Ad Hoc Information Commissioner

On April 1, 2007, the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) became subject to the Access to Information Act. Anyone who believes that an access request submitted to us was improperly handled is entitled to make a complaint about our handling of the access request.

To ensure the integrity of the complaints process, an independent Ad Hoc Information Commissioner has been mandated by the Information Commissioner to investigate complaints about the OIC, in relation to access requests made to the OIC. The Ad Hoc Information Commissioner is assisted by an investigator and has the same powers and obligations as the Information Commissioner with regard to conducting investigations and making recommendations.

Since 2007, the position has been held by the Honourable Peter Cory, the Honourable Andrew MacKay, Mario Dion, John Sims and David Loukidelis.

The current Ad Hoc Information Commissioner is Anne E. Bertrand, who has held the position since May 1, 2018.

Ms. Bertrand was New Brunswick’s Access to Information and Privacy Commissioner from 2010 to 2017. She also assumed the responsibilities of the Conflict of Interest Commissioner for New Brunswick as an interim appointment for one year (2015-2016). Prior to that, Ms. Bertrand was practicing as a lawyer from 1987 to 2010, working in general practice and having experience before all levels of court, including appearances before the Supreme Court of Canada. She became Queen’s Counsel in 2008, in recognition of her accomplishments and contributions to the legal profession and her community.

Complaints about the OIC's handling of an access request should be sent to:

Ad Hoc Information Commissioner
380 Smythe Road
Frederiction, NB
E3B 3E4

Date modified:

Commissaire à l’information ad hoc

Depuis le 1er avril 2007, le Commissariat à l'information est assujetti à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Quiconque croit qu'une demande d'accès à l'information nous ayant été soumise n'a pas été bien traitée peut déposer une plainte à ce sujet.

Afin d'assurer l'intégrité du processus d'instruction des plaintes, la fonction externe de commissaire à l'information ad hoc a été instituée pour enquêter sur les plaintes touchant le Commissariat à l'information. Assisté d'un enquêteur, le commissaire à l'information ad hoc est assujetti aux mêmes obligations et dispose des mêmes pouvoirs que le commissaire à l'information pour mener des enquêtes et faire des recommandations.

Depuis 2007, l'honorable Peter Cory, l'honorable Andrew MacKay, Me Mario Dion, John Sims ainsi que David Loukidelis, ont occupé le poste de commissaire à l'information ad hoc.

La commissaire ad hoc actuelle est Anne E. Bertrand, qui occupe le poste depuis le 1er mai 2018.

Mme Bertrand a été commissaire à l’accès à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée pour la province du Nouveau-Brunswick de 2010 à 2017. Elle a également assumé la charge de commissaire par intérim aux conflits d’intérêts du Nouveau-Brunswick pour une année (2015-2016). Auparavant, Mme Bertrand a exercé la profession d'avocate de 1987 à 2010, travaillant en pratique générale et ayant de l'expérience devant tous les niveaux de la cour, y compris des comparutions devant la Cour suprême du Canada. À titre de reconnaissance de ses accomplissements dans la pratique du droit et envers sa communauté, Mme Bertrand est nommée conseillère de la reine en 2008.

Les plaintes concernant le traitement des demandes d'accès à l'information par le Commissariat peuvent être envoyées à l'adresse suivante :

Commissaire à l'information ad hoc
380, rue Smythe
Fredericton (Nouveau-Brunswick)
E3B 3E4