Grace-Pépin Access to Information Award 2012 recipient

Ottawa, September 19, 2012 - This year’s winner of the Grace-Pépin Access to Information Award is Darrell Evans of Vancouver, BC for his long dedication and hard work to advancing the principles of access to information both in his home province and across Canada. It was presented to Mr. Evans today during the BC Information Summit held in Vancouver.

“Darrell Evans is recognized among his peers for his tireless work and commitment to freedom of information issues” said Suzanne Legault, Information Commissioner of Canada.

The award was introduced on September 29, 2011, by the Federal, Provincial and Territorial Access to Information and Privacy Commissioners. It is given to an individual, group or organization that has contributed in a significant way to promoting and supporting the principles of transparency, accountability and the public's right to access government information. The selection committee is made up of federal, provincial and territorial experts.

Mr. Evans began work in 1990 to establish the British Columbia Freedom of Information and Privacy Association (FIPA) and served as President when it was established in 1991. FIPA is a non-partisan, non-profit society that promotes and defends freedom of information and privacy rights in Canada.

Through FIPA, Mr. Evans played a major role in the passing of British Columbia’s Provincial Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (FIPPA), in 1992.

Mr. Evans has also been instrumental in defending access to information legislation and coordinating extensive public education and outreach programs. The work carried out under Mr. Evans’ leadership has helped shape the debate around access to information and transparency not just in BC but in other provinces, as well as the municipal and federal levels.

Today, Mr. Evans continues to be an active advocate for the rights of Canadians in terms of access to information and is still fighting for improved government transparency. Among his current projects, he is establishing the Canadian Institute for Information and Privacy Studies, a think tank dedicated to advancing the state of information rights in Canada.

The Grace-Pépin Award was named in recognition of the contributions of John Grace, former Information Commissioner of Canada, and Marcel Pépin, President and founder of the Commission d'accès à l'information du Québec.

- 30 -
For media enquiries, please contact:

Josée Villeneuve

Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada
Director, Public Affairs