Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada

Internal Audit Charter

1. Introduction

The following constitutes the Internal Audit Charter of the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) and is based on the Joint Agreement between Agents of Parliament and the Treasury Board Secretariat (TBS), the 2017 Treasury Board Policy on Internal Audit and the Institute of Internal Auditors’ International (IIA) Standards for the Professional Practice of Internal Auditing.

This Internal Audit Charter replaces the previous version adopted in 2009 by the Audit and Evaluation Committee.

2. Purpose of the Internal Audit and the Internal Audit Function

By definition, an internal audit is an independent and objective assurance activity designed to add value and improve the OIC’s operations. Internal audit helps to improve the OIC’s operations and targeted objectives by bringing a systematic, disciplined approach to evaluate and add value to the processes of:

  • Effective and efficient risk management;
  • Control frameworks and their systems monitoring; and
  • Governance and oversight.

Assurance refers to an auditor’s professional judgment about the appropriateness of his or her conclusions on risk management, control, and governance. Accordingly, the level of assurance is the level of confidence that auditors have in the appropriateness of their conclusions. As indicated in IIA standard 1000.A1, "the nature of assurance services provided to the organization must be defined in the internal audit charter."

3. Mission and Scope of Internal Audit Function

The mission of the internal audit function is to enhance and protect organizational value by providing risk-based and objective assurance, advice, and insight to the OIC and insure that it is meeting its objectives by improving the effectiveness of governance, risk management, and the control processes.

Scope

The scope of work of the internal audit function encompasses, but is not limited to, determining whether the OIC’s network of risk management, control, and governance processes, as designed and represented by management, is adequate and achieves its intended objectives. The OIC’s network should function in a manner that ensures the following:

  • Risks are appropriately identified and managed;
  • Significant financial, managerial and operating information is accurate, reliable and timely;
  • Activities and actions are in compliance with policies, standards, procedures and applicable acts and regulations;
  • Resources are acquired economically, used efficiently and protected adequately;
  • Programs, plans and objectives are achieved;
  • Quality and continuous improvement are fostered in the department’s control process; and
  • Significant legislative or regulatory issues impacting the department are recognized and addressed properly.

When opportunities for improving management control, sound resource stewardship, and the OIC’s image are identified during audits, they will be communicated to the audit and evaluation committee (AEC).

Please refer to the OIC Audit Committee Charter for responsibilities of the AEC.

4. Accountability

The Chief Audit Executive (CAE)

The CAE, in the discharge of his or her duties, is accountable to the Commissioner for:

  • Preparing a report annually for the Commissioner and the AEC addressing internal audit’s independence, proficiency, performance and results relative to its plan including resource utilization, lessons learned and influences on future years’ plans;
  • Reporting significant issues related to the processes for controlling the OIC’s activities, including potential improvements to those processes, and provide information concerning such issues through resolution;
  • Providing information periodically on the status and results of the annual audit plan and the sufficiency of internal audit resources; and
  • Coordinating with and providing oversight of other assurance control and monitoring functions (risk management, evaluation, compliance, security, legal, ethics, environmental and external audit).

5. Independence And Objectivity

To provide for the independence of the internal audit function, its personnel report to the CAE, who reports directly to the Commissioner. To ensure objectivity and independence, any audits of functions for which the CAE has responsibility (such as evaluation, ethics, etc.) will be performed by either an external auditor or by a contracted third party. For further details, consult the IIA Standard on independence and objectivity (IIA Standard 1100 – Independence and Objectivity).

6. Responsibility

The CAE is responsible for developing a flexible annual audit plan using appropriate risk-based methodology. The plan is to ensure that it incorporates any risks or control concerns identified by management or external auditors.

7. Authority

The Commissioner shall ensure that the CAE is authorized to:

  • Have unrestricted access to all records, databases, workplaces and employees to carry out the risk-based audit plan or other engagements and have the authority to obtain related information and explanations from individuals employed by the OIC and contractors;
  • Attend the meetings or have full and free access to the departmental audit committee and to the committee chair and other external members;
  • Obtain the necessary assistance of personnel in units of the OIC where they perform audits: and
  • Have unimpaired ability to carry out their responsibilities, including reporting findings to the Commissioner, to the AEC and, as appropriate, to the Comptroller General.

The CAE is not authorized to be responsible for investigation of wrong doing and identification of potential fraud activities.

The Commissioner is responsible for all aspects of internal audit in the OIC, including:

  • Ensuring that internal audit in the department is carried out in accordance with the Institute of Internal Auditors’ International Professional Practices Framework unless the framework is in conflict with this policy or its related directive; if there is a conflict, the policy or directive will prevail;
  • Informing the Comptroller General of Canada, without delay, of any risk, control or governance issues that may require the involvement of the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat;
  • Ensuring that a formal response is provided to the recommendations arising from internal audit engagements and that actions are assigned and implemented in a timely manner; and
  • Investigating and acting when significant issues regarding policy compliance arise and ensuring that appropriate remedial action is taken to address these issues within the OIC.
  • Approving reports on the results of internal audit engagements;
  • Supporting the professional development and certification of internal auditors at the OIC;
  • Establishing an independent AEC that includes a majority of external members who are not currently in the federal public service;
  • Appointing a Chief Audit Executive (CAE), reporting to the Commissioner, to lead and direct Internal Audit;
  • Approving the OIC’s Risk Based Audit and Evaluation Plan that addresses all areas of higher risk and significance. The plan should also include individual internal audit engagements as well as being designed to support separate annual assurance overview reporting by the CAE on risk management, control and governance processes.
  • Ensuring that the AEC receives all of the information and documentation needed or requested to fulfill its responsibilities, subject to applicable legislation;
  • Ensuring that the IIA Function and their agents, for the purposes of carrying out assigned responsibilities, are given full access to OIC’s records, databases, workplaces and employees, and have the right to obtain information and explanations from OIC’s employees, subject to applicable legislation.

8. Approvals

Approved on January 11, 2018, by:

Suzanne Legault
Information Commissioner of Canada

Dyane Adam
Chair, Audit and Evaluation Committee

David Rattray
External Member

Commissariat à l’information du Canada

Charte de vérification interne

1. Introduction

Ce qui suit constitue la Charte de vérification interne du Commissariat à l’information du Canada et est fondé sur l’entente conjointe entre les hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement et le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (SCT), la Politique sur l’audit interne du Conseil du Trésor 2017 et les Normes internationales pour la pratique professionnelle de l’audit interne de l’Institut des vérificateurs internes (IIA).

La présente charte de vérification interne remplace la version précédente adoptée en 2009 par le Comité de vérification et d’évaluation (CVÉ).

2. Objet de la vérification interne et de la fonction de vérification interne

Par définition, la vérification interne est une activité d’assurance indépendante et objective, conçue pour ajouter de la valeur aux activités du Commissariat et les améliorer. La vérification interne contribue à améliorer les activités et les objectifs ciblés du Commissariat en lui offrant une approche méthodique et rigoureuse pour évaluer les processus ci-après et leur donner de la valeur :

  • Gestion efficace et efficiente du risque;
  • Cadres de contrôle et surveillance des systèmes;
  • Gouvernance et surveillance.

On entend par assurance le jugement professionnel du vérificateur sur le caractère approprié de ses conclusions sur la gestion des risques, le contrôle et la gouvernance. Le degré d’assurance correspond donc au degré de confiance des vérificateurs à l’égard du bien-fondé de leurs conclusions. Tel qu’il est indiqué dans la norme 1000.A1 de l’IIA, « la nature des missions d’assurance réalisées pour l’organisation doit être définie dans la charte d’audit interne ».

3. Mission et portée de la fonction de vérification interne

La fonction de vérification interne a pour mission d’améliorer et de protéger la valeur organisationnelle en offrant une assurance, des conseils et des opinions objectifs fondés sur le risque au Commissariat et de veiller à l’atteinte de ses objectifs en améliorant l’efficacité des processus de gouvernance, de contrôle et de gestion des risques.

Portée

La portée du travail de la fonction de vérification interne consiste à déterminer si, au Commissariat, le réseau des processus de gestion des risques, de contrôle et de gouvernance, conçu et mis en œuvre par les gestionnaires, est adéquat et s’il atteint les objectifs prévus. Le réseau du Commissariat doit fonctionner de manière à assurer ce qui suit :

  • la détermination et la gestion des risques sont appropriées;
  • les renseignements importants sur les finances, la gestion et les activités sont exacts, fiables et fournis en temps opportun;
  • les activités et les mesures sont conformes aux politiques, aux normes, aux procédures et aux lois et règlements applicables;
  • les ressources sont obtenues de façon économique, utilisées avec efficience et protégées comme il se doit;
  • les programmes et les plans sont menés à terme et les objectifs sont atteints;
  • les processus de contrôle du Ministère favorisent la qualité et l’amélioration continue;
  • les problèmes importants de nature législative ou réglementaire qui touchent le Ministère sont décelés et réglés de façon appropriée.

Lorsque les vérifications feront ressortir des possibilités d’améliorer le contrôle de gestion, la saine intendance des ressources et l’image du Commissariat, ces possibilités seront communiquées au CVÉ.

Veuillez consulter la page Charte du Comité de vérification du Commissariat pour connaître les responsabilités du CVÉ.

4. Responsabilisation

Dirigeant principal de la vérification

Dans l’exercice de ses fonctions, le dirigeant principal de la vérification (DPV) doit rendre compte des activités suivantes à la commissaire :

  • préparer un rapport chaque année pour la commissaire et le CVÉ qui traite de l’indépendance, du professionnalisme, du rendement et des résultats de la vérification interne par rapport au plan établi, notamment en ce qui concerne l’utilisation des ressources, les enseignements retenus et les répercussions sur les plans des années futures;
  • faire rapport sur les grandes questions liées aux mécanismes de contrôle des activités du Commissariat, y compris les possibilités d’améliorer ces mécanismes, et fournir des renseignements dans ce domaine au moyen de résolutions;
  • fournir régulièrement de l’information sur l’évolution et les résultats du plan de vérification annuel et sur le caractère suffisant des ressources en matière de vérification interne;
  • assurer la coordination et la surveillance des autres fonctions d’assurance, de contrôle et de surveillance (gestion des risques, évaluation, conformité, sécurité, services juridiques, éthique, vérifications environnementale et externe).

5. Indépendance et objectivité

Pour garantir l’indépendance de la fonction, le personnel de la vérification interne fait rapport au DPV, qui fait directement rapport à la commissaire. Aux fins d’objectivité et d’indépendance, les vérifications de fonctions qui relèvent de la responsabilité du DPV (notamment l’évaluation, l’éthique, etc.) seront effectuées par un vérificateur externe ou par un tiers entrepreneur. Pour obtenir plus de détails, consultez la Norme de l’IIA sur l’indépendance et l’objectivité (Norme de l’IIA 1100 – Indépendance et objectivité).

6. Responsabilité

Il incombe au DPV d’élaborer un plan de vérification annuel flexible au moyen d’une méthode appropriée axée sur le risque. Le plan vise à s’assurer qu’il inclut tout risque ou toute préoccupation concernant le contrôle cerné par la direction ou par les vérificateurs externes.

7. Autorité

La commissaire s’assure que le DPV est autorisé :

  • à avoir librement accès à tous les dossiers, bases de données, lieux de travail et employés dans le contexte de l’exécution du plan de vérification axé sur le risque ou d’autres missions, et à obtenir de l’information et des explications pertinentes auprès des employés et entrepreneurs du Commissariat;
  • à assister aux réunions et à communiquer librement avec le comité de vérification ministériel, ainsi qu’avec la présidente et les autres membres externes;
  • à obtenir l’aide nécessaire auprès du personnel dans les unités du Commissariat où des vérifications sont effectuées;
  • à pouvoir s’acquitter librement de ses responsabilités, y compris rendre compte de ses constatations à la commissaire, au CVÉ et, s’il y a lieu, au contrôleur général.

Le DPV n’est pas autorisé à se charger d’enquêter tout acte répréhensible et de relever les activités de fraude potentielles.

La commissaire est responsable de tous les aspects de la vérification interne du Commissariat, y compris :

  • veiller à ce que la vérification interne au sein du Ministère soit effectuée conformément au cadre de référence international des pratiques professionnelles de l’IIA, sauf si le cadre va à l’encontre de cette politique ou de la directive connexe. Dans ce cas, la politique ou la directive ont préséance;
  • informer sans tarder le contrôleur général du Canada de tout problème lié au risque, au contrôle ou à la gouvernance qui pourrait nécessiter l’intervention du SCT;
  • veiller à ce qu’une réponse officielle soit formulée à la suite des recommandations découlant des missions de vérification interne et que des mesures de suivi soient attribuées et mises en œuvre en temps opportun;
  • enquêter et agir lorsque des questions importantes liées à la conformité à cette politique se présentent et s’assurer que les mesures correctives appropriées sont prises pour régler ces questions au Commissariat;
  • approuver les rapports sur les résultats des missions de vérification interne;
  • favoriser le perfectionnement professionnel et la certification des vérificateurs internes du Commissariat;
  • former un CVÉ indépendant composé d’une majorité de membres externes qui ne font actuellement pas partie de la fonction publique fédérale;
  • nommer un DPV, qui rend compte à la commissaire et qui est chargé de diriger la vérification interne;
  • approuver le plan de vérification et d’évaluation axé sur le risque du Commissariat, qui porte sur tous les aspects importants et présente des risques élevés. Le plan doit également comporter des missions individuelles de vérification interne ainsi que des missions visant à étayer le rapport annuel distinct d’assurance globale du DPV sur les processus de gestion des risques, de contrôle et de gouvernance;
  • s’assurer que le CVÉ reçoit toute l’information et la documentation nécessaires ou requises pour assumer ses responsabilités en respectant la législation applicable;
  • afin qu’ils puissent assumer les responsabilités qui leur sont affectées, veiller à ce que les agents responsables de la fonction de vérification interne aient un accès complet aux dossiers, bases de données, lieux de travail et employés du Commissariat et à ce qu’ils aient le droit d’obtenir de l’information et des explications des employés du Commissariat, en fonction de la législation applicable.

8. Approbations

Approuvée le 11 janvier 2018 par :

Suzanne Legault
Commissaire à l’information du Canada

Dyane Adam
Présidente, Comité de vérification et d’évaluation

David Rattray
Membre de l’extérieur