Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada
Quarterly Financial Report
For the quarter ended June 30, 2011

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operation, personnel and program

1. Introduction

This quarterly report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board. This quarterly report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates. This quarterly report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

The Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada (OIC) conducts efficient, fair and confidential investigations into complaints about federal institutions' handling of access to information requests. The goal is to maximize compliance with the Access to Information Act while fostering disclosure of public sector information using the full range of tools, activities and powers at the Commissioner's disposal, from information and mediation to persuasion and litigation, where required.

The OIC also supports the Commissioner in her advisory role to Parliament and parliamentary committees on all access to information matters. In delivering its mandate, the OIC promotes information rights and advocates a pro-disclosure culture to ensure government transparency, accountability and citizen engagement.

Further information on the mandate, responsibilities and program activities can be found in Part II of the Main Estimates.

1.1 Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the OIC's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the OIC, consistent with the Main Estimates for the 2011-2012 fiscal years. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

When Parliament is dissolved for the purposes of a general election, section 30 of the Financial Administration Act authorizes the Governor General, under certain conditions, to issue a special warrant authorizing the Government to withdraw funds from the Consolidated Revenue Fund. A special warrant is deemed to be an appropriation for the fiscal year in which it is issued.

The OIC uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

2. Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year to date (YTD) results

The Statement of Authorities table below shows that the OIC spent approximately 22% of its authorities in the first quarter of 2011-2012. Because Personnel expenses represent 75% of planned expenditures, the spending is spread out equally over the year.

As Table 2 indicates, the OIC's total budgetary expenditures have decreased by $372,000 when comparing the first quarter of 2011−2012 to the same period in 2010−2011. The significant variance in expenditures can be attributed mainly to a decrease in professional and special services of $258,000 or 63.5%. This decrease results first and foremost from a change in our outsourcing strategy for ongoing complex cases. Further to a productivity analysis, we noted that it would be more efficient to acquire consultant services after the summer months. The decrease in outsourcing services also reflects an increase in staffing of lawyer positions with complementary competencies to proceed with specialized court proceedings.

Lower expenditures for transportation and communications, information, as well as utilities, materials and supplies can be attributed to the streamlining of our corporate processes over the last two years. Those changes have provided good results and better control. For example, we completed our shift from print-based publications to Web publishing for all special and annual reports. The acquisition of information technology equipment also eased off as we entered year 3 of our five-year IM/IT renewal strategy. By the close of 2010-2011, approximately three quarters of the projects identified in the strategy, including some of the most complex projects, had been completed on schedule and within reduced budgets.

3. Risks and Uncertainties

The OIC is funded through annual appropriations. Consequently, its operations are impacted by any changes in funding approved by Parliament.

Lately the OIC's limited budgetary flexibility has been compounded by the cost containment measures introduced by the Government of Canada Budget 2010. In particular, the OIC will not be funded for the 2010−2011 to 2012−2013 salary increases resulting from new collective agreements. It must find efficiencies within its operating vote to fund these increases. Management is considering various options to address the funding gap for 2012−2013.

Because of the lack of budgetary flexibility, the OIC is also highly vulnerable to any new pressures that may arise from an increase in complaints or court proceedings, or from other urgent and unexpected requirements. In 2010-2011, we obtained access to a special purpose allotment of $400,000 to acquire specialized legal and investigative services for ongoing court proceedings and complex cases. Without the approval of this special purpose allotment, the OIC would have not been able to carry out these activities.

Another ongoing challenge is to maintain staffing at a level sufficient to compensate for departures and retirements. Given the OIC's small size, the departure or hiring of employees in one quarter can have significant impact on the quarter's expenditures. To mitigate this risk, our investigative units are now almost fully staffed and benefit from targeted training geared to our business requirements. In addition, our career development opportunities enable us to effectively prepare junior investigators for more complex and challenging investigations.

4. Significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs

The OIC underwent a reorganization at the beginning of the fiscal year to follow the CFO model. The former Policy, Communications and Operations Branch (now known as Corporate Services) was streamlined with a view to enhancing controls and accountability for all corporate functions.

Approved by:

Original signed by


Suzanne Legault
Information Commissioner of Canada

Original signed by


Layla Michaud, CFO
Acting Director General, Corporate services

 

 

 

 

Ottawa, Canada
August 29, 2011


Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada
Quarterly Financial Report
For the quarter ended June 30, 2011

Table 1: Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

  Fiscal year 2011-2012 Fiscal year 2010-2011
(in thousands of dollars) Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2012 * Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2011 Year to date used at quarter end Total available for us for the year ending March 31, 2011 * Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2010 Year to date used at quarter end
Vote 40 - Net operating expenditures 10,615 2,323 2,323 10,750 2,714 2,714
Budgetary statutory authorities 1,390 347 347 1,312 328 328

Total budgetary authorities 12,005 2,670 2,670 12,062 3,042 3,042

TOTAL AUTHORITIES 12,005 2,670 2,670 12,062 3,042 3,042

*Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.


Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada
Quarterly Financial Report
For the quarter ended June 30, 2011

Table 2: Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

  Fiscal year 2011-2012 Fiscal year 2010-2011
(in thousands of dollars) Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2012 Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2011 Year to date used at quarter end Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2011 Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2010 Year to date used at quarter end
     
Expenditures    
Personnel 9,109 2,405 2,405 9,030 2,417 2,417
Transportation and communications 216 35 35 290 50 50
Information 194 2 2 99 44 44
Professional and special services 1,994 148 148 1,765 406 406
Rentals 82 18 18 45 10 10
Repair and maintenance 106 8 8 118 7 7
Utilities, materials and supplies 83 7 7 65 32 32
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 221 47 47 650 73 73
Other subsidies and payments - - - - 3 3

TOTAL BUDGETARY EXPENDITURES 12,005 2,670 2,670 12,062 3,042 3,042

Pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2011

Commissariat à l’information du Canada
Rapport financier trimestriel
Pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2011

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les principaux changements quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et au programme

1. Introduction

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction comme l'exige l'article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et selon les modalités que prescrit le Conseil du Trésor. Ce rapport devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses. Il n'a pas fait l'objet d'une vérification externe ou d'un examen.

Le Commissariat à l'information mène des enquêtes efficaces, équitables et confidentielles sur les plaintes relatives à la façon dont les institutions fédérales traitent les demandes d'accès à l'information. Le but est de maximiser la conformité à la Loi et la divulgation de l'information du secteur public en utilisant la gamme des outils, activités et pouvoirs à la disposition de la commissaire, depuis l'information et la médiation jusqu'à la persuasion et le recours aux tribunaux, au besoin.

Le Commissariat appuie également la commissaire dans son rôle consultatif auprès du Parlement et des comités parlementaires pour toutes les questions concernant l'accès à l'information. Dans l'exécution de son mandat, le Commissariat met en valeur le droit à l'information et préconise une culture propice à la divulgation pour assurer la transparence gouvernementale, la reddition des comptes et la participation des citoyens.

On peut trouver des renseignements supplémentaires sur le mandat, les responsabilités et les activités de programme du Commissariat dans la Partie II - Budget principal des dépenses.

1.1 Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction suivant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L'état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser du Commissariat accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par le Commissariat, en conformité avec le Budget principal des dépenses pour l'exercice 2011−2012. Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d'information financière concernant l'utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l'autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l'entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l'entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Lorsque le Parlement est dissous pour la tenue d'une élection générale, l'article 30 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques autorise le gouverneur général, sous certaines conditions, à émettre un mandat spécial autorisant le gouvernement à retirer des fonds du Trésor. Un mandat spécial est considéré comme un crédit relatif à l'exercice au cours duquel il a été établi.

Le Commissariat utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice intégrale pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement sont encore en fonction d'une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

Le tableau de l'État des autorisations ci-dessous indique que le Commissariat a dépensé environ 22 % de ses autorisations au cours du premier trimestre de 2011−2012. Étant donné que les dépenses au titre du personnel représentent 75 % des dépenses planifiées, les dépenses se répartissent également sur toute l'année.

Comme l'indique le Tableau 2, les dépenses budgétaires totales du Commissariat ont diminué de 372 000 $ si l'on compare le premier trimestre de 2011−2012 à la même période en 2010−2011. L'écart important dans les dépenses peut être attribué principalement à une diminution de 258 000 $ ou 63,5 % au titre des services professionnels et spéciaux. Cette diminution résulte d'abord et avant tout d'un changement dans notre stratégie d'impartition pour les enquêtes complexes en cours. À la suite d'une analyse de la productivité, nous avons constaté qu'il serait plus efficace d'acquérir des services d'experts-conseils après les mois d'été. La diminution des services d'impartition reflète aussi une hausse dans la dotation de postes d'avocats avec compétences complémentaires permettant d'entreprendre des instances judiciaires spécialisées.

Les diminutions des dépenses au titre des transports et communications, de l'information, des services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements, peuvent être attribuées à la rationalisation de nos processus internes au cours des deux dernières années. Ces changements ont donné de bons résultats et un meilleur contrôle. Par exemple, nous avons diminué l'impression papier de nos rapports spéciaux et annuels en faveur de la publication Web. L'acquisition du matériel informatique a aussi diminué étant donné que nous en sommes à la troisième année de notre stratégie quinquennale en matière de GI/TI. À la fin de 2010−2011, environ 75 % des projets prévus dans la stratégie, y compris certains des projets les plus complexes, avaient été achevés à la date prévue et avec un budget réduit.

3. Risques et incertitudes

Le Commissariat est financé par des crédits annuels. Par conséquent, tout changement dans le financement approuvé par le Parlement a une incidence sur ses activités.

Récemment, les mesures de réduction des dépenses introduites dans le cadre du Budget 2010 du gouvernement du Canada sont venues restreindre davantage la souplesse budgétaire limitée du Commissariat. Notamment, le Commissariat ne sera pas financé pour les augmentations salariales prévues par les nouvelles conventions collectives pour 2010−2011 à 2012−2013. Le Commissariat doit réaliser des économies à même son crédit de fonctionnement pour financer ces augmentations. La direction examine différentes options pour combler l'écart de financement pour 2012−2013.

Étant donné le manque de souplesse budgétaire, le Commissariat est aussi extrêmement vulnérable à toutes nouvelles pressions qui peuvent découler d'un plus grand nombre de plaintes ou de procédures judiciaires, ou de tous besoins urgents ou imprévus. En 2010-2011, nous avons obtenu l'accès à une affection à fins spéciales de 400 000 $ pour acquérir des services juridiques et d'enquêtes spécialisés pour pouvoir procéder avec les instances et enquêtes complexes en cours. Sans cette affectation à fins spéciales, le Commissariat n'aurait pas été en mesure d'entreprendre ces activités.

Nous avons comme autre défi de maintenir la dotation à un niveau suffisant pour compenser les départs et les retraites. Vu la petite taille du Commissariat, le départ ou l'embauche d'employés au cours d'un trimestre peut avoir des effets importants sur les dépenses trimestrielles. Pour minimiser ces risques, nos unités d'enquête sont maintenant presque entièrement dotées et bénéficient d'une formation ciblée et adaptée à nos besoins opérationnels. En outre, notre perfectionnement professionnel nous permet de préparer efficacement les enquêteurs débutants à mener des enquêtes plus complexes et plus épineuses.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et au programme

Au début de l'exercice financier, le Commissariat a fait l'objet d'une restructuration pour suivre le modèle du dirigeant principal des finances. L'ancienne Direction des politiques, communications et opérations (maintenant appelée Services organisationnels) a été rationnalisée dans le but d'améliorer les contrôles et la responsabilité pour toutes les fonctions du Commissariat

Approuvé par:


La commissaire à l'information du Canada


La version originale a été signée par


Suzanne Legault


Directrice générale par intérim, Services organisationnels

La version originale a été signée par


Layla Michaud, DPF

 

 

 

 

Ottawa, Canada
le 29 août 2011


Commissariat à l’information du Canada
Rapport financier trimestriel
Pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2011

Tableau 1 : État des autorisations (non vérifié)

(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2011-2012 Exercice 2010-2011
  Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 * Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisé à la fin du trimestre Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2011 * Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2010 Cumul des crédits utilisé à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 40 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 10,615 2,323 2,323 10,750 2,714 2,714
Autorisations législatives budgétaires 1,390 347 347 1,312 328 328

Autorisations budgétaires totales 12,005 2,670 2,670 12,062 3,042 3,042

AUTORISATIONS TOTALES 12,005 2,670 2,670 12,062 3,042 3,042

* N'inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.


Commissariat à l’information du Canada
Rapport financier trimestriel
Pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2011

Tableau 2 : Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)

(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2011-2012 Exercice 2010-2011
  Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 * Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2011 * Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2010 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
     
Dépenses:    
Personnel 9 109 2 405 2 405 9 030 2,417 2,417
Transports et communications 216 35 35 290 50 50
Information 194 2 2 99 44 44
Services professionnels et spéciaux 1 994 148 148 1 765 406 406
Location 82 18 18 45 10 10
Services de réparation et d'entretien 106 8 8 118 7 7
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 83 7 7 65 32 32
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 221 47 47 650 73 73
Autres subventions et paiements - - - - 3 3

DÉPENSES BUDGÉTAIRES TOTALES 12 005 2 670 2 670 12 062 3 042 3 042