4. Engaging with stakeholders

The Commissioner uses a variety of venues to work with partners and interested parties to help bolster the case for freedom of information in Canada and to promote the development of a leading access system. During 2012–2013, we made considerable use of our website and social media platforms such as Twitter to provide information to interested stakeholders and also to gather their views on access to information in Canada. With the benefit of this input, the Commissioner can offer to Parliament her unique and comprehensive perspective on national and international developments in the world of access to information. This, in turn, allows Parliament to carry out useful oversight of the access to information system in Canada.

Open dialogue on access to information

On Right to Know Day, September 28, 2012, the Commissioner launched a dialogue with Canadians about modernizing the federal access to information system—following in the footsteps of her predecessors and on the occasion of the 30th anniversary of the Access to Information Act.

The once state-of-the art legislation has fallen behind legislative innovations at the provincial and international levels. In the absence of any legislatively mandated review, the law has remained static; most calls for reform have not borne fruit. The Act is a quasi-constitutional piece of legislation that confers duties on government and ascribes rights to citizens. Legislation of this nature must continue to evolve.

In initiating the dialogue, we sought feedback on a variety of issues, including limits to the right of access and a possible awareness and education mandate for the Commissioner. We also asked specific questions about long-time concerns about the Act, such as the scope and coverage of the legislation and the potential role of penalties to respond to instances of non-compliance.

The consultation, which ran until January 31, 2013, yielded submissions from 44 groups and individuals—including two petitions with nearly 1,500 signatures—representing a broad spectrum of opinion and interest in access to information, both in Canada and internationally. We are analyzing the feedback, along with previous studies and recommendations for reform. This input, together with the in-depth knowledge gained from our investigations, will allow us to provide our unique and fully formed view on how the Act should be amended at this juncture and the benefits such changes would bring to transparency and accountability in the federal sphere. We will issue our reform proposals to Parliament in the fall of 2013.

Right to Know

To mark Right to Know Week, the Commissioner participated in a Twitter Chat on access to information issues and was a guest on CBC journalist Kady O’Malley’s weekly hour-long Web –based discussion with Canadians about the political issues of the day.

We also announced the winner of the second annual Grace-Pépin Access to Information Award.Darrell Evans of Vancouver was recognized for his many years of dedication and hard work to advancing the principles of access to information both in his home province and across Canada. The award is named in recognition of the contributions of John Grace, former Information Commissioner of Canada, and Marcel Pépin, President and founder of the Commission d’accès à l’information du Québec. The award will next be presented during Right to Know Week in September 2013.

Parliamentary activities

In 2012–2013, the Commissioner issued four reports to Parliament: her reports on access to information and privacy activities for 2011–2012, her 2011–2012 annual report, and two reports on the results of multi-institution investigations into institutions’ overall performance. Each of these reports provides perspective to Parliament on our oversight role in the access to information system and our work to uphold the principles and right of access at the federal level. Our website contains a table of other Parliamentary activities—namely, bills, motions and other business—that has had or may have an impact on access to information in general and the Access to Information Act in particular.

Complementing these reports was an appearance by the Commissioner before the House of Commons Standing Committee on Procedure and House Affairs on November 22, 2012. This appearance was an opportunity for the Commissioner to contribute to the committee’s study of access to information and parliamentary privilege. This work was prompted by an access request to the Office of the Auditor General for records about the appearance of the Auditor General before parliamentary committees in 2012 and a subsequent application by the House of Commons for the Federal Court to review the institution’s proposed release of the records.

During her remarks to the Committee, the Commissioner noted that the Access to Information Act currently does not address the issue of parliamentary privilege, which raises a number of practical concerns (see box, below). In light of this gap, the Commissioner recommended that the best way to protect requesters’ rights, and to ensure transparency, accountability and effective oversight, would be to amend the Act to cover the administrative records under the control of Parliament while adding a specific exemption to deal with parliamentary privilege.

In its report, released in March 2013, the committee noted that there was some validity to the suggestion of amending the Act for the sake of clarity. However, the committee did not ultimately recommend such a step, since it would infringe on parliamentary privilege. Instead, committee members suggested classifying parliamentary information into various categories (public and accessible records, in camera records, those neither public nor in camera, and those prepared for parliamentary proceedings but never submitted), depending on whether they could be released to the public. The government’s response to this report is expected in 2013–2014.

Five issues at the intersection of access to information and Parliamentary privilege

  1. In the absence of a specific statutory provision for parliamentary privilege under the Act, there is currently no obligation for government institutions to consult Parliament prior to making a disclosure decision. This means that there is no way for Parliament to know whether information that could be protected under parliamentary privilege is being identified as such or released.
  2. There is no process for government institutions to determine who has the authority to invoke or waive parliamentary privilege.
  3. In the face of an assertion of parliamentary privilege, government institutions are faced with a dilemma because there are no specific exemptions or exclusions dealing with parliamentary privilege under the Act.
  4. If the assertion of parliamentary privilege is the basis for not releasing information to a requester, is the decision to refuse disclosure by a government institution a valid one under the Act?
  5. If the assertion of parliamentary privilege is the basis for not releasing information to a requester but the government institution uses other exemptions or exclusions to withhold the information, what is the impact on the requester’s rights? Would this information have been provided to the requester in the absence of the assertion? How does this impact on transparency and the ability of my office to effectively review government decisions to withhold information?

—Information Commissioner Suzanne Legault before the House of Commons Standing Committee on Procedure and House Affairs, November 22, 2012

4. Mobilisation des intervenants

La commissaire utilise toute une série d’endroits ou d’événements pour collaborer avec des partenaires et des parties intéressées à l’avancement des principes d’accès à l’information au Canada, et pour promouvoir l’élaboration d’un système d’accès de premier plan. En 2012-2013, le Commissariat a très largement utilisé son site Web et les plateformes de médias sociaux comme Twitter pour fournir de l’information aux intervenants intéressés, et pour recueillir leur opinion au sujet de l’accès à l’information au Canada. À l’aide de ces commentaires, la commissaire peut communiquer au Parlement son point de vue unique et complet en matière de développements nationaux et internationaux ayant trait à l’accès à l’information. Et cela permet donc au Parlement d’assurer une surveillance utile du système d’accès à l’information au Canada.

Dialogue ouvert sur l’accès à l’information

Lors de la Journée du droit à l’information célébrée le 28 septembre 2012, la commissaire a engagé le dialogue avec les Canadiens sur la modernisation du système fédéral d’accès à l’information, emboîtant ainsi le pas de ses prédécesseurs, et profitant du 30e anniversaire de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Cette loi avant-gardiste au moment de son adoption est maintenant dépassée sur le plan de l’innovation législative, par rapport à la situation qui a cours à l’échelle tant provinciale qu’internationale. À défaut d’examen prescrit par la loi, la Loi sur l’accès à l’information est demeurée statique, la plupart des demandes de réforme n’ayant pas porté leurs fruits. La Loi est un élément du corpus législatif à caractère quasi constitutionnel qui confère des obligations au gouvernement et attribue des droits aux citoyens. Une loi de cette nature doit continuer d’évoluer.

En instaurant le dialogue, le Commissariat a demandé l’opinion du public sur diverses questions, notamment sur les limites du droit d’accès et sur un éventuel mandat du Commissariat en matière de sensibilisation et de promotion. Il a aussi posé des questions précises sur des préoccupations à long terme concernant la Loi, telles que la portée et le champ d’application des dispositions législatives et le rôle potentiel des pénalités dans les cas de non-conformité.

Cette consultation, qui s’est déroulée jusqu’au 31 janvier 2012, a permis de réunir les commentaires de la part de 44 groupes et individus, y compris deux pétitions ayant recueilli près de 1 500 signatures, ce qui représente un large éventail d’opinions et d’intérêts à l’égard de l’accès à l’information au Canada et sur le plan international. Le Commissariat analyse actuellement les commentaires ainsi que les études et recommandations antérieures en matière de réforme. Cette contribution, conjuguée aux connaissances approfondies fondées sur les enquêtes qu’il a menées, permettra au Commissariat de partager ses vues uniques et éclairées sur la façon dont la Loi devrait être modifiée à ce stade-ci et les avantages que ces changements apporteraient quant à la transparence et à la responsabilisation au sein de l’administration fédérale. Le Commissariat présentera ses propositions de réforme au Parlement à l’automne 2013.

Droit à l’information

Pour marquer la Semaine du droit à l’information, la commissaire a participé à une séance d’échange de microbillets [échanges sur Twitter] sur les questions d’accès à l’information et elle était invitée par Kady O’Malley, journaliste à CBC, pour la séance de discussion en ligne hebdomadaire d’une heure avec les Canadiens sur les enjeux politiques du moment.

Le Commissariat a aussi dévoilé le nom du lauréat de la deuxième édition annuelle du prix Grace-Pépin de l’accès à l’information.Le lauréat, Darrell Evans, de Vancouver, a été récompensé pour son engagement de longue date et son travail acharné dans la défense des principes de l’accès à l’information, tant dans sa province que dans les diverses régions du Canada. Le prix Grace-Pépin a été nommé ainsi pour témoigner de l’apport de M. John Grace, ancien commissaire à l’information du Canada, et de M. Marcel Pépin, président-fondateur de la Commission d’accès à l’information du Québec. Le prochain prix sera remis au cours de la Semaine du droit à l’information qui aura lieu en septembre 2013.

Activités parlementaires

En 2012-2013, la commissaire a présenté quatre rapports au Parlement : son rapport sur l’accès à l’information et la protection des renseignements personnels pour 2011-2012, son rapport annuel 2011-2012, et deux rapports sur les résultats des enquêtes pluri-institutionnelles sur le rendement général des institutions. Chaque rapport présente au Parlement un aperçu du rôle de surveillance du Commissariat dans le système d’accès à l’information, et de ses activités visant à faire respecter les principes et le droit d’accès à l’échelon fédéral. Dans le site Web du Commissariat, un tableau répertorie des activités parlementaires, à savoir des projets de loi, des motions ou autre, qui ont eu ou qui pourraient avoir une incidence sur l’accès à l’information en général et sur la Loi sur l’accès à l’information en particulier.

En complément de la présentation des rapports, la commissaire à l’information a prononcé une allocution devant le Comité permanent de la procédure et des affaires de la Chambre des communes le 22 novembre 2012. Cette comparution a donné à la commissaire l’occasion de contribuer à l’étude sur l’accès à l’information et le privilège parlementaire. Cette étude a été suggérée à la suite d’une demande d’accès faite au Bureau du vérificateur général du Canada pour les documents concernant la comparution du vérificateur général devant les comités parlementaires en 2012, et d’une demande subséquente de la Chambre des communes pour que la Cour fédérale examine la divulgation des documents proposée par l’institution.

Au cours de son allocution devant le Comité, la commissaire a fait remarquer qu’à l’heure actuelle, la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ne traite pas le problème lié au privilège parlementaire, ce qui soulève un certain nombre de préoccupations pratiques (voir l’encadré ci-dessous). Par conséquent, la commissaire a déclaré que le meilleur moyen de protéger les droits des demandeurs, et d’assurer la transparence, la responsabilisation et une surveillance efficace, serait de modifier la Loi pour qu’elle s’applique aux documents administratifs relevant du Parlement et qu’elle comporte une exception précise relative au privilège parlementaire.

Dans son rapport publié en mars 2013, le Comité a indiqué que la suggestion de modifier la Loi dans un souci de clarté était valable. Cependant, en fin de compte, le comité n’a pas recommandé une telle mesure, car cela constituerait une infraction au privilège parlementaire. Les membres du Comité proposent plutôt de catégoriser les informations parlementaires selon la possibilité de les mettre à la disposition du public (documents publics et accessibles, documents à huis clos, documents ni publics ni à huis clos, et ceux préparés pour les procédures parlementaires mais qui n’ont jamais été soumis). La réponse du gouvernement concernant ce rapport est attendue pour 2013-2014.

Cinq questions soulevées par la convergence entre l’accès à l’information et le privilège parlementaire

  1. Comme la Loi ne contient pas de disposition précise sur le privilège parlementaire, rien n’oblige actuellement les institutions gouvernementales à consulter le Parlement avant de prendre une décision sur la divulgation. Cela signifie que le Parlement n’a aucun moyen de savoir si des renseignements qui pourraient être protégés par le privilège parlementaire sont identifiés comme tels ou dévoilés.
  2. Il n’y aucun processus qui permet aux institutions gouvernementales de déterminer qui a le pouvoir d’invoquer le privilège parlementaire ou d’y renoncer.
  3. Face à une revendication du privilège parlementaire, les institutions gouvernementales se retrouvent dans un dilemme, car la Loi ne prévoit aucune exception ou exclusion précise qui porte sur le privilège parlementaire.
  4. Si la revendication du privilège parlementaire constitue la raison invoquée pour ne pas divulguer des renseignements à un demandeur, la décision de refuser de divulguer des renseignements prise par une institution gouvernementale est-elle valide en vertu de la Loi?
  5. Si la revendication du privilège parlementaire constitue la raison invoquée pour ne pas divulguer des renseignements à un demandeur, mais si l’institution gouvernementale se prévaut d’autres exceptions ou exclusions pour retenir des renseignements, quel est l’effet de cette décision sur les droits du demandeur? S’il n’y avait pas eu revendication du privilège, les renseignements auraient-ils été communiqués au demandeur? Quel en est l’effet sur la transparence et la capacité de mon bureau de revoir efficacement les décisions gouvernementales de retenir des renseignements?

—Allocution de Suzanne Legault, commissaire à l’information, devant le Comité permanent de la procédure et des affaires de la Chambre des communes; le 22 novembre 2012.