Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada Quarterly Financial Report For the quarter ended June 30, 2012

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operation, personnel and program

1. Introduction

This quarterly report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board. This quarterly report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates. This quarterly report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

The Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada (OIC) conducts efficient, fair and confidential investigations into complaints about federal institutions’ handling of access to information requests. The goal is to maximize compliance with the Access to Information Act while fostering disclosure of public sector information using the full range of tools, activities and powers at the Commissioner’s disposal, from information and mediation to persuasion and litigation, where required.
The OIC also supports the Commissioner in her advisory role to Parliament and parliamentary committees on all access to information matters. In delivering its mandate, the OIC promotes information rights and advocates a pro-disclosure culture to ensure government transparency, accountability and citizen engagement.

Further information on the mandate, responsibilities and program activities can be found in the Office’s 2012-13 Report on Plans and Priorities.

1.1 Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the OIC's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the OIC, consistent with the Main Estimates for the 2012-2013 fiscal years. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

As part of the Parliamentary business of supply, the Main Estimates must be tabled in Parliament on or before March 1 preceding the new fiscal year.  Budget 2012 was tabled in Parliament on March 29, after the tabling of the Main Estimates on February 28, 2012.  As a result the measures announced in the Budget 2012 could not be reflected in the 2012-13 Main Estimates.

In fiscal year 2012-2013, frozen allotments will be established by Treasury Board authority in departmental votes to prohibit the spending of funds already identified as savings measures in Budget 2012.  In future years, the changes to departmental authorities will be implemented through the Annual Reference Level Update, as approved by Treasury Board, and reflected in the subsequent Main Estimates tabled in Parliament.

The OIC uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

2. Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year to date (YTD) results

The Statement of Authorities below shows that the OIC spent approximately 24% of its authorities in the first quarter of 2012–2013. Because personnel expenses represent 78% of planned expenditures, the spending is spread out equally over the year.

As Table 1 indicates, the OIC’s total budgetary expenditures have increased by $180,000 when comparing the first quarter of 2012−2013 to the same period in 2011−2012. The variance in expenditures is primarily attributable to the following areas:

  1. An increase in personnel of $138,000 resulting mainly from annual collective agreement compensation and related economic increases.
  2. An increase in professional and special services of $102,000 mainly due to the agreement signed with Public Works and Government Services Canada – Shared Human Resource (SHRS) Services in April 2012. As per the agreement, the Office is outsourcing all its human resources activities to SHRS. The agreement should allow the Office to gain efficiencies and obtain a high quality of service.
  3. Acquisition of information technology equipment eased off as the OIC enters into the 4th year of a five-year Information Management/Information Technology (IM/IT) renewal strategy. This resulted in a decrease of $47,000 in acquisition of machinery during the first quarter of 2012-2013. By the close of 2011-2012, IT had completed one of the major projects identified in the strategy and commenced other renewal projects, including a newly identified IM requirement.  We are on schedule to have the IM/IT renewal strategy completed before the end 2013-2014.

3. Risks and Uncertainties

The OIC is funded through annual appropriations. Consequently, its operations are impacted by any changes in funding approved by Parliament.

Since 2009-10 the OIC has been implementing program delivery and efficiency improvements in order to ensure that it can continue to perform its mandate within the resources provided.  Included in this has been  the 2010-11 salary strategy aimed at ensuring the OIC will have sufficient O&M funding over the next 3-5 years to sustain its operations and program delivery. This strategy addresses the chronic shortfall in our salary budget which has historically been subsidized with operating funding, and the pressures created by the government –wide cost containment measures imposed in 2010-11.  If the decision is made to extend the cost containment measures beyond 2012-13, the OIC would have to absorb an additional $200K, representing approximately 2% of the total appropriations, which will jeopardize the financial sustainability of the Office.

Prior to Budget 2012, the OIC has been able to achieve optimum program results and demonstrate fiscal responsibility. Specifically:

  • A concerted effort has been made to successfully reduce the inventory of long standing cases
  • Internal legal capacity has been augmented to address court proceedings and deal with complex and contentious cases
  • Operating (non-salary) expenditures has decreased by 14% (about $500K) over the last three fiscal years due to reduced reliance on costly external professional services
  • The implementation of PWGSC Shared Services related to the Human Resources Function
  • Lapse as a percentage of Total Authority have been minimal (1% in 2010/11, including $400,000 of emergency funding to address complex cases, and 2% in 2009/10)

The OIC currently faces financial uncertainty with regard to the PWGSC mandated relocation of our office in 2013/14. Preliminary estimates show that relocation costs could be as high as $3M while source of funding remains unknown. Without a new source of funding, the OIC will not be able to move to its new location. Furthermore, if Treasury Board funding is secured; there is the possibility that the OIC will have to pay back these funds, similar to a loan arrangement. Any loan arrangement would have significant impact on the OIC’s budget.

As a result of Budget 2012, the OIC was assigned a budget reduction of $100K (12/13); $300K (13/14); and $500K (14/15) which will have an adverse impact on the program results including our ability to deal with the demands of the current inventory. In order to be able to address the 5% reduction in Year 3, the OIC will need to accelerate or advance future year cost savings stemming from the salary strategy and put them in place today. It is important to note that senior level positions that have been affected in this exercise will contribute additional stress to the Program.

Notwithstanding this, the OIC is vulnerable to unexpected spikes in workload triggered by events outside of its control such as an influx of complaints or unexpected court cases.  The OIC does not have flexibility within its funding envelope to respond to increases in its workload or any other unexpected situation.

4. Significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs

The Office is outsourcing all its human resources activities to Public Works and Government Services Canada – Shared Human Resource Services since April 2012.


Original signed by


Suzanne Legault
Suzanne Legault, Information Commissioner of Canada

Original signed by


Layla Michaud, DPF
Layla Michaud, Director General, CFO, Corporate services

Ottawa, Canada

August 29, 2012

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)
(In thousands of dollars) Fiscal year 2012-2013 Fiscal year 2011-2012
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2013 * Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2012 Year to date used at quarter end Total available for us for the year ending March 31, 2012 * Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2011 Year to date used at quarter end
Vote 40 - Program expenditures 10,349 2,510 2,510 10,615 2,323 2,323
Budgetary statutory authorities – Contributions to employee benefit plans 1,359 340 340 1,390 347 347
Total budgetary authority 11,708 2,850 2,850 12,005 2,670 2,670

*Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

Statement of Authorities (unaudited) - Text Version

Table 1: Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)
(In thousands of dollars) Fiscal year 2012-2013 Fiscal year 2011-2012
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2013 Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2012 Year to date used at quarter end Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2011 Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2012 Year to date used at quarter end
 
Personnel 9,080 2,543 2,543 9,109 2,405 2,405
Transportation and communications 196 25 25 216 35 35
Information 127 13 13 194 2 2
Professional and special services 1,781 250 250 1,994 148 148
Rentals 91 8 8 82 18 18
Repair and maintenance 88 2 2 106 8 8
Utilities, materials and supplies 58 9 9 83 7 7
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 287 - - 221 47 47
TOTAL BUDGETARY EXPENDITURES 11,708 2,850 2,850 12,005 2,670 2,670

Table 1: Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited) - Text Version

Commissariat à l'information du Canada Rapport financier trimestriel Pour le trimestre terminée le 30 juin 2012

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les principaux changements quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et au programme

1. Introduction

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction comme l’exige l'article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et selon les modalités que prescrit le Conseil du Trésor. Ce rapport devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses. Il n'a pas fait l'objet d'une vérification externe ou d'un examen.

Le Commissariat à l'information mène des enquêtes efficaces, équitables et confidentielles sur les plaintes relatives à la façon dont les institutions fédérales traitent les demandes d'accès à l'information. Le but est de maximiser la conformité à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la divulgation de l’information du secteur public en utilisant la gamme des outils, activités et pouvoirs à la disposition de la commissaire, depuis l’information et la médiation jusqu’à la persuasion et le recours aux tribunaux, au besoin.
Le Commissariat appuie également la commissaire dans son rôle consultatif auprès du Parlement et des comités parlementaires pour toutes les questions concernant l'accès à l'information. Dans l'exécution de son mandat, le Commissariat met en valeur le droit à l'information et préconise une culture propice à la divulgation pour assurer la transparence gouvernementale, la reddition des comptes et la participation des citoyens.

On peut trouver des renseignements supplémentaires sur le mandat, les responsabilités et les activités de programme du Commissariat dans son Rapport sur les plans et les priorités 2012-2013.

1.1 Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction suivant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L'état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser du Commissariat accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par le Commissariat, en conformité avec le Budget principal des dépenses de 2012-2013. Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d'information financière concernant l'utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l'autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l'entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l'entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Dans le cadre des travaux des subsides du Parlement, le Budget principal des dépenses doit être déposé au Parlement le ou avant le 1er mars précédant le début du nouvel exercice. Le Budget 2012 a été déposé au Parlement le 29 mars,  après le dépôt du Budget principal des dépenses le 28 février 2012. Par conséquent, les mesures annoncées dans le Budget 2012 ne figurent pas dans le Budget principal des dépenses 2012-2013.

Pour l’exercice 2012-2013, des affectations bloquées dans les crédits ministériels seront établies par le Conseil du Trésor en vue d’empêcher que les fonds déjà réservés pour des mesures d’économies dans le Budget 2012 ne soient dépensés. Au cours des exercices suivants, les modifications aux autorisations ministériels seront mises en œuvre par l’intermédiaire de la Mise à jour annuelle des niveaux de référence, approuvée par le Conseil du Trésor, et figureront dans les Budgets principaux des dépenses ultérieurs déposés au Parlement.

Le Commissariat utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice intégrale pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement sont encore en fonction d'une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

2. Faits saillants des résultats trimestriels et cumulatifs

L’État des autorisations ci-dessous indique que le Commissariat a dépensé environ 24 % de ses autorisations au cours du premier trimestre de 2012-2013. Étant donné que les dépenses au titre du personnel représentent 78 % des dépenses planifiées, les dépenses se répartissent également sur toute l’année.

Comme l’indique le Tableau 1, les dépenses budgétaires totales du Commissariat ont augmenté de 180 000 $ si l’on compare le premier trimestre de 2012-2013 à la même période en 2011-2012. L’écart dans les dépenses peut être attribué principalement aux domaines suivants :

  1. Une augmentation des dépenses liées au personnel se chiffrant à 138 000 $ et résultant essentiellement des rémunérations annuelles prévues par les conventions collectives et des augmentations économiques connexes.
  2. Une augmentation des dépenses liées aux services professionnels et spéciaux se chiffrant à 102 000 $, qui s’explique principalement par l’accord conclu avec Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada – Services partagés en ressources humaines (SPRH) – en avril 2012. Conformément à l’accord, le Commissariat à sous-traité à SPRH toutes ses activités relatives aux ressources humaines. Cet accord devrait permettre au Commissariat de faire des économies et d’obtenir un service de grande qualité.
  3. L’acquisition d’équipement de technologie de l’information a ralenti, car le Commissariat a entamé la quatrième année d’une stratégie quinquennale de renouvellement de la gestion de l’information et de la technologie de l’information. Les dépenses liées à l’équipement ont ainsi diminué de 47 000 $ au cours du premier trimestre de 2012-2013. À la fin de 2011-2012, les responsables de la TI avaient mené à terme l’un des projets majeurs prévus dans la stratégie et entrepris d’autres projets de renouvellement, entre autres un projet concernant une nouvelle exigence en matière de GI. Le calendrier de renouvellement de la GI/TI est respecté, et la mise en œuvre de la stratégie devrait être complétée avant la fin de 2013-2014.

3. Risques et incertitudes

Le Commissariat est financé par des crédits annuels. Par conséquent, tout changement dans le financement approuvé par le Parlement a une incidence sur ses activités.

Depuis 2009-2010, le Commissariat apporte des améliorations au chapitre de la prestation et de l’efficience des programmes afin de pouvoir continuer de remplir son mandat dans les limites des ressources fournies. Ces améliorations comprennent la stratégie salariale 2010-2011, visant à s’assurer que le Commissariat aura suffisamment de financement (F et E) dans les trois à cinq prochaines années pour maintenir ses activités et ses programmes. Cette stratégie remédie à l'insuffisance chronique de notre budget salarial, qui était compensé auparavant par le budget de fonctionnement, et permettra de faire face aux pressions créées par les mesures de compression des coûts imposées à l'échelle de l'administration fédérale en 2010-2011. Si le gouvernement décide de prolonger les mesures de compression des coûts au-delà de 2012-2013, le Commissariat devra absorber encore des compressions de 200 000 $, soit environ 2 % du total des crédits, ce qui mettra en péril la viabilité financière du Commissariat.

Avant le Budget 2012, le Commissariat a réussi à optimiser l’exécution des programmes et à démontrer sa responsabilité financière. Plus particulièrement :

  • Un effort concerté a été consenti afin de réduire l’inventaire des cas de longue date.
  • La capacité juridique interne a été renforcée afin de régler des litiges et de traiter les dossiers complexes et contentieux.
  • Les dépenses de fonctionnement (autres que salariales) ont diminué de 14 % (environ 500 000 $) au cours des trois derniers exercices grâce au recours moins fréquent aux services professionnels externes, qui sont coûteux.
  • La mise en œuvre des services partagés de TPSGC en matière de ressources humaines.
  • Les ressources inutilisées en tant que pourcentage des autorisations totales ont été minimes (1 % en 2010-2011, dont 400 000 $ de fonds d'urgence pour traiter les dossiers complexes, et 2 % en 2009-2010).

Le Commissariat fait face actuellement à une incertitude financière qui concerne la réinstallation de ses bureaux, imposée par TPSGC, en 2013-2014. Les estimations préliminaires indiquent que les coûts de la réinstallation pourraient s'élever à 3 millions de dollars alors qu'on ne sait toujours pas d'où proviendra le financement. S’il ne trouve pas une nouvelle source de financement, le Commissariat ne sera pas en mesure de déménager dans les nouveaux locaux. Par ailleurs, si le financement du Conseil du Trésor est approuvé, il est possible que le Commissariat soit obligé de rembourser ces fonds en vertu d'un accord de prêt. Cette forme de financement aurait des répercussions considérables sur le budget du Commissariat.

Le Budget 2012 a imposé au Commissariat une réduction budgétaire de 100 000 $ en 2012-2013, de 300 000 $ en 2013-2014 et de 500 000 $ en 2014-2015. Ces réductions auront un effet défavorable sur les résultats de programme, y compris sur la capacité du Commissariat à traiter les demandes faisant partie de l’inventaire actuel. Pour être en mesure de faire face à la réduction de 5 % au cours du troisième exercice, le Commissariat devra accélérer ou devancer les économies de coûts de l’an prochain, qui découlent de la stratégie salariale, et les appliquer dès aujourd'hui. Il est important de noter que, à cause des postes de niveau supérieur qui ont été touchés au cours du présent exercice, une pression accrue s’exercera sur le programme.

De plus, le Commissariat est vulnérable aux pointes dans la charge de travail occasionnées par des événements sur lesquels il n’a pas de contrôle, comme une augmentation du nombre de plaintes ou des affaires judiciaires imprévues. L’enveloppe budgétaire du Commissariat ne lui donne pas la marge de manœuvre nécessaire pour faire face à une augmentation de la charge de travail ou à toute autre situation imprévisible.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et au programme

Depuis avril 2012, le Commissariat sous-traite l’ensemble de ses activités de ressources humaines aux Services partagés en ressources humaines de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada.

Approuvé par :

La version originale a été signée par


Suzanne Legault
Suzanne Legault,
Commissaire à l’information du Canada

La version originale a été signée par


Layla Michaud, DPF
Layla Michaud, Directrice générale, DPF, Services organisationnels


 

 

 

Ottawa, Canada

29 août 2012

État des autorisations (non vérifié)
(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2012-2013 Exercice 2011-2012
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2012 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 40 - Dépenses du Programme (pas de fonctionnement) 10 349 2 510 2 510 10 615 2 323 2 323
Autorisations législatives budgétaires –
Contributions aux régimes des avantages
sociaux des employés
1 359 340 340 1 390 347 347
Autorisations budgétaires totales 11 708 2 850 2 850 12 005 2 670 2 670

*N'inclut que les Autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

État des autorisations (non vérifié) Version Texte

Tableau 1: Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)
(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2012-2013 Exercice 2011-2012
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars  2013 Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2012 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars  2012 Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin, 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses:  
Personnel 9 080 2 543 2 543 9 109 2 405 2 405
Transports et communications 196 25 25 216 35 35
Information 127 13 13 194 2 2
Services professionnels et spéciaux 1 781 250 250 1 994 148 148
Location 91 8 8 82 18 18
Services de réparation et d'entretien 88 2 2 106 8 8
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 58 9 9 83 7 7
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 287 - - 221 47 47
Dépenses budgétaires totales 11 708 2 850 2 850 12 005 2 670 2 670

Tableau 1: Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié) Version-Texte