Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada: Audit Committee Terms of Reference

The Audit Committee provides the Commissioner with independent, objective advice, guidance, and assurance on the adequacy of the risk management, control, and accountability processes. To be able to do this, the Audit Committee must exercise active oversight of core areas of the Office’s control and accountability in an integrated and systematic way1.

The Audit Committee contributes to advancing the organization’s management practices by bringing new perspectives and challenge to existing practices. The Committee’s success is founded on being internally focused, developing respectful relationships with management, and operating in a manner that promotes learning.

Audit Committee membership

Composition

The Audit Committee for the Office of the Information Commission will comprise a Chairperson (external member), a second external member, and the Information Commissioner.

Regular attendance of the Chief Audit Executive (CAE), the Chief Financial Officer (CFO), the Assistant Commissioner CRC, the Director of Internal Audit and Planning is expected. In addition, a senior representative of the Office of the Auditor General (OAG) will attend Committee meetings as an invitee, on an “as needed” basis, to discuss plans, findings and other matters of mutual concern. Functional specialists must also be invited to attend meetings as observers. Secretariat support will be provided by the Director, Internal Audit and Planning, who will also act as Secretary to the Committee.

Tenure and terms of office

An external member shall serve no more than two terms. A full term of office is four years. To ensure continuity within the Audit Committee, engagement of members by the Commissioner can be staggered. This means that the initial term of office of some members may be less than four years.

Audit Committee meetings

Frequency

The Audit Committee shall meet in person three times a year with authority to convene additional meetings as circumstance require, including teleconference. The Committee’s meeting schedule will normally be set out one year in advance so that the Office’s management and auditors can prepare the information and reports required to support the Committee’s work. Rescheduling of Committee meetings will be by exception only.

The Chair is required to call a meeting if requested to do so by another Audit Committee member.

Quorum

The quorum for a meeting shall be all three decision-making members (the Chair, the other external member and the Commissioner). No alternates shall be permitted.

Preparation and attendance by members

To enhance the effectiveness of the Audit Committee’s meetings, each member shall:

  • devote the time needed to prepare for and participate in each meeting by reading the reports and background materials provided for the meeting; and

Minutes of meetings

Minutes of each meeting shall be kept and shall contain a record of the persons present. The minutes provide a record of decisions taken and a high-level summary of the discussion, providing insight on the topics and subtopics discussed.

In-camera meetings

It is expected that each meeting of the Audit Committee include a series of in camera meetings with i) CAE, ii) the OAG Principal when in attendance, and iii) management as required. In-camera meetings are included on every Audit Committee meeting agenda to ensure that sufficient time is set aside for them2.

Operations

Access by/to the Audit Committee

The Audit Committee has unfettered access to the CAE, Director of Internal Audit and CFO and to other Office employees and documentation (subject to applicable legislation) as may be required to fulfil its responsibilities.

The CAE, Director of Internal Audit and CFO have unfettered access to the Audit Committee and to the Audit Committee Chair and Vice-Chair.

Plan for Audit Committee activity

The Chair of the Audit Committee shall help preparing a plan to ensure that the annual and ongoing responsibilities of the Audit Committee are scheduled and fully addressed. The plan shall be presented to the Audit Committee for its approval3.

Audit Committee orientation, training, and continuing education

The role of the Audit Committee can be fulfilled only if its members are well informed. Members shall receive formal orientation and training on the Audit Committee’s purpose, responsibilities, and objectives as well as the business of the Office including its programs and services. A process of continuing education—e.g., briefings and information on emerging issues and risks—shall also be put in place.

Support to the Audit Committee

The Internal Audit Secretariat will provide the Audit Committee with the resources necessary to carry out its role, responsibilities, and duties. In doing so, the Secretariat will be cognizant of the independent nature of the Committee.

Secretariat support will include, but not be limited to:

  • timely preparation of all notices and agendas of meetings
  • coordination of presentations and distribution of reports and/or related documents that are prepared for the Audit Committee’s information or consideration
  • timely preparation and distribution of minutes of meetings
  • management of the orientation and training process, including on-going briefings and information sessions

In addition, to the extent it deems necessary to meet its responsibilities, the Audit Committee has the authority to retain independent advice and assistance with the Commissioner’s prior approval. In that regard, the Internal Audit Secretariat will make the appropriate arrangements to ensure that the required expertise is obtained.

Responsibilities and duties

The role, responsibilities, and operations below are based on the expected end-state, but will be transitioned over the next two years.

The key areas of responsibility that shall be addressed by the Audit Committee are:

Values and Ethics 

  • Review, at least annually, and report on the arrangements established by management to exemplify and promote public service values and to ensure compliance with laws, regulations, policies and standards of ethical conduct.

Risk Management 

  • Review, at least annually, and report on the corporate risk profile and the Office risk management arrangements.

Management Control Framework 

  • Review, at least annually, and report on the Office internal control arrangements, including the adequacy of management-led audit.

Internal Audit Function 

  • Recommend and regularly review, the Office Internal Audit Charter or Internal Audit Policy for approval by the Commissioner
  • Regularly review the adequacy of resources of the internal audit function
  • Review and recommend for approval the risk assessment and the internal audit plan prepared by the CAE
  • Regularly review the performance of the internal audit function
  • Receive and recommend for approval internal auditing reports and management action plans to address recommendations
  • Be aware of audit engagements or tasks that do not result in a report to the Committee, and be informed of all matters of significance arising from such work

OAG, the Panel, and the appropriate Standing Committees of the House of Commons  

  • Ensure that management has adequate arrangements to support the OAG in doing audit work in the Office
  • Be fully briefed on all audit work relating to the Office to be undertaken by the OAG, and other organizations
  • Review the audit reports of the OAG and other organizations, as applicable, that have Office or government-wide implications, and recommend for approval appropriate responses and action plans
  • Meet, as required, with the OAG and seek its comments and advice on matters of risk, control, and governance for the Office
  • Be briefed on, and advise the Commissioner on, the impact of government-wide initiatives to improve management practices

Follow-up on Management Action Plans 

  • Ensure that there are effective arrangements in place to monitor and follow-up on management action plans responding to recommendations from internal audits, the OAG, or other organizations, as applicable
  • Periodically receive reports from management on actions taken

Financial Statements and Public Accounts Reporting 

  • Review the Office financial statements with management and all significant accounting estimates and judgments therein and recommend to the Commissioner whether they should be accepted.
  • When the Office financial statements are audited, the Audit Committee, shall review:
    • the audited financial statements with the external auditor and senior management, and discuss any significant adjustments to the statements required as a result of the audit, and any difficulties or disputes with management encountered in the course of the audit
    • management letters arising from the external audit of the Office’s financial statements or the Public Accounts
    • the auditor's findings and recommendations relating to the internal controls in place for financial statement reporting
    • the performance of the external auditor

Risk and Accountability Reporting 

  • Review the following to ensure that, to the best of its knowledge, there are no material misstatements or omissions in:
    • the Office Corporate Risk Profile
    • the Report on Plans and Priorities
    • the Departmental Performance Report
    • other significant accountability reports

Assessment of the Audit Committee’s performance

Audit Committee self-assessment

The Audit Committee will periodically self-assess its performance. In doing so, the Committee address fundamental questions such as: 1) Is the Committee satisfied that it has effectively discharged its responsibilities as set out in the Charter?; 2) Has the Committee contributed to the advancement of management practices? and, 3) How can the Committee improve its operating efficiency and effectiveness?

External practice inspection

At least every four years, the performance of the Audit Committee will be subject to an external assessment.

Reporting by the Audit Committee 

The Audit Committee shall prepare an annual report to the COMMISSIONER. This report shall:

  • summarize the Audit Committee’s activities undertaken and the results of its reviews
  • provide the Audit Committee’s assessment of the Office’s system of internal controls
  • document any significant concerns the Audit Committee may have in relation to the Office’s risk management, controls, and accountability processes
  • provide the Audit Committee’s assessment of the capacity and performance of the internal audit function
  • provide, as needed, recommendations for the improvement of risk management, controls, and accountability processes, including recommendations for the improvement of the Office’s internal audit function
  • provide such other information or documentation that the Audit Committee deems important to best convey a fair and complete picture of its activity and results - and the context within which this ought to be viewed (e.g. it is good practice for the Audit Committee to disclose or include its Charter in its annual report).

Review of the Audit Committee terms of reference

The Audit Committee shall review periodically the appropriateness of its Charter, for reaffirmation by the Commissioner.

1 See Section 4.1 - Directive on Departmental Audit Committees

2 Regular scheduling of in camera meetings with the auditors makes them less threatening to management, while providing an excellent opportunity for the auditor to communicate privately and candidly with the committee. Similarly, they provide the committee with the opportunity for candid questioning of and private discussions with the auditor. This process is an excellent relationship-building device. (Source: Integrity in the Spotlight, 2nd Ed, 2005, M.J. Sabia and J.L. Goodfellow.

3 The work plan should include regular matters that come before the committee in accordance with its Terms of Reference, and any other matters of significant concern or interest that the Chairman, management and/or the auditor believe the committee should be aware of and should discuss during the period for which the plan is being created. (Source: Integrity in the Spotlight, 2nd Ed, 2005, M.J. Sabia and J.L. Goodfellow)

Date modified:

Commissariat à l’information du Canada : mandat du Comité de vérification

Le Comité de vérification fournit au commissaire des conseils et des directives indépendants et objectifs et une assurance de la pertinence des mécanismes de contrôle et des processus de reddition de comptes et de gestion des risques. Afin d’assurer ce soutien au commissaire, le Comité de vérification doit exercer, d’une manière intégrée et systématique, une surveillance active des principaux secteurs de contrôle et de responsabilisation au sein du Commissariat.

Le Comité de vérification contribue à faire avancer les pratiques de gestion de l’organisme en apportant de nouvelles perspectives et de nouveaux défis aux pratiques courantes. Le succès du comité est fondé sur le fait qu’il est concentré sur les activités à l’interne, qu’il noue des relations respectueuses avec la direction et qu’il fonctionne tout en faisant la promotion de l’apprentissage.

Membres du Comité de vérification

Composition

Le Comité de vérification du Commissariat à l’information comportera un président (membre externe), un second membre externe et le commissaire à l’information.

On s’attend à ce que le chef de la vérification interne, le directeur principal des finances (DPF), le commissaire adjoint (CRP), et le directeur de la vérification interne et de la planification assistent régulièrement aux réunions. De plus, un représentant principal du Bureau du vérificateur général (BVG) assistera aux réunions du Comité à titre d’invité, en cas de besoin seulement, pour discuter des plans et des constatations et de toutes autres questions d’intérêt commun. Des experts fonctionnels doivent aussi être invités à assister aux réunions à titre d’observateurs. Un soutien administratif sera fourni par la directrice de la vérification interne et de la planification, qui agira aussi comme secrétaire du comité.

Durée du mandat

Un membre externe ne peut effectuer plus de deux mandats. Un mandat complet dure quatre ans. Pour assurer la relève à l’intérieur du Comité de vérification, le renouvellement des membres par le commissaire peut se faire graduellement. Cela signifie que le premier mandat de certains membres pourrait être de moins de quatre ans.

Réunions du Comité de vérification

Fréquence

Le Comité de vérification devrait se réunir en personne trois fois par année, et a le pouvoir de convoquer des réunions supplémentaires, selon les circonstances, y compris des téléconférences. Le calendrier des réunions du Comité devra normalement être établi une année à l’avance pour que les gestionnaires et les vérificateurs du Commissariat puissent préparer l’information et les rapports requis afin de soutenir le travail du Comité. On ne changera la date d’une réunion du Comité que dans des circonstances exceptionnelles.

Le président devra convoquer une réunion si un autre membre du Comité de vérification lui en fait la demande.

Quorum

Le quorum d’une réunion doit comporter les trois membres décisionnaires (le président, l’autre membre externe et le commissaire). Aucun remplaçant n’est permis.

Préparation et présence des membres

Pour augmenter l’efficacité des réunions du Comité de vérification, chaque membre doit :

  • Prendre le temps nécessaire pour se préparer et participer à chaque réunion en faisant la lecture des rapports et de la documentation fournis en prévision de la réunion.

Procès-verbaux des réunions

Le procès-verbal de chaque réunion doit être conservé et doit contenir un registre de toutes les personnes présentes. Le procès-verbal fournit un compte rendu des décisions prises et un résumé de haut niveau de la discussion, ce qui donne un aperçu des sujets et des sous-sujets traités.

Réunions à huis clos

Chaque réunion du Comité de vérification devrait comprendre une série de réunions à huis clos avec (i) le CVI, (ii) le directeur du BVG lorsqu’il est présent, et (iii) la direction, si nécessaire. Les réunions à huis clos sont comprises dans l’ordre du jour de chaque réunion du Comité de vérification. De cette façon, on s’assure que suffisamment de temps y est accordé.

Opérations

Accès du Comité de vérification

Le Comité de vérification a la liberté absolue de consulter le CVI, le directeur de la vérification interne et le DPF, ainsi que tout autre employé et documentation du Commissariat (sous réserve des lois applicables), dont il juge nécessaire pour s’acquitter de ses responsabilités.

Le CVI, le Directeur de la vérification interne et le DPF ont la liberté absolue de consulter le Comité de vérification et les président et vice-président du Comité de vérification.

Plan de l’activité du Comité de vérification

Le président du Comité de vérification doit aider à préparer le plan pour s’assurer que les responsabilités annuelles et permanentes du Comité de vérification sont au programme et pleinement examinées. Le plan doit être soumis à l’approbation du Comité de vérification.

Orientation, formation et apprentissage continu du Comité de vérification

Le rôle du Comité de vérification ne peut être accompli que si les membres sont bien informés. Les membres doivent recevoir une orientation et une formation officielles sur la raison d’être, les responsabilités et les objectifs du Comité de vérification, ainsi que sur les affaires du Commissariat, y compris ses programmes et services. Un processus d’apprentissage continu — par exemple, de l’information et des séances d’information sur les risques et les enjeux émergents — devrait aussi être mis en place.

Soutien au Comité de vérification

Le secrétariat de la vérification interne fournira les ressources nécessaires pour que le Comité de vérification s’acquitte de son rôle, de ses responsabilités et de ses fonctions. Ce faisant, le secrétariat sera conscient de la nature indépendante du Comité.

Le soutien du secrétariat comprendra, sans s’y limiter :

  • la préparation en temps opportun de tous les avis et les ordres du jour des réunions;
  • la coordination des exposés et la distribution des rapports et/ou des documents connexes qui sont préparés aux fins d’information ou de prise en compte du Comité de vérification;
  • la gestion du processus d’orientation et de formation, y compris les instructions et les séances d’information continues.
  • la préparation et la distribution en temps opportun des procès-verbaux des réunions;

De plus, s’il le juge nécessaire pour s’acquitter de ses responsabilités, le Comité de vérification a le pouvoir de solliciter un avis et une assistance indépendants avec, au préalable, l’approbation du commissaire. À cet égard, le secrétariat de la vérification interne prendra les arrangements nécessaires pour s’assurer que l’expertise requise est obtenue.

Responsabilités et fonctions

Le rôle, les responsabilités, et les opérations ci-dessous sont fondés sur le but ultime, mais seront modifiés au cours des deux prochaines années.

Les principaux domaines de responsabilité qui seront examinés par le Comité de vérification sont :

Valeurs et éthique 

  • Examen, au moins à chaque année, des mesures prises par la direction pour personnifier les valeurs de la fonction publique et en faire la promotion, et pour s’assurer de la conformité avec les lois, les règlements, les politiques et les normes de l’éthique, et rapport connexe.

Gestion du risque 

  • Examen, au moins à chaque année, du profil de risque organisationnel et des mesures de gestion du risque du Commissariat, et rapport connexe.

Cadre de contrôle de la gestion 

  • Examen, au moins à chaque année, des mécanismes de contrôle interne du Commissariat, y compris la pertinence de la vérification menée par la direction, et rapport connexe.

Fonction de vérification interne 

  • Recommander et examiner régulièrement la Charte de vérification interne du Commissariat ou la Politique sur la vérification interne pour obtenir l’approbation du commissaire.
  • Examiner régulièrement les ressources de la fonction de vérification interne pour déterminer si elles sont adéquates.
  • Examiner le plan d’évaluation du risque et de vérification interne préparé par le CVI et en recommander l’approbation.
  • Examiner régulièrement le rendement de la fonction de vérification interne.
  • Recevoir les rapports de vérification interne et les plans d’action de la direction pour donner suite aux recommandations, et en recommander l’approbation.
  • Être informé des tâches et des missions de vérification dont on n’a pas fait état dans un rapport au Comité et être au courant de tout problème découlant de tels travaux.

Le BVG, le Comité consultatif et les comités permanents appropriés de la Chambre des communes  

  • S’assurer que la direction a pris des dispositions adéquates pour soutenir le BVG dans son travail de vérification au Commissariat.
  • Être pleinement informé de tout travail de vérification lié au Commissariat qui doit être entrepris par le BVG et d’autres organismes.
  • Examiner les rapports de vérification du BVG et d’autres organismes, le cas échéant, qui ont des responsabilités auprès du Commissariat ou à l’échelle de l’administration fédérale, et recommander l’approbation des interventions et des plans d’action appropriés.
  • Rencontrer, si nécessaire, le BVG et solliciter des commentaires et conseils en matière de risque, de contrôle et de gouvernance pour le Commissariat.
  • Être informé de l’impact des initiatives à l’échelle de l’administration fédérale sur l’amélioration des pratiques en gestion, et conseiller le commissaire à ce sujet.

Suivi des plans d’action de la direction 

  • S’assurer qu’il y a des mécanismes efficaces en vigueur pour surveiller et suivre les plans d’action de la direction en réponse aux recommandations de vérifications internes, du BVG ou d’autres organismes, le cas échéant.
  • Recevoir périodiquement des rapports de la direction sur les mesures qui ont été prises.

États financiers et comptes publics 

  • Examiner les états financiers du Commissariat avec la direction ainsi que tous les jugements et les estimations comptables à cet égard, et recommander au commissaire qu’ils soient acceptés ou non.
  • Lorsque les états financiers du Commissariat font l’objet d’une vérification, le Comité de vérification doit examiner :
    • les états financiers vérifiés avec le vérificateur externe et la haute direction, et discuter des modifications importantes à apporter aux états financiers à l’issue de la vérification, et de tous différends ou conflits vécus avec la direction au fil de la vérification;
    • les lettres de recommandations découlant de la vérification externe des états financiers du Commissariat ou des comptes publics;
    • les recommandations et constatations du vérificateur à l’égard des contrôles internes en vigueur pour la reddition des états financiers;
    • le rendement du vérificateur externe.

Rapports de risque et de responsabilité

  • Examiner les éléments suivants pour s’assurer que, à sa connaissance, il n’y a pas d’inexactitudes ou d’omissions importantes dans :
    • le profil de risque organisationnel du Commissariat;
    • le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités;
    • le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement;
    • d’autres rapports de responsabilité importants.

Évaluation du rendement du Comité de vérification

Auto-évaluation du Comité de vérification

Le Comité de vérification évaluera périodiquement son rendement. Pour ce faire, le Comité doit se poser des questions fondamentales comme : 1) Le Comité pense-t-il s’être acquitté de ses responsabilités de façon efficace comme prévu dans la Charte?; 2) Le Comité a-t-il contribué à l’avancement des pratiques de gestion?; 3) Comment le Comité peut-il améliorer l’efficience et l’efficacité de ses opérations?

Inspection externe des pratiques

Au moins à tous les quatre ans, le rendement du Comité de vérification fera l’objet d’une évaluation externe.

Rapport du Comité de vérification

Le Comité de vérification doit préparer un rapport annuel pour le COMMISSAIRE. Ce rapport doit :

  • résumer les activités entreprises par le Comité de vérification et les résultats des examens dont il a fait l’objet;
  • fournir l’évaluation du Comité de vérification à l’égard du système de contrôles internes du Commissariat;
  • consigner toutes préoccupations importantes évoquées par le Comité de vérification à l’égard des processus de gestion du risque, de contrôle, et de reddition de comptes du Commissariat;
  • fournir l’évaluation du Comité de vérification à l’égard de la capacité et du rendement de la fonction de vérification interne;
  • formuler, si nécessaire, des recommandations pour l’amélioration des processus de gestion du risque, de contrôle et de reddition de comptes, y compris des recommandations pour l’amélioration de la fonction de vérification interne du Commissariat;
  • fournir toute information ou documentation que le Comité de vérification peut considérer comme importante pour présenter un portrait global et juste de ses activités et résultats, et le contexte dans lequel cela doit être pris en considération (p. ex. il serait bon pour le Comité de vérification de présenter ou d’inclure sa charte dans son rapport annuel).

Examen du mandat du Comité de vérification

Le Comité de vérification doit examiner périodiquement la justesse de sa charte, pour que le commissaire la confirme.

1 Voir section 4.1 – Directives sur le comité de vérifications ministériel

2 Des réunions régulières à huis clos avec les vérificateurs font en sorte que ces derniers sont moins menaçants aux yeux de la direction, tout en étant une excellente occasion pour le vérificateur de communiquer en privé, et de manière plus franche, avec le Comité. De même, ces réunions permettent au Comité d’interroger librement le vérificateur et de tenir une discussion en privée avec lui. Ce processus est un mécanisme qui favorise l’établissement de bonnes relations. (Source : Integrity in the Spotlight, 2e éd., 2005, M.J. Sabia et J.L. Goodfellow)

3 Le plan de travail devrait inclure les problèmes sur lesquelles se penche régulièrement le Comité, conformément à son mandat, et toutes autres questions d’intérêt que le président, la direction et/ou le vérificateur estiment qu’il faut transmettre au Comité pour qu’elles soient abordées durant la période pour laquelle le plan est créé. (Source : Integrity in the Spotlight, 2e éd., 2005, M.J. Sabia et J.L. Goodfellow)