Who we are and what we do

The Information Commissioner of Canada is appointed under the Access to Information Act, Canada’s freedom of information legislation. Canada’s current Commissioner, Suzanne Legault, began her seven-year term on June 30, 2010, after serving one year as Interim Commissioner.

The Commissioner reviews complaints made by requesters who believe that federal institutions have not respected their rights under the Act. The Commissioner is supported in her work by the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC), an independent public body set up in 1983 under the Access to Information Act.

The OIC conducts efficient, fair and confidential investigations into complaints about federal institutions’ handling of access to information requests. We also bring cases to the Federal Court to clarify the law.

The Commissioner also promotes access to information in Canada through ongoing dialogue with Parliament, institutions and Canadians, and through initiatives such as Right to Know Week.

The three pillars of our 2011–2014 strategic plan guide our work:

  • Provide leadership and expertise to reverse the declining trends in timeliness and disclosure of public sector information, in order to develop a leading access to information regime.
  • Deliver exemplary service to Canadians by conducting efficient, fair and confidential investigations and effectively address issues of non-compliance with the legislation.
  • Create an exceptional workplace.

Our mission

Defend and protect the public’s right of access to public sector information by conducting efficient, fair and confidential investigations, by providing expert advice to Parliament, and by advocating transparency to ensure government accountability and citizens’ participation in democracy.

Our vision

Canadians benefit from a leading access to information regime that values public sector information as a national resource, that is recognized for its state-of-the-art legislative framework, and that upholds information rights to ensure government transparency, accountability and citizen engagement.

Our values

Excellence: Serve with competence, efficiency and diligence

Leadership: Champion efforts to modernize access to information

Integrity: Act with reliability, impartiality and honesty

Respect: Demonstrate courtesy, fairness and collaboration

Our organization

The OIC is funded through annual appropriations from Parliament. Three quarters of our budget is allocated to salaries. As of March 31, 2013, we counted a workforce of 89 full-time equivalents.

The OIC’s organizational structure is shown in the diagram below.

Text Version

This organizational chart shows the titles of the three senior officials at the Office of the Information Commissioner who report to the Information Commissioner: General Counsel and Director, Legal Services; Assistant Commissioner, Complaints Resolution and Compliance; and Director General, Corporate Services. Each title is enclosed in a box and these are displayed in a row below the box for the Information Commissioner above. The boxes are connected by single lines.

Legal Services represents the Commissioner in court and provides legal advice on investigations, and legislative and administrative matters. It closely monitors the range of cases having potential litigation ramifications. It also provides investigators with reference tools on the evolving technicalities of the case law.

The Complaints Resolution and Compliance Branch investigates complaints about the processing of access requests, conducts dispute resolution activities and makes formal recommendations to institutions, as required.

Corporate Services provides strategic corporate leadership in the areas of human resources and financial management, communications, internal audit, and information management and technology. It conducts our relations with, among others, Parliament, governments and the media. It also manages our access to information and privacy function.

Qui nous sommes et ce que nous faisons

Le commissaire à l’information du Canada est nommé en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, qui régit l’accès à l’information au Canada. La présente commissaire à l’information du Canada, Mme Suzanne Legault, a débuté son mandat de sept ans le 30 juin 2010, après avoir été commissaire par intérim pendant un an.

La commissaire enquête sur les plaintes déposées par les demandeurs qui estiment que les droits que leur confère la Loi, en matière d’accès à l’information, ne sont pas respectés par les institutions fédérales. La c‎ommissaire est soutenue dans ses fonctions par le Commissariat à l’information (Commissariat), un organisme public indépendant créé en 1983 en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Le Commissariat enquête de manière efficace, équitable et confidentielle sur les plaintes déposées contre les institutions fédérales concernant leur façon de traiter les demandes d’accès à l’information. Il renvoie également des affaires à la Cour fédérale du Canada en vue de faire préciser la loi.

La commissaire fait aussi la promotion de l’accès à l’information au Canada par la voie d’un dialogue permanent avec le Parlement, les institutions fédérales et les Canadiens, et au moyen d’initiatives telles que la Semaine du droit à l’information.

Les trois piliers du plan stratégique 2011-2014 du Commissariat orientent les travaux du Commissariat :

  • Offrir une direction et une expertise afin de renverser les tendances à la baisse concernant la rapidité de traitement et la divulgation des données du secteur public afin de mettre en place un régime d’accès à l’information de premier plan.
  • Offrir une prestation de service exemplaire en menant des enquêtes efficaces, justes et confidentielles, et remédier efficacement aux questions de non-respect de la loi.
  • Créer un milieu de travail exceptionnel.

Notre mission

Défendre et protéger le droit du public d’accéder à l’information du secteur public en menant des enquêtes efficaces, équitables et confidentielles, en fournissant des avis éclairés au Parlement et en préconisant la transparence pour assurer la reddition de comptes de la part du gouvernement et la participation des citoyens à la démocratie.

Notre vision

La population canadienne bénéficie d’un régime d’accès à l’information de premier plan, qui valorise l’information du secteur public comme une ressource nationale, qui comprend un cadre législatif des plus modernes et qui fait respecter le droit à l’information afin d’assurer la transparence gouvernementale, la reddition de comptes et la participation des citoyens.

Nos valeurs

Excellence : Servir avec compétence, efficience et diligence

Influence : Soutenir les efforts visant à moderniser l’accès à l’information

Intégrité : Agir de manière fiable, impartiale et honnête

Respect : Faire preuve de courtoisie, d’équité et de collaboration

Notre organisation

Le Commissariat est financé à même les crédits annuels alloués par le Parlement. Les trois quarts de son budget sont consacrés aux salaires. Au 31 mars 2013, le Commissariat comptait un effectif de 89 équivalents temps plein.

La structure organisationnelle du Commissariat à l’information est présentée ci-dessous.

Version texte

Cet organigramme présente le titre de trois hauts fonctionnaires du Commissariat à l'information qui relèvent de la commissaire à l'information : avocate générale et directrice, Services juridiques; commissaire adjointe, Règlement des plaintes et respect de la loi; directrice générale, Services organisationnels. Chaque titre est présenté dans une case, et ces cases sont disposées sur une ligne sous la case réservée à la commissaire à l'information. Les cases sont reliées entre elles par une ligne simple.

Les Services juridiques représentent la commissaire devant les tribunaux et offrent des conseils juridiques relativement aux enquêtes ainsi qu’aux questions législatives et administratives. Ils suivent de près une gamme de dossiers comportant des risques de litige. Ils offrent aussi aux enquêteurs des outils de référence concernant les subtilités de la jurisprudence et leur évolution.

La Direction du règlement des plaintes et respect de la Loi enquête sur les plaintes de particuliers concernant le traitement des demandes d’accès, mène des activités de règlement des différends et formule des recommandations officielles à l’intention des institutions, au besoin.

Les Services organisationnels assurent un leadership stratégique et institutionnel en ressources humaines, en gestion financière, en communications, en vérification interne ainsi qu’en technologie et en gestion de l’information. Ils dirigent les relations du Commissariat avec, entre autres, le Parlement, les gouvernements et les médias. Cette direction gère aussi les programmes d’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels du Commissariat.