Brochure

What is the role of the Information Commissioner of Canada?

The Information Commissioner of Canada:

  • Helps to ensure that Canada’s freedom of information law is respected;
  • Defends the rights of those making information requests by investigating complaints of requestors who believe federal institutions have not respected their rights under the Access to Information Act;
  • Encourages federal institutions to make information more easily available to the public to keep the federal government accountable to Canadians; and
  • Promotes awareness of the importance of open and transparent government.

The Commissioner is independent of government and is answerable to Parliament.

What is Canada’s freedom of information law?

It is the Access to Information Act. It gives any Canadian citizen, resident or company the right to request and receive information that federal institutions have. This could include: documents, pictures, letters, emails and memos.

You should be aware that there are some limitations to the information that federal institutions are required to make public. Information such as: Cabinet documents, information that could harm Canada’s security or economy, federal-provincial relations or international affairs. Much of the personal information about individuals that the federal institutions collect is not available.

The law has been in effect since July 1, 1983, and most government institutions, including Crown corporations, are required to follow it.

How can this benefit me?

The Access to Information Act is one of the many tools the public has to hold the government accountable. Even if you never make a request for information you benefit from this law. When journalists and other groups make information requests while investigating federal institutions’ activities, they help bring to light activities that may otherwise have been kept secret.

How do I get information from a federal institution?

A lot of information is already available on websites or in publications. You might be able to find the information you are looking for there. If not, you may make a request in writing under the Access to Information Act.

The federal institution has to answer your request within 30 days or tell you why it will take longer. You can learn more about how to make a request at the Treasury Board Secretariat of Canada Website.

What if I am not satisfied with the answer I received?

This is where the Office of the Information Commissioner can get involved. You can complain to the Office within 60 days of receiving your answer from the federal institution for reasons such as:

  • You believe you were improperly denied the information you requested;
  • The answer to your request is taking too long;
  • The fees are too high; or,
  • You have not received the information in your official language of choice.

What happens next?

The Office of the Information Commissioner will inform you that it received your complaint and will assess it. Many complaints are settled quickly and easily by clearing up misinterpretations or errors. Otherwise, the Office will investigate and attempt to resolve your complaint as soon as possible and will report back to you

What if I am still not satisfied?

If you are not satisfied with the findings of the Office, you may apply to the Federal Court of Canada for a review of the federal institution’s decision to deny you access to the information you asked for.

How do I contact the Information Commissioner?

Our coordinates:

Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada
30 Victoria Street
Gatineau, QC K1A 1H3

Tel.: 1-800-267-0441 (toll-free)

Fax: 819-994-1768

For general enquiries e-mail: general@oic-ci.gc.ca

Ce que nous faisons

Quel est le rôle du Commissaire à l’information?

Le Commissaire à l’information:

  • contribue à veiller au respect de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information;
  • défend les droits des personnes qui présentent des demandes d’accès l’information en effectuant des enquêtes sur les plaintes des demandeurs qui estiment que des institutions fédérales n’ont pas respecté leurs droits en vertu de la Loi;
  • incite les institutions fédérales à faciliter l’accès du public à l’information afin de faire en sorte que le gouvernement continue de rendre des comptes à la population canadienne;
  • sensibilise le public à l’importance d’un gouvernement ouvert et transparent.

Le Commissaire est indépendant du gouvernement et relève du Parlement.

Qu’est-ce que la Loi sur l’accès à l’information?

Cette loi accorde à tout citoyen, résident ou société au Canada le droit de demander et d’obtenir des renseignements détenus par une institution fédérale (documents, images, lettres, courriels, notes de service, etc.).

Il existe toutefois des restrictions quant à l’information que doit communiquer une institution fédérale, notamment en ce qui a trait aux documents du Cabinet et à l’information susceptible de nuire à la sécurité ou à l’économie canadienne, aux relations fédérales-provinciales ou aux relations internationales. La plupart des renseignements personnels concernant des particuliers qui sont recueillis par une institution ne sont pas disponibles.

En vigueur depuis le 1er juillet 1983, la Loi doit être respectée par la plupart des institutions fédérales, y compris les sociétés d’État.

En quoi la Loi sur l’accès à l’information peut-elle m’être utile?

La Loi fait partie des nombreux outils dont le public dispose pour demander des comptes au gouvernement. Cette loi vous est utile, que vous présentiez ou non une demande d’accès à l’information. Par exemple, un journaliste ou toute autre personne qui enquête sur les activités d’une institution fédérale est en mesure de révéler des éléments qui auraient pu autrement demeurer secrets.

Comment obtenir de l’information d’une institution fédérale?

On trouve déjà beaucoup d’information sur les sites Web ou dans les publications des institutions fédérales. Si ces sources ne sont pas suffisantes, la Loi sur l’accès à l’information permet de faire une demande par écrit auprès de l’institution.

L’institution doit répondre à la demande dans les 30 jours suivant sa réception ou justifier tout retard de traitement. Pour en savoir plus sur les étapes de présentation d’une demande, consultez le site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor.

Que faire si je ne suis pas satisfait de la réponse de l’institution?

C’est ici que le Commissariat peut entrer en jeu. Vous pouvez déposer une plainte auprès de ce dernier dans les 60 jours suivant la réception de la réponse. Plusieurs motifs peuvent justifier une plainte, par exemple :

  • Vous estimez que l’on a refusé indûment de vous communiquer les renseignements que vous avez demandés;
  • L’institution met trop de temps à répondre à votre demande;
  • Les droits à acquitter sont trop élevés;
  • On ne vous a pas fourni les renseignements demandés dans la langue officielle de votre choix.

Qu’arrive-t-il une fois ma plainte déposée?

Dès réception de votre plainte, le Commissariat vous avise et évalue le dossier. De nombreuses plaintes sont résolues rapidement et facilement en dissipant les malentendus ou en corrigeant les erreurs. Si tel n’est pas le cas, le Commissariat fait enquête et tente de résoudre la plainte dans les plus brefs délais. Ses conclusions vous sont ensuite communiquées.

Que faire si je ne suis toujours pas satisfait?

Si vous n’êtes pas satisfait des conclusions du Commissariat, vous pouvez présenter une demande de contrôle judiciaire à la Cour fédérale, qui se penchera sur le dossier et examinera les motifs invoqués par l’institution fédérale pour refuser de vous communiquer les renseignements demandés.

Comment communiquer avec le Commissariat à l’information?

Nos coordonnées :

Commissariat à l’information du Canada
30, rue Victoria
Gatineau (Québec) K1A 1H3

Tél. : 1-800-267-0441 (sans frais)

Téléc. : 819-994-1768

Pour des informations générales, veuillez envoyer un courriel : general@ci-oic.gc.ca