Response from Treasury Board President

Ms. Suzanne Legault
Information Commissioner of Canada
Place de Ville, Tower B, 22 Floor
112 Kent Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 1H3

Dear Ms. Legault:
Thank you for your letter dated April 8, 2013 and enclosures regarding your concerns about the information management practices of federal organizations that are being wound down or amalgamated with another institution.

As you know, the management of information in the Government of Canada is undertaken in accordance with the Library and Archives Canada Act and a suite of policy instruments such as the Policy on Information Management. These instruments and their obligations continue to be applicable during times of transition.
When an institution ceases to exist, the information is managed in accordance with the Library and Archives Canada Act which states that, ʻʻ the Librarian and Archivist shall have the care and control of all records of a government institution whose functions have ceased ˮ.

When institutions are amalgamated, the existing Records Disposition Authorities, as issued by Library and Archives Canada, survive and continue to apply within the new organization. The new organization typically continues to be subject to the Access to Information Act and Privacy Act. More specifically, where the amalgamated institution is a department as defined in Section 2 of the Financial Administration Act, such as the situation with Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada and Canadian International Development Agency, it continues to be bound by the Access to Information Act, the Privacy Act and Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat policies on information management, recordkeeping, access to information and privacy for all its information holdings.

The Government of Canada continues to be committed to ensuring that Canadians can access information about their government`s activities and decisions in an open, comprehensive and timely manner including in times of transition such as those you raise in your letter. In my reply, I have copied the acting Librarian and Archivist of Canada, Mr. Hervé Dery, in the event you wish to follow up with him as well.

Again, thank you for writing.
Yours sincerely,

Original signed by

The Honourable Tony Clement, P.C., M.P.

cc.: Mr. Hervé Dery, acting Librarian and Archivist of Canada
Ms. Yaprak Baltacıoğlu, Secretary of the Treasury Board o f Canada

Réponse du président du Conseil du trésor

Madame Suzanne Legault
Commissaire à l’information
Commissariat à l’information du Canada
Place de Ville, Tour B, 22e étage
112, rue Kent
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 1H3

Madame,
Je vous remercie pour la lettre et les pièces jointes que vous m’avez envoyées le 8 avril 2013 afin de faire part de vos préoccupations quant aux pratiques de gestion de l’information des organisations fédérales qui cessent leurs activités ou sont fusionnées à une autre institution.

Comme vous les savez, la gestion de l’information au gouvernement du Canada s’effectue conformément à la Loi sur la Bibliothèque et les Archives du Canada et à un ensemble d’instruments de politique, comme la Politique sur la gestion de l’information. Ces instruments et les obligations qu’ils énoncent continuent de s’appliquer en période de transition.

Lorsqu’une institution cesse ses activités, l’information qu’elle détient est gérée conformément à la Loi sur la Bibliothèque et les Archives du Canada, qui stipule que « [l’] administrateur général a […] la garde et la responsabilité des documents des institutions fédérales qui ont cessé leurs activités ».
Lorsque des institutions sont fusionnées, les autorisations de disposition des documents existantes émises par Bibliothèque et Archives Canada persistent et continuent de s’appliquer pour la nouvelle organisation. La nouvelle organisation reste également assujettie à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Plus précisément, lorsque l’institution née de la fusion constitue un ministère au sens de l’article 2 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, comme c’est le cas de l’institution créée à la suite de la fusion d’affaire étrangère et Commerce international Canada et de l’Agence canadienne de développement international, les fonds de renseignements de celle-ci demeurent visées par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les politiques du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada sur la gestion de l’information, la tenue de documents, l’accès à l’information et la protection des renseignements personnels.

Le gouvernement du Canada reste déterminé à veiller à ce que la population ait ouvertement accès à des renseignements exhaustifs concernant les activités et les décisions du gouvernement, et ce, en temps opportun, y compris en période de transition. J’espère avoir répondu aux préoccupations soulevées dans votre lettre. Je transmets par ailleurs une copie de cette réponse à Monsieur Hervé Dery, bibliothécaire et archiviste du Canada par intérim, au cas où vous souhaitez effectuer un suivi auprès de lui.

Encore une fois, je vous remercie de m’avoir écrit et je vous prie d’agréer, Madame, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Original signé par

L’honorable Tony Clement, c.p., deputé

cc.:       Monsieur Hervé Déry, Bibliothécaire et archiviste du Canada par intérim
Madame Yaprak Baltacıoğlu, Secrétaire du Conseil du Trésor du Canada