Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada Quarterly
Financial Report
For the quarter ended December 31, 2011

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operation, personnel and program

1. Introduction

This quarterly report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board. This quarterly report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates and previous quarterly financial reports for the current year. This quarterly report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

The Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada (OIC) conducts efficient, fair and confidential investigations into complaints about federal institutions’ handling of access to information requests. The goal is to maximize compliance with the Access to Information Act while fostering disclosure of public sector information using the full range of tools, activities and powers at the Commissioner’s disposal, from information and mediation to persuasion and litigation, where required.

The OIC also supports the Commissioner in her advisory role to Parliament and parliamentary committees on all access to information matters. In delivering its mandate, the OIC promotes information rights and advocates a pro-disclosure culture to ensure government transparency, accountability and citizen engagement.

Further information on the mandate, responsibilities and program activities can be found in Part II of the Main Estimates.

1.1 Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the OIC's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the OIC, consistent with the Main Estimates for the 2011-2012 fiscal years. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

The OIC uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

2. Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year to date (YTD) results

The Statement of Authorities table below shows that the OIC spent approximately 25% of its authorities in the third quarter of 2011–2012 for a total of 71% at third-quarter year. Because Personnel expenses represent 75% of planned expenditures, the spending is spread out equally over the year.  In this quarter, the OIC received additional authorities for an amount of $906,030 due to a Treasury Board Central Vote (30) transfer – Paylist requirements, and an amount of $1,489 due to a Treasury Board Central Vote (15) transfer – Collective agreements.  Consistent with the presentation in the Volume II of the Public accounts, these authorities are included in the Vote 40 – Program expenditures on the Statement of Authorities. Both vote transfers are reflected in the planned expenditures for personnel on Table 2.

As Table 2 indicates, the OIC’s total budgetary expenditures have increased by $436,000 when comparing the third quarter of 2011−2012 to the same period in 2010−2011. The significant variance in expenditures can be attributed mainly to an increase in personnel of $350,000 or 14.6%.  Ratified changes to severance pay entitlements have resulted in the discontinuance of the accumulation of severance pay for some bargaining units. Eligible employees could opt for immediate payout of their accumulated severance pay. As explained above, those severance payments were funded via Treasury Board central vote 30 - Paylist requirements. Significant variances in YTD expenditures are in line with the variances for this quarter. Other variances in YTD expenditures for professional services, transport and communications, information, as well as utilities, materials and supplies are consistent with decreases discussed in the previous quarterly financial reports.

3. Risks and Uncertainties

The OIC is funded through annual appropriations.  Consequently, its operations are impacted by any changes in funding approved by Parliament.

As discussed in the previous quarterly financial report, the OIC is working on finding efficiencies within its vote 40 (program expenditures) to fund the cost containment measures introduced by the Government of Canada Budget 2010.  There have been no newly identified risks during the quarter.

4. Significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs

There have been no significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs in the last quarter.

Approved by:


Suzanne Legault, Information Commissioner of Canada


Original signed by


Suzanne Legault

Layla Michaud, Acting Director General, Corporate services

Original signed by


Layla Michaud, DPF

 

 

 

 

Ottawa, Canada
February 29, 2012


Table 1: Statement of Authorities (unaudited)
(In thousands of dollars) Fiscal year 2011-2012 Fiscal year 2010-2011
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2012 * Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2011 Year to date used at quarter end Total available for us for the year ending March 31, 2011 * Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2010 Year to date used at quarter end
Vote 40 - Program expenditures 11,758 2,928 8,340 10,952 2,511 7,818
Statutory authorities - Contributions to employee benefit plans 1,390 347 1,042 1,312 328 984
Total budgetary authorities 13,148 3,275 9,382 12,264 2,839 8,802

*Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

Table 1: Statement of Authorities (unaudited) - Text Version

Table 2: Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)
(In thousands of dollars) Fiscal year 2011-2012 Fiscal year 2010-2011
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2012 Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2011 Year to date used at quarter end Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2011 Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2010 Year to date used at quarter end
 
Personnel 10,017 2,743 8,097 9,030 2,393 6,968
Transportation and communications 216 39 130 1,143 47 145
Information 194 12 46 120 19 124
Professional and special services 1,994 380 777 1,081 338 1,265
Rentals 82 16 59 99 37 64
Repair and maintenance 106 9 19 111 (11) 20
Utilities, materials and supplies 83 10 27 92 7 46
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 456 66 221 588 9 165
Other subsidies and payments - - 6 - - 5
TOTAL BUDGETARY EXPENDITURES 13,148 3,275 9,382 12,264 2,839 8,802

The negative expenditure for Repair and Maintenance in 2011 represent corrections of transactions from the previous quarter.

Table 2: Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited) - Text Version

Commissariat à l’information du Canada
Rapport financier trimestriel
Pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2011

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les principaux changements quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et au programme

1. Introduction

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction  comme l’exige l'article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et selon les modalités que prescrit le Conseil du Trésor.  Ce rapport devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses et les rapports financier trimestriels précédents de l’année fiscale.  Il n'a pas fait l'objet d'une vérification externe ou d'un examen.

Le Commissariat à l'information mène des enquêtes efficaces, équitables et confidentielles sur les plaintes relatives à la façon dont les institutions fédérales traitent les demandes d'accès à l'information. Le but est de maximiser la conformité à la Loi et la divulgation de l’information du secteur public en utilisant la gamme des outils, activités et pouvoirs à la disposition de la commissaire, depuis l’information et la médiation jusqu’à la persuasion et le recours aux tribunaux, au besoin.

Le Commissariat appuie également la commissaire dans son rôle consultatif auprès du Parlement et des comités parlementaires pour toutes les questions concernant l'accès à l'information. Dans l'exécution de son mandat, le Commissariat met en valeur le droit à l'information et préconise une culture propice à la divulgation pour assurer la transparence gouvernementale, la reddition des comptes et la participation des citoyens.

On peut trouver des renseignements supplémentaires sur le mandat, les responsabilités et les activités de programme du Commissariat dans la Partie II - Budget principal des dépenses.

1.1 Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction suivant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L'état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser du Commissariat accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par le Commissariat, en conformité avec le Budget principal des dépenses pour l'exercice 2011−2012. Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d'information financière concernant l'utilisation des autorisations de dépenser. 

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l'autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l'entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l'entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Le Commissariat utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice intégrale pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement sont encore en fonction d'une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs 

Le tableau de l’État des autorisations ci-dessous indique que le Commissariat a dépensé environ 25 % de ses autorisations au cours du troisième trimestre de 2011−2012 pour un total de 71% au trois-quart de l’année. Étant donné que les dépenses au titre du personnel représentent 75 % des dépenses planifiées, les dépenses se répartissent également sur toute l’année. Durant le trimestre, le Commissariat a également reçu des autorisations supplémentaires pour un montant de 906 030$ suite à une affectation du crédit central du Conseil du Trésor (30) - Exigences en matière de rénumération, et 1 489$ suite à une affectation du crédit central (15) du Conseil du Trésor – Rajustements à la rémunération.  Conformément à la présentation des comptes publics volume II, ces autorisations sont incluses dans notre crédit (40) du Conseil du Trésor – Dépenses de programmes.

Comme l’indique le Tableau 2, les dépenses budgétaires totales du Commissariat ont augmenté de 436 000 $ si l’on compare le troisième trimestre de 2011−2012 à la même période en 2010−2011. L’écart important dans les dépenses peut être attribué principalement à une augmentation dans le personnel de 350 000 $ ou 14.6 %. Cette augmentation résulte de l'exigence de verser des paiements immédiats pour les indemnités de départ et de cessation d'emploi à la suite des changements apportés aux conventions collectives visées. Les écarts importants aux dépenses au cumul de l’année sont en ligne avec les écarts de ce trimestre. Les autres écarts aux dépenses au cumul de l’année pour les services professionnels, pour les transports et communications, pour l’information, pour les services publics, pour les fournitures et approvisionnements sont conformes avec les diminutions discutées dans le précédent rapport financier trimestriel.

3. Risques et incertitudes

Le Commissariat est financé par des crédits annuels. Par conséquent, tout changement dans le financement approuvé par le Parlement a une incidence sur ses activités.

Tel que discuté dans le rapport financier trimestriel précédent, le Commissariat travaille à trouver des efficacités dans le vote 40 (dépenses de programme) afin de financer les mesures de réduction des dépenses introduites dans le cadre du Budget 2010. Aucun autre nouveau risque n’a été identifié au cours du dernier trimestre.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et au programme

Il n’y a pas eu de changement important quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes au cours du dernier trimestre.


La commissaire à l'information du Canada


La version originale a été signée par


Suzanne Legault


Directrice générale par intérim,
Services organisationnels

La version originale a été signée par


Layla Michaud, DPF

 

 

 

 

Ottawa, Canada
le 29 février 2012 

Tableau 1 : État des autorisations (non vérifié)
  Exercice 2011-2012 Exercice 2010-2011
(en milliers de dollars) Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 * Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisé à la fin du trimestre Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2011 * Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2010 Cumul des crédits utilisé à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 40 - Dépenses du programme 11 758 2 928 8 340 10 952 2 511 7 818
Autorisations législatives - Contributions aux régimes des avantages sociaux des employés 1 390 347 1 042 1 312 328 984
AUTORISATIONS BUDGÉTAIRES TOTALES 13 148 3 275 9 382 12 264 2 839 8 802

* N'inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Tableau 1 : État des autorisations (non vérifié) Version Texte

Tableau 2 : Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)
  Exercice 2011-2012 Exercice 2010-2011
(en milliers de dollars) Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2011 Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2010 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
     
Dépenses:    
Personnel 10 017 2 743 8 097 9 030 2 393 6 968
Transports et communications 216 39 130 1 143 47 145
Information 194 12 46 120 19 124
Services professionnels et spéciaux 1 994 380 777 1 081 338 1 265
Location 82 16 59 99 37 64
Services de réparation et d'entretien 106 9 19 111 (11) 20
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 83 10 27 92 7 46
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 456 66 221 588 9 165
Autres subventions et paiements - - 6 - - 5
DÉPENSES BUDGÉTAIRES TOTALES 13 148 3 275 9 382 12 264 2 839 8 802

La dépense négative en Services de réparation et d'entretien de 2011 représente des corrections faites pour le trimestre précédent.

Tableau 2: Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié) Version-Texte