Letter to the President of the Treasury Board on Canada’s Open Government Plan 2016-2018

July 12, 2016

The Honourable Scott Brison, P.C., M.P.
President of the Treasury Board of Canada
90 Elgin Street, 8th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario  K1A 0R5

Dear Minister:

Please find enclosed my comments on the implementation of Canada’s Open Government Action Plan for 2016-2018.

First, let me congratulate you on your commitment to pursuing an open, transparent, and accountable government. Your goal of making government and its information open by default would not be possible without your strong leadership. The new plan on open government is ambitious and will, if implemented, significantly improve government’s openness.

I am particularly pleased to see that your plan contains twice as many commitments as in the 2014-2016 Action Plan. In this context, your pledges to foster an open by default environment and to promote fiscal transparency are noteworthy, especially with regards to budget data, economic and fiscal analyses, and grants and contributions. I welcome your commitments to increase access to geospatial data, to promote the Open Data Exchange, and to implement the Extractives Sector Transparency Measures Act. Your steps towards ensuring open science, including allowing scientists to speak freely about their research, are also well received.

My comments will focus on six commitments.

Commitment 1: Enhance Access to Information

The Government of Canada will move forward on a first round of concrete proposals to improve the Access to Information Act, informed by the views of Parliament, the Information Commissioner, and consultations with Canadians, and will then undertake a full review of the Act by no later than 2018.

 

As you know, I tabled in March 2015 a special report to Parliament, “Striking the Right Balance for Transparency,” where I make 85 recommendations to modernize the Access to Information Act (Act). Canada’s access to information legislation is outdated and changes are needed to recalibrate the balance between public’s right to know and the government’s need to protect information. The recommendations in my report are informed by the highest standards and best practices contained in laws of other jurisdictions, as well as model laws, guides, and high-level reports on access reports.

In February 2016, the Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics (ETHI) undertook a study of the Act. I was called as a witness to put forth my views on amendments to the Act and the government’s two-phased approach for improving the access to information regime. I also made priority recommendations to the Committee that, if implemented, would have the greatest impact on transparency. These are:

  • extending coverage of the Act to certain institutions, such as ministers’ offices and institutions that support Parliament and the courts;
  • establishing a comprehensive legal duty to document, with appropriate sanctions for non-compliance;
  • addressing delays to ensure timeliness;
  • repealing the exclusion for Cabinet confidences and replacing it with a mandatory exemption;
  • narrowing the exemption for advice and recommendations and the newly created exemption for Cabinet confidences, so that these exemptions focus on the interests at stake;
  • creating a public interest override for all exemptions;
  • strengthening oversight of the right of access by adopting an order-making model; and
  • ensuring mandatory periodic review of the Act, with the first review commencing in 2018.

In its June 2016 report, the Committee made 32 recommendations to the government to enhance Canada’s access to information regime. These are in line with the recommendations I made to strengthen transparency and accountability.

I recommend that amendments to the Act be made to reflect these recommendations.

Commitment 2: Streamline Requests for Personal Information

The Government of Canada will make it easier for Canadians to access their own personal information held by the federal government.

 
 

It is unclear from the proposal what the objective of this commitment is, as Canadians can already make an access to information or privacy request online through a central website. Moreover, both the Access to Information Act and Privacy Act provide for a 30-day period for answering a request.

Nonetheless, the current online platform can be improved. In the course of consultations on previous open government plans, I recommended the addition of an online complaints feature to the current platform. If this is what is envisaged for privacy requests, the commitment should also be extended to access to information.

Commitment 4: Provide and Preserve Open Information

The Government of Canada will establish government-wide initiatives, platforms, and tools to ensure that open information is discoverable and accessible for use by future generations.

 

In the Directive on Open Government, the government made it a priority to improve access to more quality data and information. This commitment primarily lists milestones for providing and preserving information. In my view, there should be additional requirements in the plan for proactive disclosure of information as well as the declassification of government records that give insight into government decision making.

I recommend that the government consider three recommendations that I have made in my special report:

  • the implementation of a statutory obligation to systematically declassify government records, including Cabinet confidences;
  • institutions should be required to proactively publish information that is clearly of public interest;
  • institutions should be required to post the responsive records of completed access to information requests within 30 days after the end of each month, if the information is or is likely to be frequently requested.

Commitment 5: Define an Approach for Measuring Open Government Performance

The Government of Canada will integrate performance indicators for openness and transparency into a Performance Management Framework for Open Government.

 

I agree that a stronger reporting framework is required to improve compliance with the Act. In my experience, the most important elements to achieve success in this area are the commitment of the institutions towards transparency and accountability, as well as leadership in the institutions’ higher echelons.

As part of a performance management framework for open government, the government should set specific performance targets in relation to the access to information program. These include:

  • a commitment to increasing compliance with the Act by setting specific performance targets to improve timeliness;
  • a commitment to include in all deputy heads’ performance accord a requirement to meet performance targets and to comply with the obligations of the Act.

Commitment 6: Develop Open Government Skills across the Federal Public Service

The Government of Canada will support a shift to greater transparency and engagement within the public service through Open Government learning material and opportunities for public servants.

 

In order to realize profound and enduring effects across all of government for the benefit of Canadians, I believe that the plan must ensure that all systems, policy instruments, directives, training, staff and most importantly culture, align with open government’s purposes. This commitment is a step in the right direction.

It is important, in my view, to ensure that the government develop an integrated vision for open government such that the implementation of all policies that are intrinsically connected to open government such as communications, information management and access to information work seamlessly together.

During the 2014-2016 consultations for the second action plan, I recommended a number of commitments to better equip the government to implement an integrated vision. These are:

  • establish the position of Chief Open Government Officers within institutions;
  • create an open government lens that will be used in the design and implementation of policies, programs, initiative and legislative proposals;
  • provide training to ensure that all government employees under the Access to Information Act interpret the Act in favour of maximum disclosure.

Commitment 20: Enable Open Dialogue and Open Policy Making

The Government of Canada will foster enhanced citizen participation through greater collaboration and co-creation with the public and stakeholders within and across government initiatives.

 

In order to achieve this commitment, I believe that the government should make more information available to the public on key decisions and priorities.

Policy- and decision-making is at the heart of government. There is public interest in providing Canadians with the information needed to be engaged in public policy and decision-making processes, to have a meaningful dialogue with government, and to hold government accountable for its decisions. At present, however, under the current exemption for advice and recommendations and the exclusion for Cabinet confidences, information about priorities, policies and decisions is broadly protected from disclosure.

In my special report to Parliament, I propose a series of recommendations that would narrow the application of exemptions and exclusions so that they protect only the interest that needs to be protected. These include amending the Act to:

  • add a reasonable expectation of injury test to the exemption for advice and recommendations.
  • repeal the current exclusion for Cabinet confidences and replace it with a narrow mandatory exemption.
  • include a general public interest override applicable to all exemptions, with a requirement to consider a non-exhaustive list of factors including open government objectives.

I note that the Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics made similar recommendations in their June 2016 report.

I would like to close with commending the government on making open government a priority on its agenda, and developing a National Action Plan that is ambitious yet achievable with good leadership and a culture change within federal institutions. Attitudes must evolve so that information becomes easy to access, and that receiving a request for information is seen as something positive, as it contributes to transparency, accountability, and citizen engagement, all of which are foundational to the Open Government Partnership.

My office would be pleased to collaborate with your secretariat on open government initiatives.

Sincerely,

Suzanne Legault
Information Commissioner of Canada

c.c.: Ms. Yaprak Baltacioglu, Secretary of the Treasury Board of Canada

       Open Government Team, Secretary of the Treasury Board of Canada

Lettre au président du Conseil du Trésor sur le plan d'action pour le gouvernement ouvert 2016-2018

Le 12 juillet 2016

L’honorable Scott Brison, C.P., député
Président du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
90, rue Elgin, 8e étage
Ottawa ON  K1A 0R5

Monsieur le Ministre,

Veuillez trouver ci-joint mes commentaires sur la mise en œuvre du Plan d’action du Canada pour un gouvernement ouvert de 2016-2018.

Tout d’abord, permettez-moi de vous féliciter de votre engagement à l’égard d’un gouvernement ouvert, transparent et responsable. Votre objectif visant à rendre le gouvernement et l’information dont il dispose ouverts par défaut ne serait pas réalisable sans votre leadership. Le nouveau plan pour un gouvernement ouvert est ambitieux et constituera, s’il est mis en œuvre, une amélioration importante de l’ouverture du gouvernement.

Je suis particulièrement heureuse de constater que votre plan comprend deux fois plus d’engagements que le plan d’action de 2014-2016. Dans ce contexte, vos promesses de favoriser la création d’un environnement ouvert par défaut et de promouvoir la transparence fiscale sont remarquables, surtout en ce qui concerne les données budgétaires et les analyses économiques et financières, ainsi que les subventions et contributions. Je salue vos engagements à accroître l’accès aux données géospatiales, à promouvoir l’Institut des données ouvertes du Canada et à mettre en œuvre la Loi sur les mesures de transparence dans le secteur extractif. Les mesures que vous avez prises en vue de garantir la science ouverte, y compris en permettant aux scientifiques de parler librement de leurs recherches, sont également bien accueillies.

Mes observations porteront essentiellement sur six engagements.

Engagement 1 : Améliorer l’accès à l’information

Le gouvernement du Canada mettra en œuvre une première vague de propositions concrètes visant à améliorer la Loi sur l’accès à l’information à la lumière des observations du Parlement, du commissaire à l’information et des consultations auprès des Canadiens et des Canadiennes, puis effectuera par la suite un examen complet de la Loi en 2018 au plus tard.

 

Comme vous le savez, j’ai déposé en mars 2015 un rapport spécial au Parlement, « Viser juste pour la transparence », dans lequel je formulais 85 recommandations pour moderniser la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (la Loi). La législation canadienne en matière d’accès à l’information est désuète et des modifications doivent y être apportées afin de rétablir le juste équilibre entre le droit du public d’accéder à l’information et la nécessité du gouvernement de protéger certains renseignements. Les recommandations formulées dans mon rapport se fondent sur les normes les plus élevées et les pratiques exemplaires émanant de lois d’autres administrations, de lois types et de guides, ainsi que de rapports de haut niveau sur l’accès à l’information.

En février 2016, le Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique (ETHI) a entrepris une étude de la Loi. J’ai été appelée à témoigner pour présenter mon point de vue sur les modifications à apporter à la Loi, ainsi que sur l’approche en deux phases du gouvernement pour améliorer le régime d’accès à l’information. J’ai également formulé des recommandations prioritaires au comité qui, si elles étaient mises en œuvre, auraient un impact majeur sur la transparence. Les voici :  

  • élargir la portée de la Loi à certaines institutions, notamment aux cabinets ministériels et aux institutions qui soutiennent le Parlement et les tribunaux;
  • établir une obligation légale exhaustive de documenter, avec des sanctions appropriées en cas de non-conformité;
  • remédier aux retards afin améliorer la rapidité de réponse;
  • abroger l’exclusion relative aux documents confidentiels du Cabinet et la remplacer par une exception obligatoire;
  • restreindre l’exception s’appliquant aux avis et aux recommandations ainsi que la nouvelle exception relative aux documents confidentiels du Cabinet de sorte qu’elles ciblent les intérêts en jeu;
  • créer une disposition de primauté de l’intérêt public applicable à l’ensemble des exceptions;
  • renforcer la surveillance du droit d’accès en adoptant un modèle exécutoire;
  • procéder à un examen périodique obligatoire de la Loi, le premier examen étant prévu en 2018.

Dans son rapport de juin 2016, le comité a formulé 32 recommandations au gouvernement en vue d’améliorer le régime d’accès à l’information au Canada. Elles sont conformes à mes propres recommandations pour renforcer la transparence et la responsabilisation.

Je recommande que des modifications soient apportées à la Loi qui prendront en compte ces recommandations.    

Engagement 2 : Simplifier les demandes de renseignements personnels

Le gouvernement du Canada veillera à ce que les Canadiens et les Canadiennes puissent accéder plus facilement à leurs renseignements personnels détenus par le gouvernement fédéral.

 

La proposition ne permet pas de savoir clairement quel est l’objectif de cet engagement, puisque les Canadiens peuvent déjà présenter en ligne une demande d’accès à l’information ou une demande de communication de renseignements personnels sur un site Web central. De plus, la Loi sur l’accès à l'information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels prévoient toutes deux un délai de 30 jours pour répondre à une demande.

Cependant, la plateforme Web actuelle peut être améliorée. Lors de consultations sur de précédents plans pour un gouvernement ouvert, j’ai recommandé que l’on intègre à la plateforme actuelle une fonctionnalité permettant de soumettre une plainte. Si c’est bien ce que l’on envisage pour les demandes de renseignements personnels, l’engagement devrait s’appliquer également aux demandes d’accès à l’information.   

Engagement 4 : Fournir et préserver l’information ouverte

Le gouvernement du Canada mettra sur pied des initiatives, des plateformes et des outils à l’échelle du gouvernement afin que l’information ouverte soit repérable et accessible pour utilisation par les prochaines générations.

 

Dans sa Directive sur le gouvernement ouvert, le gouvernement a fait de l’amélioration de l’accès à des données et à de l’information de qualité une priorité. Cet engagement présente principalement des jalons en vue de fournir et préserver l’information. Selon moi, le plan devrait comporter des exigences supplémentaires pour la divulgation proactive de l’information, de même que pour la déclassification des documents gouvernementaux qui exposent le processus décisionnel du gouvernement.

Je recommande que le gouvernement prenne en compte les trois recommandations que j’ai formulées dans mon rapport spécial :

  • la mise en place d’une obligation légale de déclassifier systématiquement les documents gouvernementaux, y compris les documents confidentiels du Cabinet;
  • l’obligation, pour les institutions, de publier de façon proactive l’information qui est clairement d’intérêt public;
  • l’obligation, pour les institutions, de publier les documents pertinents des demandes d’accès à l’information traitées dans un délai de 30 jours après la fin de chaque mois, si les renseignements sont ou vont probablement être fréquemment demandés.  

Engagement 5 : Définir une approche de mesure du rendement pour un gouvernement ouvert

Le gouvernement du Canada intégrera des indicateurs de rendement relatifs à l’ouverture et à la transparence dans un Cadre de gestion du rendement pour un gouvernement ouvert.

 

Je suis d’accord qu’une meilleure observation de la Loi passe par un cadre de préparation de rapports plus robuste. Par expérience, je sais que les facteurs qui y contribuent le plus sont l’engagement des institutions à l’égard de la transparence et de la responsabilisation et du leadership aux échelons supérieurs des institutions.

À l’intérieur d’un cadre de gestion du rendement pour un gouvernement ouvert, le gouvernement doit établir des objectifs de rendement précis relativement au programme d’accès à l’information. En voici quelques-uns :  

  • un engagement à respecter la Loi en établissant des objectifs de rendement précis pour améliorer les délais;
  • un engagement à intégrer dans l’accord de rendement de tous les administrateurs généraux l’exigence d’atteindre les objectifs de rendement et de respecter les obligations de la Loi.

Engagement 6 : Développer les compétences relatives au gouvernement ouvert dans l’ensemble de la fonction publique fédérale

Le gouvernement du Canada appuiera la transition vers une transparence et une mobilisation accrues dans la fonction publique à l’aide de documents et de possibilités d’apprentissage à l’intention des fonctionnaires.

 

Pour avoir des effets profonds et durables dans toute l’administration gouvernementale et dans l’intérêt des Canadiens, je crois que le plan doit faire en sorte que l’ensemble des systèmes, des instruments de politique, des directives, de même que la formation, le personnel et surtout la mentalité soient alignés sur les objectifs du gouvernement ouvert. Cet engagement est un pas dans la bonne direction.

Il m’apparaît important de veiller à ce que le gouvernement élabore une vision intégrée pour un gouvernement ouvert afin que toutes les politiques étroitement liées au gouvernement ouvert qui sont mises en œuvre, telles les politiques de communication, de gestion de l’information et d’accès à l’information, puissent fonctionner ensemble sans heurts.

Lors des consultations de 2014-2016 pour le second plan d’action, j’ai recommandé plusieurs engagements permettant au gouvernement d’être mieux armé pour mettre en œuvre une vision intégrée. Les voici :

  • nommer au sein des institutions des dirigeants principaux du gouvernement ouvert;
  • adopter une approche ouverte autour de laquelle les politiques, les programmes, les initiatives et les propositions législatives sont conçues et appliquées;
  • mettre en place des formations afin de veiller à ce que tous les employés fédéraux concernés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information l’interprètent en faveur d’une divulgation maximale.

Engagement 20 : Permettre le dialogue ouvert et l’élaboration de politiques ouverte

Le gouvernement du Canada favorisera une participation accrue des citoyens grâce à une plus grande collaboration et à la co-création avec le public et les intervenants dans le cadre des initiatives gouvernementales et entre elles.

 

Pour réaliser cet engagement, je crois que le gouvernement doit mettre plus d’information à la disposition du public concernant ses décisions et ses priorités clés.

L’élaboration des politiques et la prise de décisions sont des processus essentiels du gouvernement. Dans l’intérêt du public, il est important de fournir aux Canadiens les renseignements dont ils ont besoin pour participer à ces activités, de même que pour établir un dialogue constructif avec le gouvernement et pour lui demander de rendre des comptes sur ses décisions. Or, actuellement, en vertu de l’actuelle exception s’appliquant aux avis et aux recommandations et de l’exclusion des documents confidentiels du Cabinet, l’information sur les priorités, les politiques et les décisions est largement soustraite à toute divulgation.

Dans mon rapport spécial au Parlement, je propose une série de recommandations qui limiteraient l’application des exceptions et des exclusions de sorte qu’elles ne protègent que l’intérêt qui doit être protégé. Celles-ci comportent des modifications à la Loi visant à :  

  • assortir l’exception s’appliquant aux avis et aux recommandations d’un critère relatif au risque vraisemblable de préjudice;
  • abroger l’actuelle exclusion relative aux documents confidentiels du Cabinet et la remplacer par une exception obligatoire;
  • inclure une disposition de primauté de l’intérêt public applicable à l’ensemble des exceptions, qui s’accompagnerait de l’obligation de prendre en compte une liste non exhaustive de facteurs, y compris les objectifs du gouvernement ouvert.

Je constate que le Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique a formulé des recommandations semblables dans son rapport de juin 2016.

Je souhaiterais clore en félicitant le gouvernement de faire du gouvernement ouvert une priorité dans son programme et d’élaborer un plan d’action national ambitieux, mais réalisable avec un bon leadership et un changement de culture au sein des institutions fédérales. Les comportements doivent évoluer pour que l’accès à l’information devienne facile, et que la réception d’une demande de renseignements soit perçue comme quelque chose de positif, étant donné que cela contribue à la transparence, à la responsabilisation et à la participation des citoyens, qui sont au cœur même Partenariat pour un gouvernement ouvert (lien en anglais seulement).

Le Commissariat serait heureux de collaborer avec votre secrétariat sur les initiatives relatives au gouvernement ouvert.

Cordialement,

Suzanne Legault
Commissaire à l'information du Canada

c.c. : Yaprak Baltacioglu, secrétaire du Conseil du Trésor du Canada

         Équipe du gouvernement ouvert, secrétaire du Conseil du Trésor du Canada