Complaints and investigations

Under the Access to Information Act, anyone who makes a request for information to a federal institution and is dissatisfied with the response or the way it was handled has the right to complain to us.

We receive complaints in three broad categories.

Administrative complaints

  • Extensions: The institution extended the time it required to process the request.
  • Delays: The institution failed to provide access to the information within the time limit set out in the Act.
  • Fees: The fee the institution proposed to charge was unreasonable.
  • Miscellaneous complaints (e.g. that the institution did not provide the information in the requester’s official language of choice).

Refusal complaints

  • Exemptions: The institution withheld the records under specific provisions of the Act. For instance, the information relates to the safety of individuals, national security or commercial interests, or the records contain personal information or will be published within 90 days.
  • No records: The institution found no documents relevant to the request.
  • Incomplete response: The institution did not release all the records that matched the request.
  • Excluded information: The institution did not disclose information that is excluded from the Act, such as publications, or library or museum material.

Cabinet confidence exclusion complaints

  • Access to records refused: The institution did not disclose a document that contains a Cabinet confidence, which is excluded from the Act.

The Act requires that we investigate all the complaints we receive. Consequently, we have little control of our workload. Nonetheless, our investigations must be thorough, unbiased and conducted in private. Although there is no deadline in the law for when we must complete our investigations, we strive to carry them out as quickly as possible to help ensure requesters’ fundamental right to access to government information and to help ensure the overall health of the access to information system. This includes reviewing the records at issue, providing institutions the opportunity to make representations, seeking representations from the complainant and, when necessary, making formal recommendations to the heads of institutions before reporting the results of our investigations.

The Commissioner has broad investigative powers and a wide range of tools at her disposal to successfully resolve complaints, including mediation. In fact, it is through mediation that we successfully conclude 99 percent of our investigations. When informal methods of resolving a complaint fail and an institution does not follow our recommendations on disclosure of information, the Commissioner or the complainant may ask the Federal Court to review an institution’s decision to withhold information.

Plaintes et enquêtes

En vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, toute personne qui demande de l’information à une institution fédérale et qui n’est pas satisfaite de la réponse, ou de la façon dont la demande a été traitée, peut porter plainte auprès du Commissariat.

Les plaintes adressées au Commissariat se répartissent en trois grandes catégories.

Plaintes administratives

  • Prorogations : L’institution a prolongé le temps dont elle a besoin pour traiter la demande.
  • Retards : L’institution n’a pas communiqué l’information dans les délais prévus par la Loi.
  • Frais à acquitter : Les frais exigés par l’institution étaient déraisonnables.
  • Plaintes diverses (p. ex. l’institution n’a pas fourni l’information dans la langue officielle demandée).

Plaintes de refus

  • Exceptions : L’institution a soustrait de la communication les documents demandés, en vertu de dispositions précises de la Loi. Par exemple, l’information concerne la sécurité de personnes, la sécurité nationale ou des intérêts commerciaux, les documents renferment des renseignements personnels, ou l’information sera publiée dans les 90 jours à venir.
  • Aucun document : L’institution n’a pas trouvé de documents relatifs à la demande.
  • Réponse incomplète : L’institution n’a pas transmis tous les documents qu’elle devait communiquer relativement à la demande.
  • Information exclue : L’institution n’a pas divulgué de l’information qui est exclue de l’application de la Loi, comme des publications, ou des documents de bibliothèque ou de musée.

Plaintes relatives aux exclusions applicables aux documents confidentiels du Cabinet

  • Accès aux documents refusé : L’institution n’a pas communiqué un document qui contient de l’information confidentielle du Cabinet, car la Loi ne s’applique pas à ce type de documents.

En vertu de la Loi, le Commissariat doit enquêter sur toutes les plaintes qu’il reçoit. Pour cette raison, le Commissariat a peu de contrôle sur sa charge de travail. Néanmoins, ses enquêtes doivent être approfondies, impartiales et menées en privé. Même si la Loi ne prévoit pas de délais pour terminer ses enquêtes, le Commissariat s’efforce de mener celles-ci le plus rapidement possible afin d’assurer le droit fondamental de l’accès à l’information du gouvernement pour les demandeurs et la santé générale du système d’accès à l’information. Cela comprend l’examen des documents en cause, la possibilité pour les institutions de présenter leurs observations, l’obtention d’observations de la part du plaignant et, lorsqu’il y a lieu, la présentation de recommandations officielles aux responsables des institutions avant de communiquer les résultats des enquêtes du Commissariat.

La commissaire est investie de vastes pouvoirs d’enquête et possède une large gamme d’outils qui lui permettent de régler les plaintes, y compris la médiation. En fait, le Commissariat réussit à conclure 99 pour cent de ses enquêtes par la voie de la médiation. Lorsque les méthodes informelles de résolution d’une plainte n’aboutissent pas et qu’une institution ne donne pas suite aux recommandations du Commissariat de communiquer de l’information, la commissaire ou le plaignant peut demander à la Cour fédérale du Canada d’examiner la décision d’une institution de retenir des renseignements.