Grace-Pépin Access to Information Award – Call for Nominations

Gatineau, September 28, 2016 – The Information Commissioner of Canada has launched a call for nominations for the 2016 Grace-Pépin Access to Information Award. The Award is presented annually to an individual, group or organization that demonstrates an exceptional contribution to the promotion and support of the principles of transparency, accountability, and the public’s right to know.

“This year, we decided to launch the Grace-Pépin Access to Information Award during the international Right to Know Day to mark the 250th anniversary of the first access to information law that originated in Sweden in 1766,” said Commissioner Legault. “It is with joy that I witness, day after day, how government openness is at the heart of Canadians’ preoccupations in 2016. We are particularly looking forward to recognize the defenders of access to information who distinguished themselves this year.”

The Grace-Pépin Access to Information Award was launched in 2011 by the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada in collaboration with its provincial and territorial counterparts. The award was created in memory of John Grace (1927-2009) former Information Commissioner of Canada, and Marcel Pépin (1941-1999) founding-president of the Commission d'accès à l'information du Québec. Both made significant contributions to the development and promotion of access to information principles in Canada.

Nominations will be accepted until November 4, 2016. To learn more about the nomination process, please visit the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada’s website.



For media inquiries please contact:

Natalie Bartlett Hall
Manager, Communications and Media Relations
Office of the Information Commissioner
Tel.: 819-994-1068