Audit committee 2011–2012 annual report Office of The Information Commissioner of Canada

Purpose

The external members of the Office of the Information Commissioner’s (OIC) Audit Committee prepared this report for the Information Commissioner as a summary of the Committee’s work from April 2011 to March 2012.

The report is also a vehicle for the external Committee members to present their thoughts on areas for improvement, based on the Committee’s assessments and deliberations over the year.

Committee role and membership

Independent from OIC management, the Audit Committee plays an advisory role for the Information Commissioner. Committee members provide objective advice and recommendations regarding the sufficiency, quality and results of assurance activities related to the OIC’s risk management, control and governance frameworks and processes.

The Committee has three members, two of whom are external to the federal government. The external members are John McCrea and Dyane Adam, who serves as chair. They were appointed in October 2008 and together have a breadth of knowledge and experience, particularly in managing the offices of Agents of Parliament. Information Commissioner Suzanne Legault is the third member of the Committee.

The OIC’s Acting Chief Financial Officer/Director General of Corporate Services, a member of the audit team and a senior representative of the Office of the Auditor General attended all meetings during the year.

(See the Audit Committee Charter, which sets out the Committee’s responsibilities and operations, and the Directive on Departmental Audit Committees for more information.)

Meetings

The Audit Committee met four times between April 1, 2011, and March 31, 2012, and held one conference call. Approved minutes of each meeting can be found on the OIC’s website.

Summary of activities

The Committee’s activities fall under seven categories, and are summarized below. Note, however, that these areas of responsibility are linked in many ways, which Committee members take into account when carrying out their assessments and providing advice.

Values and ethics

The Committee reviews any measures OIC management takes to exemplify and promote public service values and to ensure compliance with laws, regulations, policies and standards of ethical conduct.

During the May 2011 meeting, Committee members received a briefing on human resources management at the OIC. This included reviewing the work done to update the code of value and ethics, based on employee input to the values during the strategic planning process.

Committee members were also told about the mandatory workshops employees would attend in February and March 2012 on ensuring a harassment-free workplace.

Risk management

Risk assessments and mitigation strategies constitute an ongoing focus of the Committee’s work.

For example, the Committee met with representatives from the Office of the Auditor General to discuss the OIC’s risk of fraud and error, in anticipation of the audit of the OIC’s annual financial statements. In particular, members considered the risk of error related to payroll, since salaries make up 85 percent of the OIC’s total expenses. It is the view of Committee members, however, that the risks are low, given the OIC’s experienced finance team, and the quality and extent of the documentation management provided to the Committee over the year.

Committee members discussed cost containment measures and the government’s Deficit Reduction Action Plan throughout the year. Officials, in turn, kept the Committee informed of the steps the OIC was taking to address those financial pressures while still meeting operational needs.

Management control framework

The activities and discussions pertaining to the management control framework, which is linked to all other areas of responsibility, were numerous and are ongoing.

The Committee was kept informed of, for example, initiatives at the OIC to strengthen and improve controls related to corporate security, finance and procurement, as well as the budget, including the risks and costs that will arise from the unforeseen relocation of the OIC’s offices in 2013. Committee members noted the OIC’s successful management of its limited resources.

At the August 2011 meeting, Committee members reviewed and commented on a summary of the results of the assessment of the system of internal control for financial reporting, and of the actions the OIC took in response to any significant issues. This summary was attached to the Statement of Management Responsibility Including Internal Control over Financial Reporting, as per the Policy on Internal Control.

Internal audit function

The OIC has chosen to implement the Policy on Internal Audit while maintaining its independence from government, as proposed by the Working Group of Officers of Parliament.

At their meetings in 2011–2012, Committee members focused much of their time on the internal audit function, closely monitoring and challenging its performance to ensure that it was providing the necessary independent and objective assurance and guidance. The Committee asked the OIC’s audit group to present an update when completing significant steps of any internal audit.

  • At the February 2012 meeting, the Committee reviewed and approved the internal audit charter, and did its periodic review of the Audit Committee Charter (approving it with no changes).
  • Over the course of several meetings, Committee members reviewed the progress and results of the internal audit of the OIC’s Complaints, Resolution and Compliance (CRC) branch.
  • During the August 2011 meeting, Committee members reviewed the Letter to Management and Report from the Auditor on the CRC audit. The committee recommended the reports for approval as well as the corresponding management action plan addressing the recommendations. The November 2011 meeting featured a comprehensive presentation on CRC’s plan for addressing the root causes of persistent performance and timeliness issues associated with complex and refusal cases.
  • The Committee also followed up on the status of management actions stemming from the earlier audit of the Intake and Early Resolution Unit.
  • At the February 2012 meeting, the Committee heard about the OIC’s annual update of the Risk-Based Audit Plan. Members will be briefed on the status of the update at the May 2012 meeting.

The Committee will continue monitoring the work of the internal audit function as part of its responsibilities.

Audits conducted by Public Service Commission and the Office of  the Comptroller General

The Committee was informed in May 2011 that, for the third consecutive year, the Public Service Commission (PSC) had provided positive feedback on the OIC’s Departmental Staffing Accountability Report.

However, the results of the PSC’s preliminary staffing audit in the fall of 2011 were not positive. Committee members discussed these initial observations at the February 2012 meeting in light of their own concerns about human resources management at the OIC and agreed on a course of action to take in response. The report on the full staffing audit will be available in the fall of 2012.

At the Committee’s request, the OIC carried out a self-assessment against the findings and recommendations of the Office of the Comptroller General’s 2011 horizontal audits of small departments and agencies. The results of the assessment were presented during the November 2011 meeting. The Committee Chair recommended that the OIC conduct these self-assessments on an ongoing basis. Doing so would provide added assurance to the Commissioner about the adequacy of the OIC’s frameworks and processes would feed into the risk assessment process and would preempt the need for audits of the same nature within the organization.

Audit of financial statements and quarterly financial reporting

Committee members reviewed and recommended for approval the OIC’s financial statements for the year ended March 31, 2011. The Office of the Auditor General (OAG) presented an audit report with an unmodified opinion, finding no significant deficiencies in internal controls and requiring no significant adjustments. Committee members noted that this reflected the marked improvement the OIC has made in financial management in recent years.

The OAG auditors highlighted the collaboration of OIC management, which resulted in a “smooth audit” and a faster than planned process.

The Committee commented on the quarterly financial reports the OIC prepared in accordance with the new Treasury Board Accounting Standard 1.3. Members were pleased with the quality of the financial reports.

Reports to Parliament

At various meetings, the Committee reviewed and discussed several reports and accountability instruments, including the following:

  • 2010−2011 Departmental Performance Report
  • 2012−2013 Report on Plans and Priorities
  • 2010–2014 Strategic Plan

During the course of their review of the various reports and plans, Committee members expressed concern about the OIC’s performance indicators and strategic outcomes. Officials reported that the OIC has been working with Treasury Board Secretariat for several years to amend the Management Resources and Results Structure as well as the Performance Measurement Framework. Committee members said they appreciated the quality and conciseness of the OIC’s reports, including the new Integrated Operational Plan, which the Committee reviewed and approved, but strongly recommended that, for all reports, the indicators better reflect the organization’s current context.

Overall assessment of risk management, control and accountability

Based on its reviews and discussions throughout 2011–2012, the Committee is reasonably assured that the OIC’s risk management, control and governance processes are generally functioning well. However, as noted above in sub-section 4.5, there are concerns about the staffing process that is currently being audited by the PSC.

The Committee appreciates the due diligence the OIC has exercised in the development of sound processes and practices, and is encouraged that management strives for constant improvement.

Committee effectiveness

Now in the fourth year of their mandate, the Committee’s external members are pleased with the Committee’s ongoing development and maturity in its advisory role. The Committee has established itself as an integral part of the OIC’s governance system. Despite the pressures of competing priorities and the multitasking typical of small organizations, the commitment and engagement of senior officials and functional analysts have been invaluable in helping the Committee fulfill its mandate.

Forward planning

The Committee is scheduled to meet four times during 2012–2013. Its goal is to continue to provide advice that reflects core public sector principles, takes into account the independence of Agents of Parliament, and encompasses innovative and creative perspectives. In addition, it will ensure a smooth transition during the process of renewing its membership.

Appendix : Audit Committee calendar of activities, 2011−2012
May 4, 2011 Aug. 3, 2011 Nov. 1, 2011 Feb. 2, 2012 Mar 23, 2012
1. Organizational Matters
Audit Committee Charter A  
Annual Forward Calendar A  
Audit Committee Annual Report A
2. Key Responsibilities
Values and Ethics
Risk Management, Control Framework, Follow-up R R R R R
Reports of Wrong-Doing As reported
Financial Statements & Public Accounts Reporting R    
OAG Financial Statements Audit Plan I   I
OAG Financial Statements Audit Report & Management Action Plan R
Other OAG or Central Agency Audit Reports and Management Action Plans As audits planned (I) and action plans developed (R)
Internal Audit Charter R A
Risk-Based Audit Plan R
Internal Audit Reports, Management Action Plans, Follow-ups R    
Report on Plans and Priorities R   A
Departmental Performance Report R
In-camera Meetings I I I I I
3. Other Responsibilities
Parliamentary Activities – Annual Calendar I I I I I

Legend
A – Approval / Action required
R – Review / Recommend for approval
I – Information / Discussion

Rapport annuel 2011-2012 du comité de vérification

But

Les membres externes du Comité de vérification du Commissariat à l’information (le Commissariat) ont préparé le présent rapport à l’intention de la commissaire afin de faire le sommaire du travail réalisé par le Comité entre avril 2011 et mars 2012.

Le présent rapport permet aussi aux membres externes du Comité de présenter leurs réflexions sur les éléments à améliorer en s’appuyant sur les évaluations et les discussions qu’ils ont menées au cours de l’année.

Rôle et membres du Comité

Le Comité de vérification ne relève pas de la hiérarchie du Commissariat; son rôle consiste à offrir des conseils à la commissaire à l’information. Les membres du Comité donnent des conseils objectifs et formulent des recommandations concernant l’adéquation, la qualité et les résultats des activités d’assurance liées aux cadres et aux processus de gestion des risques, de contrôle et de gouvernance du Commissariat.

Le Comité compte trois membres, dont deux qui ne font pas partie du gouvernement fédéral. Les membres externes, John McCrea et la présidente Dyane Adam, ont été nommés en octobre 2008. Ils possèdent un savoir étendu et une vaste expérience, surtout en ce qui concerne la gestion des bureaux des Agents du Parlement. La commissaire à l’information Suzanne Legault est le troisième membre du Comité.

La dirigeante principale des finances et directrice générale des Services ministériels par intérim du Commissariat, un membre de l’équipe de vérification et un cadre du Bureau du vérificateur général ont assisté à toutes les réunions de l’année.

(La Charte du Comité de vérification, qui établit les responsabilités et le fonctionnement du Comité, et la Directive sur les comités ministériels de vérification donnent plus de renseignements à ce sujet.)

Réunions

Entre le 1er avril 2011 et le 31 mars 2012, le Comité de vérification s’est réuni à quatre reprises et a tenu une téléconférence. Les comptes rendus approuvés de chacune de ces réunions se trouvent sur le site Web du Commissariat.

Sommaire des activités

Les activités du comité sont réparties en sept catégories. Les prochaines sections présentent le sommaire des ces activités. Il faut toutefois remarquer que les secteurs de responsabilité sont liés entre eux de bien des façons. Les membres du Comité en tiennent toujours compte lorsqu’ils font des évaluations ou donnent des conseils.

Valeurs et éthique

Le Comité examine toutes les dispositions prises par la direction du Commissariat pour incarner et promouvoir les valeurs de la fonction publique et garantir le respect des lois, des règlements, des politiques et des normes de comportement éthique.

Durant la réunion de mai 2011, le Comité a reçu de l’information sur la gestion des ressources humaines au Commissariat. Il a notamment examiné le travail visant à mettre à jour le code de valeurs et d’éthique à la lumière des commentaires sur les valeurs qui ont été formulés par les employés dans le cadre du processus de planification stratégique.

Les membres du Comité ont aussi appris que les employés assisteraient, en février et mars 2012, à une formation obligatoire visant à garantir un milieu de travail sans harcèlement.

Gestion du risque

Les évaluations et les stratégies d’atténuation du risque constituent un sujet de préoccupation constant du Comité.

Par exemple, le Comité a rencontré des représentants du Bureau du vérificateur général afin de discuter des risques de fraude et d’erreur au Commissariat en prévision de la vérification des états financiers annuels de l’organisation. Les membres se sont surtout penchés sur les risques d’erreur liés à la rémunération puisque les salaires représentent 85 % des dépenses totales du Commissariat. Ils croient cependant que les risques sont faibles en raison de l’expérience de l’équipe responsable des finances du Commissariat et de la qualité et de la quantité des documents fournis par la direction au Comité durant l’année.

Les membres du Comité ont discuté des mesures d’atténuation des coûts et du Plan d’action pour la réduction du déficit du gouvernement tout au long de l’année. En retour, les fonctionnaires ont informé le Comité des mesures prises par le Commissariat pour répondre à ces contraintes financières sans omettre de satisfaire aux exigences opérationnelles.

Cadre de contrôle de la gestion

Les activités et les discussions concernant le cadre de contrôle de la gestion, qui est lié à tous les autres secteurs de responsabilité, étaient fréquentes et continues.

À titre d’exemple, le Comité recevait des renseignements concernant les initiatives du Commissariat destinées à renforcer et à améliorer les contrôles relatifs à la sécurité ministérielle, aux finances et à l’approvisionnement ainsi qu’au budget, y compris aux risques et aux coûts découlant du déménagement imprévu des bureaux du Commissariat en 2013. Les membres du Comité ont remarqué que le Commissariat réussissait à bien gérer ses ressources limitées.

À la réunion d’août 2011, les membres du Comité ont examiné et commenté le sommaire des résultats de l’évaluation du système de contrôle interne lié aux rapports financiers et des dispositions prises par le Commissariat pour réagir à des enjeux importants. Ce sommaire était joint à la Déclaration de responsabilité de la direction englobant le contrôle interne en matière de rapports financiers, comme l’exige la Politique sur le contrôle interne.

Fonction de vérification interne

Comme le proposait le Groupe de travail des hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement, le Commissariat a décidé d’appliquer la Politique sur la vérification interne sans renoncer à son indépendance par rapport au gouvernement.

Les membres du Comité ont consacré une bonne partie des réunions de 2011 2012 à la fonction de vérification interne. Ils ont étroitement surveillé son rendement et l’ont stimulé pour veiller à ce qu’elle fournisse une assurance et une orientation indépendante et objective, comme il se doit. Le Comité a demandé au groupe de vérification du Commissariat de faire le point à la fin de chaque étape importante de toute vérification interne.

  • À la réunion de février 2012, le Comité a examiné et approuvé la charte de vérification interne et il a effectué son examen périodique de la Charte du Comité de vérification (avant de l’approuver telle quelle).
  • Pendant plusieurs réunions, les membres du Comité ont examiné l’évolution et les résultats de la vérification interne de la Direction du règlement des plaintes et du respect de la Loi (RPRL) du Commissariat.
  • Au cours de la réunion d’août 2011, les membres du Comité ont examiné la lettre à l’intention de la direction et le rapport du vérificateur concernant la vérification sur le RPRL. Le Comité a recommandé l’approbation des rapports et du plan d’action correspondant de la direction qui était destiné à appliquer les recommandations. La réunion de novembre 2011 comportait un exposé approfondi sur le plan de RPRL pour s’attaquer aux causes profondes des problèmes relatifs au rendement et aux délais d’exécution dans le cadre des cas complexes et des cas de refus.
  • Le Comité a aussi assuré un suivi des mesures prises par la direction à la suite d’une vérification antérieure de l’Unité de réception et de règlement rapide.
  • À la réunion de février 2012, le Comité a pris connaissance de la mise à jour annuelle du plan de vérification axé sur les risques du Commissariat. Les membres seront renseignés sur la situation de la mise à jour à la réunion de mai 2012.

Le Comité continuera de surveiller le travail de la fonction de vérification interne, ce qui fait partie de ses responsabilités.

Vérifications menées par la Commission de la fonction publique et le Bureau du contrôleur général

En mai 2011, le Comité a appris que, pour une troisième année consécutive, la Commission de la fonction publique (CFP) avait formulé des commentaires positifs au sujet du Rapport ministériel sur l’obligation de rendre compte en dotation du Commissariat.

Cependant, les résultats de la vérification préliminaire de la dotation menée par la CFP à l’automne 2011 n’étaient pas positifs. Les membres du Comité ont discuté de ces premières observations lors de la réunion de février 2012 en se fondant sur leurs propres préoccupations à l’égard de la gestion des ressources humaines au Commissariat et ils ont établi un plan d’action en conséquence. Le rapport sur la vérification complète de la dotation sera disponible à l’automne 2012.

À la demande du Comité, le Commissariat s’est autoévalué à la lumière des constatations et des recommandations formulées par le Bureau du contrôleur général dans ses vérifications horizontales de 2011 sur les petits ministères et organismes. Les résultats de l’évaluation ont été présentés à la réunion de novembre 2011. La présidente a recommandé que le Commissariat effectue régulièrement de telles autoévaluations. Cette mesure rendrait la commissaire plus confiante envers la qualité des cadres et des processus du Commissariat, alimenterait le processus d’évaluation du risque et permettrait d’anticiper la nécessité d’entreprendre des vérifications de ce type au sein de l’organisation.

Vérification des états financiers et rapports financiers trimestriels

Les membres du Comité ont examiné les états financiers du Commissariat pour l’année terminée le 31 mars 2011 et ils ont recommandé leur approbation. Le Bureau du vérificateur général (BVG) a présenté un rapport de vérification comprenant une opinion non modifiée, car il n’a trouvé aucune lacune grave relativement aux contrôles internes et il n’est pas nécessaire d’apporter des modifications importantes. Les membres du Comité ont remarqué que cette conclusion témoigne de l’amélioration considérable de la gestion financière au Commissariat au cours des dernières années.

Les vérificateurs du BVG ont souligné la collaboration de la direction du Commissariat, qui a permis de réaliser la vérification facilement et plus rapidement que prévu.

Le Comité a formulé des commentaires sur les rapports financiers trimestriels que le Commissariat a préparés en conformité avec la nouvelle Norme comptable 1.3 du Conseil du Trésor. Les membres sont satisfaits de la qualité de ces rapports.

Rapports au Parlement

Au cours de diverses réunions, le Comité a discuté de plusieurs rapports et outils de responsabilisation, dont les suivants :

  • Rapport ministériel sur le rendement de 2010-2011
  • Rapport sur les plans et les priorités 2012-2013
  • Plan stratégique 2010 2014

Dans le cadre de l’examen de divers rapports et plans, les membres du Comité ont soulevé des préoccupations concernant les indicateurs de rendement et les stratégies du Commissariat. Des fonctionnaires ont signalé que le Commissariat collabore avec le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor depuis plusieurs années dans le but de modifier la structure de gestion des ressources et des résultats et le cadre de mesure du rendement. Les membres du Comité apprécient la qualité et la concision des rapports du Commissariat, notamment du nouveau plan opérationnel intégré qui a été examiné et approuvé par le Comité, mais ils recommandent fortement que les indicateurs de tous les rapports soient mieux adaptés au contexte actuel de l’organisation.

Évaluation globale de la gestion du risque, du contrôle et de la responsabilisation

Selon les examens et les discussions qu’il a menés tout au long de 2011 2012, le Comité est raisonnablement convaincu que les processus de gestion du risque, de contrôle et de gouvernance du Commissariat fonctionnent généralement bien. Cependant, comme le mentionne la sous section 4.5, le processus de dotation qui fait actuellement l’objet d’une vérification de la CFP soulève des préoccupations.

Le Comité apprécie la diligence raisonnable dont le Commissariat a fait preuve en ce qui concerne l’élaboration de processus et de pratiques solides et il se réjouit du fait que la direction cherche sans cesse des améliorations.

Efficacité du Comité

Les membres externes en sont à la quatrième année de leur mandat et sont satisfaits de l’évolution constante du Comité et de la maturité de son rôle consultatif. Le Comité est devenu une partie intégrante du régime de gouvernance du Commissariat. Malgré les contraintes découlant de priorités concurrentes et les multiples tâches qui sont confiées aux employés, comme c’est souvent le cas dans les petites organisations, les cadres supérieurs et les analystes fonctionnels ont fait preuve d’un engagement et d’une détermination inestimables afin d’aider le Comité à remplir son mandat.

 Planification à long terme

Le Comité devrait se rencontrer quatre fois en 2012 2013. Il souhaite continuer de fournir des conseils qui sont harmonisés avec les principes de base du secteur public, tiennent compte de l’indépendance des Agents du Parlement et apportent des perspectives novatrices et créatrices. En outre, il veillera à ce que le processus de renouvellement des membres se fasse en douceur.

Appendice A : Calendrier 2011-2012 des activités du Comité de vérification
4 mai 2011 3 août 2011 1er nov. 2011 2 févr. 2012 23 mars 2012
1. Questions organisationnelles
Charte du Comité de vérification A  
Calendrier annuel des activités à venir A  
Rapport annuel du Comité de vérification   A
2. Responsabilités clés
Valeurs et éthique
Gestion des risques, cadre de contrôle et suivi R R R R R
Rapports d’actes répréhensibles Tel que rapporté
États financiers et rapports des comptes publics R    
Plan de vérification des états financiers du BVG I   I
Rapport de vérification des états financiers du BVG et plan d’action de la direction R
Autres rapports de vérification du BVG ou d’organismes centraux et plans d’action de la direction Comme les vérifications prévues (I) et les plans d’action élaborés (A)
Charte de vérification interne R A
Plan de vérification en fonction du risque R
Rapports de vérification internes, plans d’action de la direction et mesures de suivi R    
Rapport sur les plans et les priorités R   A
Rapport ministériel sur le rendement R
Réunions à huis clos I I I I I
3. Autres responsabilités
Activités parlementaires – calendrier annuel I I I I I

Légende
A – Approbation/Mesures requises
R – Révision/Approbation recommandée
I – Information/Discussion