Our Structure

The Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada has three branches:

The Complaints Resolution and Compliance Branch carries out investigations and dispute resolution efforts to resolve complaints. It assesses the performance of federal institutions and conducts systemic investigations.

  • The Intake and Early Resolution Unit was introduced as part of the Office's efforts to strengthen and streamline its complaints-handling process to eliminate its historical backlog of cases and to improve service to Canadians and federal institutions. It carries out the initial assessment of complaints; establishes the order of priority and prepares files for investigation; investigates more straightforward complaints, usually administrative in nature; and tries to reach a solution that satisfies both the complainant and the institution. The unit is an integral component of the Office's case management model.

  • The Complaints Resolution Team is responsible for the investigation of complaints from individuals and organizations who believe that federal government institutions covered by the Access to Information Act have not complied with their access to information obligations, under the Act. This team investigates complaints submitted by complainants after April 1, 2010. Complaints may be submitted where Institutions refuse the release of information and/or apply specific and/or partial exemptions and/or exclusions under the Act. The mandate of this unit is to provide thorough, unbiased and private investigations with respect to these types of complaints.

  • The Strategic Case Management Team was created in November 2008 to address the inventory of complaints predating April 1, 2008. Based on the strategies and approaches recommended by the multi-disciplinary Inventory Assessment Team struck in October 2008, complaints in the inventory are being investigated with a view to eliminating the inventory.

The Corporate Services Branch provides guidance and advice to senior management on strategic issues.

  • The Access to Information and Privacy Secretariat is responsible processing all requests for information pursuant to the Access to Information and Privacy Acts.

  • The Human Resources Unit * (*provided by TPSGC Shared HR Services) oversees all aspects of human resources management and provides advice to managers and employees on human resources issues.

  • The Information Management and Technology Unit is responsible for organizing and managing a variety of services and initiatives in information management and for providing technology support and direction for the entire Office.

  • The Public Affairs Unit manages the Office's external relations with the public, media, government and Parliament.

  • The Strategic Planning, Finance and Administration Unit provides strategic and corporate leadership in areas of financial management, internal audit, and security.

The Legal Services Branch represents the Commissioner in court cases and provides legal advice on investigations, and legislative and administrative matters.

This organizational chart shows the titles of the three senior officials at the Office of the Information Commissioner who report to the Information Commissioner: General Counsel and Director, Legal Services; Assistant Commissioner, Complaints Resolution and Compliance; and Director General, Corporate Services. Each title is enclosed in a box and these are displayed in a row below the box for the Information Commissioner above. The boxes are connected by single lines.

View Text Description

This organizational chart shows the three branches at the Office of the Information Commissioner who report to the Information Commissioner: Complaints Resolution and Compliance; Corporate Services; and Legal Services. Each title is enclosed in a box and these are displayed in a row below the box for the Information Commissioner above. The boxes are connected by single lines.

Notre structure

Le Commissariat à l'information du Canada compte trois directions :

La Direction du règlement des plaintes et respect de la Loi mène des enquêtes et des activités de règlement des différends en vue de résoudre les plaintes. Elle conduit des analyses de rendement des institutions et des enquêtes systémiques.

  • L'Unité de réception et de règlement rapide a été lancée dans le cadre des efforts déployés par le Commissariat pour simplifier et consolider son processus de traitement des plaintes, afin d'éliminer l'arriéré chronique de dossiers et d'améliorer le service offert à la population canadienne et aux institutions fédérales. Elle effectue l'évaluation initiale des plaintes, établit l'ordre de priorité et prépare les dossiers en vue de l'enquête, enquête sur les plaintes les plus simples, souvent de nature administrative, et tente d'en arriver à un règlement qui satisfasse à la fois le demandeur et l'institution. Cette unité fait partie intégrante du modèle de gestion des dossiers du Commissariat.
  • L'Équipe de règlement des plaintes est responsable d'enquêter sur les plaintes déposées par des particuliers et des organisations qui estiment que les institutions fédérales assujetties à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information n'ont pas respecté leurs obligations selon la Loi. Cette équipe enquête sur les plaintes reçues après le 1er avril 2010. Des plaintes peuvent être déposées lorsque les institutions refusent de communiquer l'information ou invoquent les exceptions spécifiques ou limitées ou encore les exclusions en vertu de la Loi. Le mandat de cette unité est d'enquêter sur les plaintes reçues de façon approfondie, impartiale et anonyme
  • L'Équipe de gestion stratégique des dossiers a été créée en novembre 2008 pour traiter les plaintes reçues avant le 1er avril 2008 qui n'avaient pas encore été réglées. Ces plaintes sont traitées en fonction des stratégies et des méthodes recommandées par l'Équipe multidisciplinaire d'évaluation de l'inventaire, qui a été constitué en octobre 2008 dans le but d'éliminer l'inventaire.

La Direction des services organisationnels fournit une orientation et des conseils à la haute direction face aux enjeux stratégiques.

  • Le Secrétariat de l'Unité d'accès à l'information et à la protection de la vie privée est responsable de traiter toutes les demandes d'information conformément à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.
  • L'Unité des Affaires publiques gère les relations externes du Commissariat avec le public, les médias, le gouvernement et le Parlement.
  • L'Unité de la gestion de l'information et de la technologie est responsable d'organiser et de gérer les divers services et initiatives en matière de gestion de l'information et d'offrir une orientation et un soutien technologique à l'ensemble du Commissariat.
  • L'Unité de la planification stratégique, finances et administration fournit un leadership stratégique et institutionnel pour ce qui est de la gestion financière, de la vérification interne et de la sécurité.
  • L'Unité Ressources humaines* (*fournis par les Services partagés TPSGC en ressouces humaines) supervise tous les aspects de la gestion des ressources humaines et offre des conseils aux gestionnaires et aux employés sur les questions concernant les ressources humaines.

La Direction des services juridiques représente la commissaire dans les affaires judiciaires et offre des conseils juridiques sur les enquêtes et les questions législatives et administratives.

Notre structure

Description texte

Cet organigramme présente les trois directions du Commissariat à l’information qui relèvent de la commissaire à l’information : Règlement des plaintes et respect de la loi; Services organisationnels; et Services juridiques. Chaque titre est présenté dans une case, et ces cases sont disposées sur une ligne sous la case réservée à la commissaire à l’information. Les cases sont reliées entre elles par des lignes simples.