Advisory Notice

Time Extensions Pursuant to Paragraph 9(1)(a) of the Access to Information Act

July 22, 2016

This notice provides guidance to government institutions subject to the Access to Information Act (the Act), and to requesters, of the Office of the Information Commissioner’s (OIC) interpretation and application of paragraph 9(1)(a) of the Act. This notice reflects the Federal Court of Appeal’s decision in Information Commissioner of Canada v. Minister of National Defence, 2015 FCA 56.

The notice is intended to assist officials in institutions and at the OIC in preparing and reviewing documentation in support of rationales to substantiate extensions during the course of investigations. Documentation of relevant factors that justify an extension expedites investigations of time extension complaints.

The inappropriate use of time extensions is a leading cause of delays in responding to access to information requests.

Time Extensions pursuant to paragraph 9(1)(a)

Paragraph 9(1)(a) of the Act permits institutions to extend the 30-day time limit to respond to a request for information if it is for a large number of records or necessitates a search through a large number of records and meeting the original time limit would unreasonably interfere with the operations of the institution. The OIC has identified several issues concerning the interpretation of the terms “large number of records”, “search through a large number of records” and “unreasonable interference with operations of the government institution.”

Determining what constitutes a large number of records

The OIC considers 1,000 pages or more as a benchmark for what constitutes a large number of records. In cases involving fewer pages, it has required institutions to provide rationales to substantiate their positions regarding volume. While the number of pages is an important indicator of volume, the OIC may assess extensions on a broader, case-by-case basis with contextual factors playing a role in the assessment.

In Implementation Report Number 67 (September 17, 1999), the Treasury Board Secretariat indicated that the average number of records an institution routinely processes within 30 days could be employed as a scale for determining what constitutes a large number of records. Although it might be considered in particular circumstances, this factor would have minimal weight in an investigation if the OIC is of the view the institution is performing at a sub-standard level.

Determining what constitutes a search through a large number of records

In the past, guidance regarding searching through a large number of records has tended to be based primarily on page counts of paper documents. In the current environment, while electronic searches may quickly generate records on a topic, they must still be examined to assess their particular relevance to a request.

Factors the OIC considers during extension investigations to assess what constitutes a search through a large number of records include, but are not limited to:

  • Commonality and currency of the formats of the records [Example: Record production requires use of unusual software or antiquated hardware];
  • Degree of ease in reviewing and assessing the relevancy of the records [Example: Large computer printout where the review of 1 or 2 pages results in a uniform approach being applied to all pages];
  • Existence of previous requests for the same or similar records;
  • Number of records management systems to be searched;
  • Number of officials involved in the search;
  • Accessibility of the records [Example: Records held in multiple locations].

Determining what is unreasonable interference with the operations of the institution

The second part of the criteria under paragraph 9(1)(a) is whether meeting the 30 day timeline would unreasonably interfere with the operations of the institution. Factors the OIC considers during extension investigations include, but are not limited to:

  • Nature and extent of the interference;
  • Degree to which the subject matter expertise of the Office of Primary Interest (OPI) will be diverted to the detriment of the OPI’s core functions; and
  • Extent to which institutional resources required to respond to the request is adversely affecting the processing of other requests.

The OIC has not viewed a temporary lack of resources resulting from holidays, extended personal leave, power outages, special events, etc. as valid arguments to justify extensions. Similarly, an institution’s chronic lack of resources or inadequate records management system is not accepted as a legitimate justification for a time extension.

However, lack of adequate resources in extraordinary circumstances may be taken into account on a case-by-case basis. In these circumstances, institutions may be asked to demonstrate they are making an effort to resolve their resource problems.

Length of the extension must be reasonable having regard to the circumstances

If the institution demonstrates that the pre-conditions described above are met, the institution must further demonstrate that the length of the extension claimed is reasonable having regard to the circumstances.

In determining whether an extension is reasonable, the Federal Court of Appeal stated in Information Commissioner of Canada v. Minister of National Defence that institutions “must make a serious effort to assess the required duration” of an extension taken under paragraph 9(1)(a). The estimated calculation must be “sufficiently rigorous, logic[al] and supportable to pass muster under reasonableness review,” and “an effort must be made to demonstrate the link between the justification advanced and the length of the extension taken.”

Further, as per the Court, a perfunctory estimate of the duration of the extension will not be sufficient to meet the test for reasonableness. Institutions must consider all relevant factors and establish a rational linkage between the requirements of paragraph 9(1)(a) and the length of the extension claimed.

Legal validity of the extension

In Information Commissioner of Canada v. Minister of National Defence, the Court concluded that “a deemed refusal arises whenever the initial 30-day time limit has expired without access being given, in circumstances where no legally valid extension has been taken.” The Court explained that if conditions described in paragraph 9(1)(a) are “not satisfied, the time is not validly extended, with the result that the 30-day time limit imposed by operation of section 7 remains the applicable limit.”

As a result of this decision, if the OIC finds that an extension is not valid, the request will be considered in deemed refusal pursuant to subsection 10(3) of the Act.

Notice of Right to Complain

Subsection 9(1) requires institutions to notify requesters, as part of the notice of extension, that the person has a right to make a complaint to the Commissioner about the extension. Complaints must be made within sixty days after the day on which the person receives the notice. 

Investigations

When the OIC has received a complaint about an extension, the institution will be notified of the complaint.

In cases where the investigation determined that the institution has responded to the request, the OIC will not pursue the investigation further and the complaint will be considered resolved.

Otherwise, institutions are responsible for demonstrating that all criteria under paragraph 9(1)(a) are met and that time extensions are substantiated. Detailed documentation assists the OIC in determining the validity of extensions during investigations. The factors listed in this notice are by no means exhaustive. They are intended to provide information on how the OIC may approach extension investigations.

Reasonable extension

The OIC will find the extension to be valid if:

  1. the institution has notified the requester about the extension within the required 30 days;
  2. the institution has satisfied all the criteria enumerated in paragraph 9(1)(a); and
  3. the length of the extension is reasonable having regard to the circumstances.

In such cases, a report of finding will be issued. The disposition will be not well-founded and the investigation will be closed.

Not a reasonable extension

The OIC will find the extension to be invalid if:

  1. the institution has not notified the requester within the required 30 days; or
  2. the institution has not satisfied all the criteria enumerated in paragraph 9(1)(a); and/or
  3. the length is not reasonable having regard to the circumstances.

In such cases, the OIC will obtain a disclosure date from the institution. The OIC will then assess the reasonableness of this disclosure date, in consultation with the requester.

Reasonable disclosure date provided by an institution:

  • The investigation will be put on hold until the disclosure date is met. Once the disclosure date has been met and the final response has been provided to the requester, a report of finding will be issued. The disposition will be well-founded, resolved and the investigation will be closed.
  • The investigation will be put on hold until the disclosure date is met. If the final response has not been provided to the requester by the disclosure date, a letter under section 37 of the Act will be sent to the head of the institution providing ten (10) days to issue the final response. If the response is sent within ten (10) days, a report of finding will be issued. The disposition will be well-founded, resolved and the investigation will be closed.

If the final response is not sent within ten (10) days, a report of finding will be issued, the disposition will be well-founded, not resolved and the investigation will be closed.

Judicial review by the Federal Court may be pursued either by the complainant or the OIC with the complainant’s consent.

No reasonable disclosure date provided by an institution:

  • The OIC will issue a letter to the head of the institution under section 37 of the Act formally recommending a disclosure date. The institution will then have ten (10) days to inform the OIC whether the Commissioner’s recommendation is accepted. If the institution accepts the date, the requester has the same options as described under “Reasonable disclosure date provided by an institution”, above.
  • If a reasonable disclosure date is not accepted by an institution after a formal recommendation from the OIC under section 37 of the Act, a report of finding will be issued, the disposition will be well-founded, not resolved and the investigation will be closed.

Judicial review by the Federal Court may be pursued either by the complainant or the OIC with the complainant’s consent.

Notification of extensions

Pursuant to subsection 9(2) of the Act, where an institution extends the time limit for more than 30 days under subsection 9(1), notice of the extension shall be given to the Information Commissioner at the same time notice is given to the requester.

The notification of extension to the OIC should include the following information:

  • Date of access request;
  • Date completed request is received by the institution;
  • Institution’s file number;
  • Text of the request;
  • Date extension notification sent to requester;
  • Reason under section 9 for extension (specify paragraph);
  • Length of extension; and
  • Notice of the right to complain to the OIC included.

Avis d’information

Prorogations de délai en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)a) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

22 juillet 2016

Le présent avis contient des directives à l’intention des institutions fédérales assujetties à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (la Loi) et des demandeurs qui veulent connaître la position du Commissariat à l’information du Canada (le Commissariat) concernant l’interprétation et l’application de l’alinéa 9(1)a) de la Loi. L’avis tient compte de la décision rendue par la Cour d’appel fédérale dans l’arrêt Commissaire à l’information du Canada c. Ministre de la Défense nationale, 2015 CAF 56.

L’avis a pour objet d’aider les fonctionnaires des diverses institutions et ceux du Commissariat à examiner et à rédiger les documents à l’appui des motifs justifiant les prorogations de délai dans le cadre des enquêtes. Des motifs pertinents qui nous serons transmis justifiant l’octroi d’une prorogation de délai permettra d’accélérer les enquêtes concernant les plaintes en la matière.

Le recours indu aux prorogations de délai est l’une des causes principales des retards dans les réponses aux demandes d’accès à l’information.

Prorogations de délai en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)a)

L’alinéa 9(1)a) de la Loi autorise les institutions fédérales à proroger le délai de 30 jours prévu pour répondre à une demande d’information lorsque la demande porte sur un grand nombre de documents demandés ou en raison de l’ampleur des recherches à effectuer pour donner suite à la demande et que l’observation du délai entraverait de façon sérieuse le fonctionnement de l’institution. Le Commissariat a relevé plusieurs problèmes ayant trait à l’interprétation des expressions « grand nombre de documents demandés », « ampleur des recherches à effectuer » et « entraverait de façon sérieuse le fonctionnement de l’institution ».

Déterminer le sens de l’expression « grand nombre de documents demandés »

Le Commissariat considère que 1 000 pages ou plus est un indicateur de référence d’un grand nombre de documents. Lorsque la demande concerne un nombre de page inférieur, les institutions doivent expliquer ce qu’elles entendent par un grand volume de documents. Bien que le nombre de pages soit un indicateur important du volume, le Commissariat peut évaluer les demandes de prorogation de délai sur une base plus large, au cas par cas, et en accordant de l’importance aux facteurs contextuels.

Dans le Rapport de mise en œuvre 67 (17 septembre 1999), le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor indiquait que le nombre moyen de documents qu’une institution traite normalement en 30 jours pouvait servir d’échelle pour déterminer ce qui constitue un grand nombre de documents. Bien qu’il puisse être pris en compte dans certains cas, ce facteur a peu de poids dans une enquête si le Commissariat estime que le rendement de l’institution est inférieur à la norme.

Déterminer le sens de l’expression « ampleur des recherches à effectuer »

Par le passé, les directives concernant l’ampleur des recherches à effectuer tendaient à se rapporter principalement au nombre de pages des documents papier. Aujourd’hui, même si une recherche électronique peut permettre de trouver rapidement des documents relatifs à un sujet, il faut malgré tout les examiner pour en évaluer la pertinence.

Les facteurs dont le Commissariat tient compte dans ses enquêtes sur les prorogations de délai pour évaluer l’ampleur des recherches à effectuer incluent, mais sans s’y limiter :

  • le format plus ou moins standard et à jour des documents [par exemple : la production du document exige l’utilisation d’un logiciel inusité ou d’un matériel désuet];
  • la mesure dans laquelle il est aisé d’examiner et d’évaluer la pertinence des documents [par exemple : dans le cas de volumineux imprimés d’ordinateur, l’examen d’une ou de deux pages peut permettre de trouver une méthode uniforme pour toutes les pages];
  • l’existence de demandes antérieures visant à obtenir les mêmes documents ou des documents analogues;
  • le nombre de systèmes de gestion de documents à consulter;
  • le nombre de fonctionnaires et de bureaux de première responsabilité (BPR) participant à la recherche;
  • l’accessibilité des documents [par exemple : documents dispersés un peu partout].

Déterminer le sens de l’expression « entraverait de façon sérieuse le fonctionnement de l’institution »

Le second volet du critère énoncé à l’alinéa 9(1)a) est de savoir si l’observation du délai de 30 jours entraverait de façon sérieuse le fonctionnement de l’institution. Les facteurs que le Commissariat examine dans ses enquêtes concernant les prorogations incluent, mais sans s’y limiter :

  • la nature et l’ampleur de l’entrave;
  • la mesure dans laquelle l’expertise du BPR est sollicitée au détriment de ses fonctions essentielles;
  • la mesure dans laquelle les ressources institutionnelles requises pour répondre à la demande entravent sérieusement le traitement d’autres demandes.

Le Commissariat ne considère pas le manque temporaire de ressources lié aux congés, aux congés personnels prolongés, aux pannes d’électricité ou aux événements spéciaux, etc., comme un argument valable pour justifier une prorogation de délai. De même, le manque chronique de ressources d’une institution ou un système de gestion des documents déficient n’est pas accepté pour justifier une prorogation de délai.

Cependant, le manque de ressources peut être pris en compte lors de certaines circonstances exceptionnelles, à juger au cas par cas. En pareils cas, le Commissariat pourrait exiger aux institutions visées de démontrer qu’elles s’efforcent de corriger leurs problèmes de ressources.

La durée de la prorogation doit être raisonnable compte tenu des circonstances

Si elle démontre que les conditions préalables ci-haut mentionnées sont remplies, l’institution doit de plus démontrer que la durée de la prorogation invoquée est raisonnable compte tenu des circonstances.

Dans l’arrêt Commissaire à l’information du Canada c. Ministre de la Défense nationale, la Cour d’appel fédérale a indiqué qu’au moment de déterminer si une prorogation est raisonnable, les institutions « doivent sérieusement s’employer à évaluer le délai requis » d’une prorogation invoquée en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)a). Le calcul estimatif doit être « suffisamment rigoureux, logique et soutenable pour tenir la route lors d’un examen de son caractère raisonnable », et « [il faut] s’efforcer de démontrer le lien entre la justification mise de l’avant et la durée de la prorogation [que l’institution] s’accorde ».

Par ailleurs, toujours selon la Cour, une estimation superficielle de la durée de la prorogation est insuffisante au regard du critère du caractère raisonnable. Les institutions doivent examiner tous les facteurs pertinents et établir un lien rationnel entre les exigences de l’alinéa 9(1)a) et la durée de la prorogation réclamée.

Validité juridique de la prorogation

Dans l’arrêt Commissaire à l’information du Canada c. Ministre de la Défense nationale, la Cour a conclu « à l’existence d’une présomption de refus chaque fois que le délai de 30 jours initial expire sans qu’il y ait communication, dans les cas où la prorogation n’est pas légalement valide ». La Cour a expliqué que si les conditions décrites à l’alinéa 9(1)a) « ne [sont] pas respectée[s], la prorogation de délai n’est pas valable et le délai de 30 jours imposé en application de l’article 7 demeure donc le délai applicable ».

Compte tenu de cette décision, si le Commissariat détermine qu’une prorogation n’est pas valide, la demande sera considérée être en situation de présomption de refus aux termes du paragraphe 10(3) de la Loi.

Avis du droit de se plaindre

Aux termes du paragraphe 9(1), l’institution doit envoyer au demandeur un avis de prorogation de délai, l’informant de son droit de déposer une plainte auprès du Commissariat. La plainte doit être déposée dans les soixante jours suivant la date de réception de l’avis.

Enquêtes

Lorsque le Commissariat reçoit une plainte concernant une prorogation, l’institution en est avisée.

Dans les cas où l’enquête a déterminé que l’institution a répondu à la demande, le Commissariat ne poursuivra pas l’enquête et la plainte sera considérée comme réglée.

Autrement, les institutions sont tenues de démontrer que tous les critères prévus à l’alinéa 9(1)a) sont remplis et que les prorogations de délai sont justifiées selon la Loi. Une documentation détaillée aidera le Commissariat à se prononcer sur la validité des prorogations lors de ses enquêtes. Les listes de facteurs énumérés dans cet avis ne sont nullement exhaustives; elles servent à indiquer comment le Commissariat peut aborder les enquêtes sur les prorogations.

Prorogation raisonnable

Le Commissariat conclut que la prorogation est légitime si:

  1. l’institution a avisé le demandeur de la prorogation dans le délai requis de 30 jours;
  2. l’institution a rencontré tous les critères énoncés à l’alinéa 9(1)a);
  3. la durée de la prorogation est raisonnable compte tenu des circonstances.

Dans ces cas, un rapport de conclusion est rendu. Le Commissariat considère donc la plainte comme étant non fondée et l’enquête est fermée.

Prorogation non raisonnable

Le Commissariat conclura à la non-validité de la prorogation si :

  1. l’institution n’a pas avisé le demandeur de la prorogation dans les 30 jours; ou
  2. l’institution n’a pas rempli tous les critères énoncés à l’alinéa 9(1)a); et/ou
  3. la durée de la prorogation n’est pas raisonnable compte tenu des circonstances.

Dans ces cas, le Commissariat obtiendra de l’institution une date de communication et en évaluera ensuite le caractère raisonnable, en consultation avec le demandeur.

L’institution propose une date raisonnable de communication

  1. L’enquête est suspendue jusqu’à la date de communication. Si la date de communication est respectée et que le demandeur a reçu une réponse finale à sa demande, un rapport de conclusion est émis. La plainte est classée comme étant fondée et réglée, ce qui met fin à l’enquête.
  2. L’enquête est suspendue jusqu’à la date de la communication. Si le demandeur n’a pas reçu de réponse finale à cette date, une lettre en vertu de l’article 37 de la Loi sera envoyée au responsable de l’institution lui accordant dix (10) jours pour donner une réponse finale. Si la réponse est transmise dans les dix (10) jours, un rapport de conclusion est émis. La plainte est classée comme étant fondée et réglée.

Si la réponse finale n’est pas transmise dans les dix (10) jours, un rapport de conclusion est émis. La plainte est classée fondée mais non réglée, ce qui met fin à l’enquête.

Un recours judiciaire peut être intenté devant la Cour fédérale par le plaignant ou par le Commissariat avec le consentement du plaignant

L’institution ne propose aucune date raisonnable de communication

  1. Le Commissariat envoie une lettre au responsable de l’institution en vertu de l’article 37 de la Loi recommandant formellement une date de communication des documents. L’institution dispose alors de dix (10) jours pour indiquer au Commissariat si elle accepte la recommandation du Commissaire. Le cas échéant, le demandeur dispose des mêmes options que celles décrites ci-dessus sous « L’institution propose une date raisonnable de communication ».
  1. Si l’institution n’accepte pas de date de divulgation raisonnable après que le Commissariat le lui a formellement recommandé en vertu de l’article 37 de la Loi, un rapport de conclusion sera émis, la plainte est classée comme fondée mais non réglée et l’enquête sera fermée.

Un recours judiciaire peut être intenté devant la Cour fédérale par le plaignant ou par le Commissariat avec le consentement du plaignant.

Notification des prorogations

En vertu du paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi, lorsque la prorogation de délai visée au paragraphe (1) dépasse 30 jours, le responsable de l’institution fédérale doit en aviser le Commissariat ainsi que le demandeur.

L’avis de prorogation au Commissariat devrait inclure les renseignements suivants :

  • la date de la demande;
  • la date à laquelle la demande complétée est parvenue à l’institution;
  • le numéro de dossier de l’institution;
  • le texte de la demande;
  • la date à laquelle l’avis de prorogation a été envoyé au demandeur;
  • la raison de la prorogation en vertu de l’article 9 (préciser l’alinéa);
  • la durée de la prorogation;
  • l’avis du droit de se plaindre au Commissariat.