :

  • La date de la demande;
  • La date à laquelle la demande complétée est parvenue à l’institution;
  • Le numéro de dossier de l’institution;
  • Le texte de la demande;
  • La date à laquelle l’avis de prorogation est envoyé au demandeur;
  • La raison de la prorogation en vertu de l’article 9 (préciser l’alinéa);
  • La durée de la prorogation;
  • L’avis du droit de se plaindre au Commissariat.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Il est à noter que l’on ne devrait pas avoir recours à l’alinéa 9(1)b) pour consulter des tierces parties lorsque de l’information commerciale, tel que décrit au paragraphe 20(1) de la Loi, est en cause. Les institutions doivent plutôt invoquer l’alinéa 9(1)c).

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Il est à noter que le Commissariat est conscient du fait que le Manuel de l’accès à l’information du SCT précise que l’on peut avoir recours à l’alinéa 9(1)b) lorsqu’il s’agit de consultations au sein d’une institution gouvernementale, à l’exception du processus d’approbation. Bien que le Commissariat est d’accord avec le SCT à l’effet que l’on ne devrait pas recourir à l’alinéa 9(1)b) pour le processus d’approbation, nous sommes en désaccord avec l’utilisation de l’alinéa 9(1)b) pour effectuer des consultations au sein d’une institution gouvernementale.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2