Grace-Pépin Access to Information Award – Call for Nominations

Gatineau, June 25, 2015 – The Information Commissioner of Canada has launched a call for nominations for the 2015 Grace-Pépin Access to Information Award. The Award is presented annually to an individual, group or organization that demonstrates an exceptional contribution to the promotion and support of the principles of transparency, accountability, and the public’s right to know.

“Canada is home to a strong access to information community,” said Commissioner Legault, “and the efforts of remarkable individuals and groups within that community deserve to be recognized. I look forward to receiving their nominations.”

The Grace-Pépin Access to Information Award is a non-monetary award presented annually by the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada, in collaboration with its provincial and territorial counterparts. The award was created in memory of John Grace (1927-2009) former Information Commissioner of Canada, and Marcel Pépin (1941-1999) founding-president of the Commission d'accès à l'information du Québec. Both made significant contributions to the development and promotion of access to information principles in Canada.

Past winners include Professor Alasdair Roberts, CAPA (Canadian Access and Privacy Association), Darrell Evans and IAPP (Information Access and Protection of Privacy, University of Alberta). Nominations will be accepted until August 31, 2015. 

To learn more about the nomination process, please visit the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada’s website.




For media inquiries please contact:
Natalie Hall
Manager, Communications and Media Relations
Office of the Information Commissioner
Tel.: 819-994-1068