Letter to the President of the Treasury Board on the Government's consultation on Action Plan 2.0 for the Open Government Partnership Initiative

September 19, 2014

The Honourable Tony Clement, P.C., M.P.
President of the Treasury Board and
Minister for the Federal Economic
Development Initiative for Northern Ontario
140 O’Connor Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0R5

 

Dear Minister:

I write to you in anticipation of the development of the Government of Canada’s Action Plan 2.0 for the Open Government Partnership initiative (OGP), and on the eve of Right to Know Week.

As Canada’s Information Commissioner, I recommend, as I did in 2012 and 2013, that the Government of Canada commit to modernizing the Access to Information Act (Act). This crucial commitment is the one element that must, in my view, be included in the Action Plan 2.0.

As you know, I fully support open government as a means for greater openness, accountability and transparency of governments. As illustrated in the 2010 Joint Resolution of Information and Privacy Commissioners of Canada on Open Government and the January 2012 letter recommending elements for the 1st action plan, I, along with my provincial and territorial colleagues, were early advocates of open government principles and recognized its value for Canada’s democracy. However, these principles cannot be achieved without a strong access to information law. Undertaking an in-depth reform of the legislation would clearly demonstrate the government’s commitment to the right of access as a central piece of the open government initiative.

To assist the government in this endeavour, I plan to table in Parliament a special report on modernizing the Act, which will take into account previous reviews of the Act, international norms and over 30 years of investigative experience.

As recommended by Dr. Mary Francoli in Canada’s Progress Report 2012-2013 from the Independent Report Mechanism of the OGP, the government should be prioritizing open government as a whole by giving it higher-level political support. During her appearance before the Standing Committee on Government Operations and Estimates on May 13, 2014, she stated “that open data is becoming privileged at the expense of other areas of open government and some of the other commitments that we have made in our OGP action plan to the international community and to Canadians.”

Essentially, it is imperative for the government to put the same energy and vision into access to information as it does for open data, otherwise, the open government initiative is fundamentally flawed. Without a strong access law, the government cannot achieve its stated objectives to foster transparency and accountability.

I look forward to reading and commenting on the proposed Action Plan 2.0 with the hope that the Government of Canada will commit to reforming the Access to Information Act.  

Yours sincerely,

 

Suzanne Legault

Information Commissioner of Canada

Lettre au président du Conseil du Trésor dans le cadre de la consultation sur le plan d'action du Canada pour le gouvernement ouvert 2.0

Le 19 septembre 2014

 

L'honorable Tony Clement, C.P., député
Président du Conseil du Trésor et
Ministre responsable de l'Initiative fédérale de développement 
économique dans le nord de l'Ontario
140, rue O'Connor
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0R5

Monsieur le Ministre,

Je vous écris en prévision de l’élaboration par le Gouvernement du Canada de son plan d'action 2.0 pour l'initiative Partenariat pour un gouvernement transparent (PGT), et à l’aube de la Semaine du droit à l’information.

En tant que Commissaire à l’information du Canada, je recommande, comme je l’ai fait en 2012 et 2013, que le Gouvernement du Canada s’engage à moderniser la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (Loi). Cet engagement essentiel constitue, selon moi, l’engagement qui doit être absolument inclus dans le plan d’action 2.0.

Comme vous le savez, j’appuie entièrement le gouvernement ouvert comme un véhicule permettant une plus grande ouverture, ainsi qu'une responsabilisation et une transparence plus importantes de la part des gouvernements. J’ai, de concert avec mes homologues provinciaux et territoriaux, très tôt défendu les principes du gouvernement ouvert et reconnu son importance pour la démocratie canadienne, comme les témoigne la résolution conjointe sur la transparence gouvernementale de 2010 et la lettre envoyée en janvier 2012 présentant nos recommandations pour le premier plan d'action. Cependant, ces principes ne peuvent être atteints sans une loi sur l’accès à l’information rigoureuse. Le gouvernement reconnaitrait clairement le rôle central du droit à l’information dans l’initiative de gouvernement ouvert en s’engageant à entreprendre une refonte en profondeur de la Loi.

Au soutien de ces efforts, je planifie déposer au Parlement un rapport spécial sur la modernisation de la Loi qui tiendra compte des révisions législatives passées, des normes internationales et de plus de 30 ans d’expérience en enquête.

Selon la recommandation faite par le Dr Mary Francoli dans son Rapport d'étape 2012-13 du Canada (en anglais seulement), dans le cadre du Système de rapports indépendants du PGT, le gouvernement devrait prioriser le gouvernement ouvert dans son ensemble en lui accordant un soutien politique d'un niveau plus élevé. Lors de sa comparution devant le Comité permanent des opérations gouvernementales et des prévisions budgétaires le 13 mai 2014, la Dr Francoli a fait part de la préoccupation suivante : « c'est que les données ouvertes soient désormais privilégiées aux dépens d'autres aspects relatifs au gouvernement ouvert et d'autres engagements que nous avons pris dans le cadre de notre premier plan d'action du [PGT], envers les Canadiens et sur la scène internationale ».

Il est essentiel pour le gouvernement d’accorder autant d'énergie à l’accès à l'information qu'aux données ouvertes, et à les voir de la même façon. Autrement, l’initiative du gouvernement ouvert est foncièrement imparfaite. Sans une loi rigoureuse, le gouvernement ne peut rencontrer les objectifs poursuivis de favoriser la transparence et la reddition des comptes.

J’attends de lire avec intérêt le second plan d’action, et de vous faire part de mes commentaires sur ce dernier, en espérant que le Gouvernement du Canada s’engagera à modifier la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.

 

Suzanne Legault

Commissaire à l’information du Canada